We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spending time with family and friends in Cape Town”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crystal
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were a couple of 4 grown-ups and we spended time with friends and family in Camps Bay,
The appartment was great, just to the point that the cleaning could have been better, but otherwise pool and service was great. The staff went out of their way to please us. Location very secured, had problems to get to pool

Room Tip: We had the 3 bedroom appartment lots of space just great
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Ellen L

Thank you for your review. I will appreciate it if you can email me more detailed feedback with regards to the housekeeping service.
We are in the process of upgrading some of our common area signage including directional signage to the pool.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
manager@campsbaycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 165 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Dial a Flight arranged these apartments for a 10 day stay in December 2013, the apartment has everything required for self catering, well situated with outstanding views of the sea and mountains at camps bay. The property was in excellent condition clean and well cared for. The staff where more than friendly, helpful nothing was to much trouble. We had a slight problem with noisy neighbours and the staff dealt with it promptly. I do have one tiny complaint the internet service is poor, and difficult to obtain. This is a minor problem, the bed was clean and comfortable, and I would recommend this hotel strongly and without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sea so there is no advice, you cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Rody W
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Please note that we are aware of the WIFI problems and we are in the process of changing suppliers that will hopefully solve the current intermittent issues. Alternatively we have 3G cards at reception that can only be used on laptops and certain tablets/ipad’s.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We had room 309 magnificent views big two bed apartment ... A few teething problems all sorted by reception which as a location is a sham in the car park in a dingy area.. Points to note

1- to pay for wifi is riddiculous when every single cafe/ restaurant offers it for free .. Makes it feel a rip off

2- there is a complimentary shuttle from bay hotel which by the way us a Porsche ... Not advertised at all or explained by reception .. Food and service at the bay hotel in the bistro is exceptional do visit

3- the pool is great providing hot weather it's freezing otherwise

Overall the crystal and camps bay is good but could be so much better with a few extra touches

Service staff are great ...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Jeffy Baby

As mentioned in previous review the reception is located in the basement for easy access to parking, lobbies, security and lifts.
1. We do provide complimentary WIFI but unfortunately only in our reception area.
2. I apologize that the complimentary shuttle service was not communicated to you. This service is subject to availability and is not always the Porsche. This is on our website as well as in the service directory.
3. We have 2 pools on site of which the lap pool is not heated but the smaller pool is solar heated and dependant on sunny days.

We thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights, upon arriving late due to flight delays the receptionist waited and assisted us with our baggage. The apartment was in immaculate condition and had all necessary items to be self sufficient including washer and tumble drier.
the apartment is 10 minutes from table mountain and 5 minutes drive to the sea front. The facility has one small pool and a plunge pool and was clean with great views.
The only negative side is that you have to pay for the wifi, this is standard in most hotels that I stay in around the world.
Overall this place is a great place to stay and will recommend this to friends and family
thank you to the staff

Room Tip: Go to Llandudno beach to see the sunset
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

As a family of four, we stayed in a split level two bedroom apartment for three nights.
The cleanliness and facilities offered could not be faulted. The reception staff were ever ready to assist with any queries throughout our stay, they even allowed us to check our bags in prior to our listed arrival time.
The views from the apartment were spectacular (when the mist had cleared). There were panoramic views of Camps Bay and limited yet stunning views of Table Mountain to the rear.
For self catering needs, these apartments are more than adequate.
It is a ten minute walk down the hill to the main strip at Camps Bay, where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars to choose from if you decide to eat out. There is also a small supermarket which stocks many everyday and fresh items. The walk back to the apartments is all uphill and takes about 15/20 minutes.
Be aware that trading laws in SA do not permit the sale of alcohol on Sundays, you will usually have to find a "liquor store" for the purchase of beers & wine and before 6pm in most cases - not good news if you arrive on a Sunday morning and fancy an evening on the balcony soaking up the views with a local wine!
Residents of the apartments also have access to the facilities at The bay Hotel, including tennis and squash.
I would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: Our split level or "loft" apartments had acres of space, two bathrooms and a separate toil...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Tony C

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
As suggested to previous guests I recommend that all your grocery shopping should be done in town as there are also no liquor stores in Camps Bay. Alternatively we do have a service to guests called personalized shopping where we can shop on your behalf and have everything ready for your day of arrival. This option is on our website.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future so you can enjoy a gorgeous sunset with a lovely glass of wine.
Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment for 4 nights. The apartment was well equipped with all you need, especially if self catering. There is also a washer and dryer which was very useful. There are lovely views of the ocean and back up to the rear of Table Mountain. There is security parking and the location is best for those with a vehicle. The walk up the hill from Camps Bay would be quite tiring and the best options for getting to Sea Point and into the city is by taxi. The staff are friendly and we appreciated our late check in on our first evening.

Room Tip: Apartment 116 was a good choice for the studios.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aputula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Clean and modern place with everything you need: washer, dryer, kitchen, microwave. It has beautiful views of the ocean and Camps Bay as well as Table Mountain from the back. Excellent service! Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $116 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the cool Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Table Mountain, lie The Crystal Apartments. From modern and luxurious studio and two bedroom apartments through to the flagship loft and three bedroom loft apartment, The Crystal is a place that solo travellers as well as families have called home over the years. Two swimming pools located on the terrace offer sweeping views over the Atlantic Ocean and the perfect place to relax after an adventure filled day in the Mother City. The easy access in and out of Camps Bay makes The Crystal a sought after location for our guests from across the globe. While hidden from view, the basement area is now home to some of the worlds most iconic sports cars that form the Crystal Car Club. Take a walk downstairs and revel in the pure performance and aesthetics of these supercars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing