We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak for Africa!”

The Hussar Grill Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
688 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Steak for Africa!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you enjoy quality meat, this one is for you! Good portion sizes of excellent meat, ribs, etc. Loved the vegetable dishes on the side - lovely touch. Varied wine list too. Perfect for a romantic date or for a gathering of friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,247
    375
    126
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
157 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“sorry we cannot agree this is no. 1 in Camps Bay”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Unlike previous reviewers we found this restaurant just above average. True the steaks are good and certainly an improvement on our meat experiences in other Camps Bay restaurants but we didn't really take to the over smoky flavour. We prefer our steaks bbq'd but more naturally flavoured. The salad starters were food court quality. Service was not good (we never did get any water despite 3 times of asking) . We were also hustled for a bigger gratuity on leaving. We have had better experiences than this so cannot recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best steaks in S Africa”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have to say this is a little gem tucked away in Camps Bay- during a holiday some friends of friends said they would not reccommend this restaurant but I was reading a Cape Town-eating out magazine and this restaurant came highly reccommended. As we were going to The Theatre on the Bay that night (another great place) we decided to give it a try. Well I can assure you we had the best steaks ever and would definitely go there on my next visit to SA, My advice do not always listen to friends go and try for yourself you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelal0t2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceyrat, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Choice”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate in four restaurants in Camps Bay during our stay. We would rate the Hussar as the best quality/price. The food, service, atmosphere were all very good. Take your own wine and pay only 20 Rand corkage. A place to recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent Restaurant and Steakhouse”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the best steaks and ribs here that we have ever tasted. Excellent selection of wine, starters and deserts as well. Service was also great and great value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Camps Bay also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing