We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My first time staying at a B&B, forget hotels now...Camps Bay has given me a whole new perspective” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 61 On Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
61 On Camps Bay
Ranked #28 of 61 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My first time staying at a B&B, forget hotels now...Camps Bay has given me a whole new perspective”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff. From the time I walked in the door to the time I left I felt like I was staying in a big house with family. The breakfast was beautifully spread out with a nice variety of cold and hot breakfast. Staff was very accommodating in every way. Kind and helpful. Very clean. Location was amazing. I was lucky enough to be a part of the Global Designs for women travel in April, I also want to include a thank you for the gentleman that lives in Camps Bay, I apologize that I did not get his name. You all went above and beyond. I cannot say enough about your beautiful B&B and the beautiful people of South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guesthouse.
It was wonderful to have met you and we trust your Global Designs Tour was fabulous.
We missed all the Ladies at breakfast time after you left. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with at 61 On Camps Bay.
We hope to see you again, till then keep well.
King regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently hosted 5 ladies on a 10 night tour of South Africa. Our first stop was 61 on Camps where we spent 4 nights. Yvonne and Tamara were absolutely amazing! From our first meeting to continued correspondence prior to the trip, these ladies were on top of everything. They went above and beyond to ensure my guests had a fantastic experience. The property is divine, rooms are bright, airy, and very clean. The fantastic staff ensured our needs were met at all times. The location cannot be beat. I will be returning to Cape Town in November with another group of ladies and look forward to returning to 61 on Camps! Thank you ladies for such a memorable experience..

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous but of course the ocean view rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalattitude2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you Global Designs, for putting together such a fabulous trip for your Ladies.
It was wonderful to meet them all. We are looking forward to your next visit to 61 On Camps Bay. Keep well till then and we hope lots of Ladies book holidays through your fantastic company.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at 61 On Camps Bay in Feb. The room was big, clean, airy and white bedding which is my kind of room! There was also a fridge and microwave in the room, and the use of beach towels on request. We had a pool room which was nice but think a balcony room would have been better for the amazing sunsets. There was a slight traffic noise but if you closed the windows you couldn't really hear anything. The breakfast was good with cereals, home made cakes / biscuits, fruit and a choice of eggs. A nice bonus was that they had a honesty bar so you could help yourself to wine / beer in the evening which was very welcome after a long day of sightseeing! Especially as you cant buy alcohol from any shops in Camps Bay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when our tour guide was late! The location is good, 10 minutes walk down the hill to Camps bay beach and restaurants, there is also the best steak restaurant I have been to in the opposite direction. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review.
The steaks at the Hussar Grill are legendary.
We hope to see you again on a future holiday.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved it, I couldn't fault it one bit. It was perfectly situated. just a 10min drive from the beautiful city of Cape Town. The staff were always friendly and the owner who was there every morning went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Would definitely go back and would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review. It was wonderful to have met your Family.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cape Town.
Keep well till then
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place to stay for a reasonable cost. The staff is very friendly and personable, and the location is very convenient for exploring Cape Town. It's also a short walk to Camps Bay and the strip. Our room was very clean and the breakfast lovely. Thanks again to Tamara and Yvonne!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. It is always a pleasure to have wonderful Guests stay with us at 61 On Camps Bay Guesthouse. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Camps Bay.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's a great B&B with very friendly staff. I did think it was rather pricey, but then again it was over a school holiday and it is a prime location. Staff are friendly and breakfast pretty good. Location is pretty central, a bit noisy as there is a busy intersection in front of the lodge. It is clean and has nice maps and info available to guests and staff are very helpful in this regard.

Room Tip: Not close to the front reception area as it is noisy when other guests come in late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review 61 On Camps Bay.
Future Guests find these reviews very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a really nice option if you want to stay in Camps Bay. It is within walking distance of the beach and main restaurant strip, and offers excellent value for money by Camps Bay standards.

We had a lovely bright, comfortable room, with a balcony and a wonderful view,perfect for watching the famous Camps Bay sunsets.

What really sets this place apart is the wonderful personal service and the really relaxed atmosphere. The emphasis here is on ensuring you enjoy your stay,and nothing is too much trouble.

Top class,highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are Happy you enjoyed Camps Bay as much as we do.
Hope you have wonderful memories of Cape Town.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Primi Royal
Primi Royal
#8 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 61 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#18 of 61 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Beachside
Beachside
#31 of 61 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61 On Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61 On Camps Bay

Property: 61 On Camps Bay
Address: 61 Camps Bay Drive | across the road from steps leading down to Bali Beach, Camps Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 61 On Camps Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
61 On Camps Bay a three star luxury guest house is situated across the road from the steps leading down to the quiet and secluded Bali Beach. 61 On Camps Bay is within easy walking distance to the picturesque Camps Bay beach with its trendy sidewalk café’s.Our rooms with their beach house decor are bright spacious and all open onto either a balcony area or pool area.61 On Camps Bay is only a few minutes drive from the V & A Waterfront, the city centre, the world famous Clifton beaches, Table Mountain Cable Car and Robben Island to mention a few.61 On Camps Bay consists of 4 en-suite bedrooms with fabulous sea facing view and patio area, where you can enjoy the famous Camps Bay sunsets, And 3 pool facing rooms which lead onto the pool area.61 On Camps Bay has two rooms with a kitchenette that can sleep either 2 or 3 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 61 On Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61 On Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing