We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Restaurant in Camps Bay and in the Western Cape area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Visby, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Camps Bay and in the Western Cape area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We lived in Camps Bay for a month on business. We love Indian food so we tried out The Raj It was really really great! Beautiful interior, view of Camps Bay beach, well trained staff and top service. The cook was genuine Indian and everything we ordered tasted great! What more can you ask for when you go out and eat at a restaurant!? We tried out "Bukhara" of course to compare in Stellenbosch but it was not a comparison. We liked it 100 times better at The Raj. You are better attended, better food and even the "Price" is better (cheaper)! So if you ask for my advice, don't think twice, go to "The Raj" if you want a good Indian meal at Camps Bay or if you are staying at Capetown. Camps Bay is not far from Cape Town city so it is worth the trip!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heyla20120702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    162
    50
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“As close as it gets to a good English Indian (aka the best)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Now don't get me wrong... African curry is good. And the food in SA is generally far better than the food in England.

However... every now and then, the English get a craving for a decent home-style curry. And with curry (rather ironically) being our national dish (practically), we know a good curry for sure.

I have been to the Raj many times, as have many of my English (and Capetonian) friends. Whilst it's not quite as good as an English curry, it's as close as I've found upon my 10+ visits to SA over the years.

The food is cooked well, rich in taste and served hot. The service is far better than the general service in the UK, and my experience on several occasions has been excellent thanks to the friendliness and efficiency of Percy, a waiter who seems to work every time I visit!

All in all, a great curry at a reasonable price, in a far better location you will ever find back in England.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We ate at The Raj as we were in need of some decent Indian food. The Raj was the only place nearby, and after checking that they serve halal meat and poultry, which they do, we ordered. However, the menu is very average and lacking behind the much higher standards we are now accustomed to in a wide range of places the UK, where menus are generally more creative and inventive than they used to be. The menu here reminded me what we would have had about 15-20 years ago in the UK.

The lamb tasted too strong and was much like liver. The chicken was nothing to shout about.

The atmosphere was fine and the service was attentive but having said that, it wasn't particularly busy when we visited.

There are better places to eat along the strip here in Camps Bay.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moomin_papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a very enjoyable meal and were able to get a table on the front allowing us to watch the world go by. The food was well cooked and the staff were attentive. Would definitely eat there again if visiting Camps Bay.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very average restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Raj really needs to do something about their menu which is nondescript to say the least. Service is appalling and only seems to come to life when the bill is presented as opposed to during your nitre visit which should be the case. It's saving grace - located on the main ' Camps Bay Strip ' Would I recommend - definitely not. Will we be going back - possibly in twelve months time to see whether the service / fare has improved but definitely not routinely .

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing