We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unfortunately, only stayed here for one night but can say without a doubt this is an incredible hotel - ONE OF THE BEST in CAPE TOWN. The rooms are well appointed, we stayed in a "smaller" room which was actually very large and comfortable and includes a small lounge area. Nespresso coffee machine, coffee pods and a complimentary mini bar are also included in the room - what a treat! The decor and 'feel' of the hotel is amazing - it is modern and chic. Staff were attentive. A highlight is to have a drink at the bar, overlooking the gorgeous pool and hearing the ocean crash onto the Camps Bay beach. Location is perfect; slightly away from the strip but still in the middle of it all. Fantastic hotel - worth every cent.

Room Tip: Rooms 001 - 003 are on the ground floor and include a mini pool and private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at POD Camps Bay.

It is such a pity that you only stayed with us for one night, however I am glad that we left a lasting impression which resulted in such an excellent review.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the design of our property, our rooms, amenities and our amazing location.

We hope to welcome you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    38
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
433
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The highlight of our stay here was undoubtedly the attitude and service orientation of the staff. Not only is nothing too much trouble but they appear to constantly consider what your upcoming needs are and proactively help you any way they can. Unfortunately for the first two nights of our four night stay there were noise issues on the top floor which significantly affected our sleep. Once this was brought to their attention the recovery was nothing short of incredible. If the door noise insulation issue is resolved we would happily return, again mostly due to the service from some of the best hotel staff we have come across anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

Based on your Tripadvisor profile, I can clearly see that you are a very discerning traveller which makes your review count for so much more.

I am thrilled to hear that you felt the attitude and service offering from the team was excellent. We really strive to anticipate ones needs as well as genuinely get to know the guests who stay with us.

I would like to apologize for the noise disturbance during the first two nights of your stay, these were isolated events caused by a couple of rowdy guests which I can ensure is not the norm. I am sorry that this had such a negative impact.

Thank you for taking the time to send us a postcard from your safari. Having had a pleasure of spending almost 10 years in the Greater Kruger National Park as well as working at the lodge that you stayed at, I was envious of what you must have experienced!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently spent two nights at POD, which I can only describe as one of the very best boutique hotels at which I have stayed. The real stand out features are the design and decor, the creature comforts in the rooms and every single member of staff who provide an unobtrusive level of service where nothing is too much to ask.

Room Tip: The Luxury Rooms are absolutely sublime - luxurious, spacious and the best views of Camp's Bay b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daved1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Dave

I am delighted to hear that you felt our property was one of the best hotels that you have stayed at.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the design, decor, creature comforts and most importantly, the service and hospitality that you received from the team.

We hope to host you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent a few nights at the POD and can quite honestly say that this hotel blew me away. The hotel is ultra modern with excellent attention to detail.The room was stunning, very comfortable and clean, with an array of complementary extras. Breakfast was superb! Thank you to the POD team for going above and beyond to ensure my holiday was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Robyn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am elated to hear that you were blown away by the POD experience!
Thank you for the commendations on the attention to detail, the rooms and the housekeeping.
I am glad that you also enjoyed the complimentary offerings.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Cape Town, this was not our first trip there, we have always stayed on the wharf side at one of those hotels. This time I wanted to stay at Camps Bay and we chose to stay here at the POD. Best choice I could have made.this hotel is a smaller hotel but not small at all in ammenities or staff service. The breakfast is excellant the rooms are fabulous and comfortable with excellant showers!!!!. I really recommend this hotel at the highest level of referral. You will not be disappointed. The bay is just across the street so you can enjoy wonderful night walks and sun during the day. close to all the great restaurants and just a short cab ride if you choose to go into town.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a view of the mountain at first then we were upgraded to the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claudette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Claudette

Thank you for taking the time to post your first review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the commendations on the quality of the rooms, amenities and the service levels.

It was such a pleasure hosting you and we hope that you will stay with us again when you visit South Africa for the Basketball camp.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The POD Hotel Camps Bay is beautifully designed with a thoroughly modern aesthetic. But it has every creature comfort and is really very cosy. A small hotel, the staff is extremely attentive. The location can't be beat--right off the beach in Camps Bay, arguably the most beautiful coastal village near Cape Town. Only 10 minutes by taxi from the heart of Cape Town, you feel as if you are far removed. Easy walk to many fun shops, night clubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with the best water view. The spa is limited to an exercise room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Amanda

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am delighted to hear that you liked the design and aesthetics of our hotel. The owner is incredibly passionate about architecture and design and spent many hours tweaking the plans to ensure that all the elements of the building would fit together perfectly.

I am glad that you enjoyed the attentive service from the team and I have to agree with you that Camps Bay is one of the most spectacular coastal villages in Cape Town!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved staying at POD Camps Bay. Our room was very modern, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and the location made short walks to local restaurants fun and easy. I would and have recommended "The POD" to my friends and family. We did not use the spa.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the top corner room looking towards the beach as I booked a room with a pool, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Becky

Thank you for taking the time to share your POD experience on tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that you would stay again and that you have recommended our property to others. We are incredibly fortunate to receive the majority of our bookings from word of mouth referrals as well as repeat guests.

Thanks for your room tip, whilst we have tried to heat the plunge pools during Winter, we can only get a maximum temperature of +- 25'C.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing