We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good good good steak!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hussar Grill Camps Bay

The Hussar Grill Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good good good steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Great meal very friendly atmosphere would go back again over many other steak restaurants in cape town. Very reasonable price wise too!

Helpful?
Thank chrisymac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,185
    359
    121
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My best meal in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Booked the Hussar Grill after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor.

All of the great reviews did not do it justice though. South Africa as a country excels in great food and wine and the highest compliment that I can pay the Hussar Grill is to say that this was my best dining experience in South Africa.

Sensational steaks and very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We dined here after following a number of "best steaks we have tasted" reviews on tripadvsior. They were right.

Not only the best steaks but a warm friendly atmosphere and a charming waitress!

We would definitely return here on our next trip to Cape Town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Better than Wolfgang Puck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great night, good food, great cocktails. We really enjoyed our evening but I suggest that maybe get a taxi up the hill and walk it all off back down the hill.
We could not believe the price, best value high end restaurant in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wild Game was Stellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ordered the Wild Game kabob...Wow! Cooked to perfection. Great steaks too and a very good wine selection. You can even bring your own bottle of wine if you desire. Reservations are must. This place was busy with lots a local customers. Always a good sign when visiting a city and selecting a restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank captmorgan1Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Camps Bay also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing