We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Smart Apartment”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crystal
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Smart Apartment”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked 2 nights here for when we arrived in South Africa for our very first time. I wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and it didn't disappoint.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was huge, and spotlessly clean. It was a bit of a strange check-in though, having to drive into an underground car park. The directions on the web sight from the airport were really easy to follow.
The views from both the front and back were amazing, but due to the weather we couldn't enjoy them to their full extent.
As with any apartment, you need to source some supplies, and there is nothing within easy walking distance. We were directed to the water front to a "pick 'n' pay" which is very small and limited in selection, so if you're planning to cook, you will need to plan a visit to a larger store outside of Camps Bay. We did discover another small shop on the way down the hill, next to the Hussar Grill. A meal at the Hussar Grill is an absolute must, fantastic food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Rugby Family of five
Thank you for your review.

The Pick n Pay on the strip has the basic necessities but should you want a bigger variety I suggest that you purchase your groceries in town. We do also offer a personalized shopping service where we can do the shopping on your behalf before your arrival. This option is available on our website.

I suggest that you return in summer so that you can enjoy the clear sunny weather and views.

Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Brilliant views, modern spacious apartments with good amenities. Only a couple of things that would enhance overall stay would be a gym and better WiFi reception, possibly even a music docking system. However I most certainly will stay at The Crystal on my next visit to Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220JAMESM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Crystal offers brilliant views of the ocean and sunset in the evening - but is let down by no Free WiFi, second rate cleaning and an absurd check in/reception area.

In no way can an underground, cramped and dark reception be an appropriate place to 'welcome' you to what claims to be a 4star apartment complex.

I stayed for 4 nights in August 2013 in a studio that was a good size, well equipped but was not cleaned to a very high standard.

We spent an afternoon at the beach club - and returned to the Crystal via the free shuttle (white Porsche). The Beach club was a cool place to be and as inexpensive as the rest of SA.

Overall positives - good size studio, excellent location and views. Overall negatives - overpriced, not the cleanest, ridiculous reception

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Crystal for 11 nights with our 2 sons aged 21 and 16. It was easy to find in our hire care from the airport. Don't be put off by the entrance which is via the indoor car parking area. We arrived late at night and were all wowed as we were shown the apartment. The biggest wow factor was when we opened the curtains the following morning though-as the view of Camps Bay is amazing. Apartments are very modern and clean with everything you need for your home comforts. The boys made use of the hotel bike hire facility too.
Only big downside for us was the lack of free wi fi- in this day and age it should really be part of the deal. Also the pools were freezing despite us being told they were heated.
The sea front restaurants are in walking distance but probably best to have a car in the evening. Try Blues restaurant for exquisite food and excellent service.
We'd also recommend an overnight safari at inverdoorn lodge (transport can be arranged by inverdoorn to collect you from your hotel).
There is no communal area, lounge or bar so The Crystal perhaps isn't the place to socialise and meet people but if you want a cool and comfortable base to experience the delights of camps bay I d
recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to escape the bustle of Cape Town city centre then this place is a must! Located only 5 mins by car from beautiful beachfront overlooked by Lions head these appartments are modern, stylish, comfortable and clean with daily maid service. The location of the appt is close to table mountain cable car station or diving out to cape point and easy to get in to cape town by taxi at night for approx 70rand. The appartments offer picturesque views over Camps bay and make the ideal setting for a glass of South African wine on the terrace whilst watching the sun come down; simply stunning. We had appartment 109 for 5 nights and it had a fabulous sea view- easy access to local supermarket (be aware no alcohol can be found in supermarkets in Camps Bay) the best place to go is Tops Spar at Seapoint.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charliecox29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Myself and my wife travelled to South Africa for our honeymoon in October 2012 and decided to base ourself in Camps Bay to explore Cape Town. V&A Waterfront is 15minutes or so in a cab so you literally are on the doorstep. Table Mountain is not even a 5 minute drive away so you are right in the centre of everything.

Back the the Crystal. The accommodation was absolutely superb. Fully contained kitchen, living area and a massive bedroom & bathroom. Very secure, underground car parking and staff who were more than willing to help us with our every need. A service is provided to guests at the Crystal where you can get free transfers to The Bay Hotel. Its probably a 15-20minute walk down the hill from The Crystal to the beach which is fine during the day but much more handy to avail of the free car service at night. Safe and secure, you cannot go wrong here.

If you do not fancy a hotel booking and are looking for something that caters more to your own needs and gives you more privacy and space, The Crystal will definitely provide you with this. Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Make sure you have sea view. Spectacular overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The apartment was well appointed and very comfortable. Great location and wonderful views of the ocean from the balcony. Easy walk down the hill to all the shops and restaurants. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Property: The Crystal
Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world's premier scenic settings. With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft and three bedroom apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style. Two swimming pools on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing