We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated so well”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crystal
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Treated so well”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

There was a problem with our request for a twin and a double formatted room, only two double format available when we arrived .... Shouldn't have happened but we were upgraded to a villa at no extra cost, don't get better than that.
Spent one night at Crystal location and apartment great would return if in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, views excellent, preferred the west side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 875Billclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    53
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
40
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good apartment, a little noisy at times, strange reception/entrance but otherwise OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Internet variable, but OK if you stood by the entrance door.
Would certainly consider returning if I wanted to stay in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed our first 5 nights of our trip here and it was a great start. The apartment was beautifully appointed with a nice balcony. The apartment was cleaned daily and the beds made. Its well suited for the restaurants in Camps Bay and also to visit Table Mountain and Cape Point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights. The apartment itself is a little small with limited space for luggage etc however it was spotless with all the necessary amenities. The decoration and furniture were of a very high standard, the kitchen well equipped, must mention the extracor fan above stove was very low..eye level so you had to bend over to use the stove, must be addressed. The sea view was great and and the complex security is very good which made us feel safe. Very well located can walk a few minutes to Camps Bay spots but suggest drive back as walk uphill would be trying on some. Underground secure parking provided with security guard and safe passage to room. Surrounds were great for the morning runs. We were given on arrival half a box of tissues, one dishwasher tablet, small bottle of dish washing liquid and two face cloths. The towels were replaced daily but the facecloth was a once off....it was not removed like the towels but washed in the room....dont really understand why it could not be done like the towels??,rather odd for this kind of accommodation and duration of stay. As a traveler last thing I want to look for is dish washing tablets and face cloths but the stay was very comfortable and I will return. Great apartment in a very good and safe location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula. There is a good choice of restaurants in Camps Bay which is also close enough to the V&A in Cape Town to be able to drive in for a evening meal.
The Crystal is secure, well equipped and comfortable but this is what you pay for! Points for improvement:
The cleaning in the corridors and stairwells was poor, the rooms are very clean when you arrive but once in the cleaners appear to slacken off, the terrace needs some fencing on each side to make the terrace more private and we had two plastic chairs on the terrace when we could have done with something more relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good security, safe car parking. Tricky to navigate around the Crystal as one had to return to the basement each time before ascending to another part of the building.

Excellent assistance from staff in the rather strange 'Reception' area in the basement car park. They were happy to book Table Mountain trips and restaurants.

Modern room with (from ground floor) a part view of the sea. As mentioned elsewhere, beware the 'killer' cooker hood. In room washing facilities were excellent with efficient Whirlpool appliances.

BUT - wifi was charged. Out of step with all other South African hotels, B & Bs and even game parks. Membership of beach club was great, BUT we were refused entry on Saturday, February 16 as a private party was being held. This was very disappointing as it's a major feature of staying at the Crystal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Accommodation in studio apartment was good. Furnishing was in good order but if you have layout with centre island for cooking watch the corners of the glass extractor hood which are particularly located with decapitation in mind!

We had a particular problem with wind noise which is probably an ongoing problem. The surrounding geography means that winds come through and off the mountains at high velocity and the experience was akin to sleeping in a hurricane with a fairly constant howling wind noise.

This property is in same group as The Bay Hotel and a shuttle bus is available to take you between the two. If the bus is not immediately available you are likely to get a white Porsche chauffeur driven instead. As a free service this takes some beating!

This was a chill period at the end of a fly/drive and in that context we were a little disappointed with Camps Bay. It is apparently one of the 'in places' to go from Cape Town and is therefore somewhat busy with people out to be seen, and has a front string of restaurants all open to the street with lots of noise and bustle.

This review rating tries to strike a balance between the good accommodation and staff, and the problem outside of their control of ongoing wind noise due to location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Asc Surrey
Thank you for your honest review. I can guarantee you that we have no intention of decapitating any of our guests. We have acknowledged this issue and as mentioned in my previous response we are looking at highlighting this design in order for it to be more visible.

Camps Bay is definitely known to have its fair share of seasonal windy days and architecturally this was taken into account but due to the location we do experience wind noise when the strong South Easter blows.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Property: The Crystal
Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the cool Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Table Mountain, lie The Crystal Apartments. From modern and luxurious studio and two bedroom apartments through to the flagship loft and three bedroom loft apartment, The Crystal is a place that solo travellers as well as families have called home over the years. Two swimming pools located on the terrace offer sweeping views over the Atlantic Ocean and the perfect place to relax after an adventure filled day in the Mother City. The easy access in and out of Camps Bay makes The Crystal a sought after location for our guests from across the globe. While hidden from view, the basement area is now home to some of the worlds most iconic sports cars that form the Crystal Car Club. Take a walk downstairs and revel in the pure performance and aesthetics of these supercars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing