We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Words cannot describe how much we were looked after at POD, my husband was ill so they personally went out and bought him migraine and nausea relief tablets. The turn down, dinner reservations & the online booking of the bus tours for us were all immensely helpful. The place in itself is beautful, we were upgraded and the room was amazing, huge and with a fantastic view of the ocean. Breakfast was fantastic and the use of the local pizzeria was a really excellent touch. While I would not necessarily want to stay in Camps bay again, I would do so to return the peace of POD, and I am still gutted that due to my husbands illness we did not make it to the beach of which there is a complimentary set up for you. I cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bl0ndie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "Bl0ndie82"

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

It was such a pity that your husband was feeling ill when he arrived and that you were not able to take advantage of our beach service. I am just glad that we could assist with helping to get him the much needed medication.

It was a pleasure to upgrade you on your honeymoon. I am glad that you enjoyed the Deluxe Suite with is corner view over Camps Bay beach.

Wishing you many happy years to come and hopefully we will be able to celebrate one of your future anniversaries with you at POD.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    38
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
433
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at POD for three nights in early December at the end of our honeymoon. We immediately felt relaxed upon arrival by the welcome from Brendan as he showed us our room and hotel facilities, and we were thoroughly impressed by the attentive yet understated and unobtrusive service throughout our stay - which was remarkably consistent from all staff. Nothing was too much trouble to help us enjoy our stay, even extending to the day we checked out and making sure we made the most of our last day in Camps Bay before heading to the airport.

The attention to detail is impressive, with some unexpected and generous touches making us feel special in a way that we hadn't experienced before at a hotel. Michaela and Nick arranged a winery tour and several restaurant reservations for us very efficiently and their advice and recommendations proved to be spot on.

The room was fitted out to a high standard, with stunning views from our plunge pool of the ocean and Table Mountain. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide range of options and great quality produce.

We would recommend POD to anyone looking for a luxury place to stay in Camps Bay with a personalised style.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Beckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Martin

Thank you once again for choosing POD Camps Bay for your accommodation during your recent trip to Cape Town.

Reading such a fantastic review is a fabulous way to start the new year.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality from myself, Nick, Micaela and the rest of the POD team during your stay.

December can be a tricky time to get good restaurant reservations, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the selection that we managed to put together for you.

I wish you a mild Scottish winter and all the best for 2013!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a unique place both in its situation, so close to the smashing breakers of Camps Bay beach, but also because of its complete tranquility as soon as you enter the door.
The design of this luxurious boutique B and B is very clever, so close to the hub of Camps bay strip, walking distance from most of the bars and restaurants, and yet quiet and peaceful when you sit at the bar or poolside with your cocktail.
The staff are eager to please and go out of their way to make your stay feel indulgent and luxurious.
We loved it and are going back as soon as we can!!

Room Tip: Go that little extra and get a luxury room with private pool. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_mcbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Julie

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at POD Camps Bay during a part of your honeymoon trip to South Africa.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the design, architecture, location and service offering at the hotel.

Setting the correct ambiance within the main areas of the hotel is crucial to ensure tranquility & relaxation. I am glad that you picked this up during your stay with us.

I am elated to hear that you can't wait to return, it would be fantastic to welcome you back to POD in the near future.

Enjoy the rest of the festive season and I would like to wish you all the best for the new year!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the POD for our Honeymoon, it was fantastic. The location and the hotel itself are brilliant and surpassed expectations, as did the exceedingly friendly and professional staff. There was nothing that was too much trouble. I didn't want to leave and I can't wait to come back, a big thank you to all the POD staff for making the start of our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmrdanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear "Cmrdanby"

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing to stay at POD Camps Bay during your recent trip to Cape Town.

I am thrilled to hear that found our property brilliant and that we exceeded your expectations.

On behalf of all the staff, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and I have relayed your thanks to the team.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wow!!! I have not stopped gushing about POD since I arrived back home! We arrived to the hotel late at night, and realized that I had made an error when booking. The front desk staff were completely accomodating above and beyond. The hotel is beautiful; full of of fun and thoughtful art and sculptures. The staff are incredible; the front desk, the doormen, the bartenders, the breakfast servers - everyone had a smile and made our stay unforgettable. Daily breakfast was fresh and fantastic - you name it they had it! I mentioned a few places we wanted to visit, and resto's we wanted to try; Brendan and Micaela put together a perfect itinerary and helped get us into a restaurant that was booked up for the next 2 months straight!! I could go on and on...expectations way more than exceeded. I myself will be back to POD, and I will tell anyone who is heading to the Western Cape that this spot is a absolute must!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear "Carmen M"

Thank you for posting such a glowing report on your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

I am humbled to hear that you felt our service offering was above and beyond and that we exceeded your expectations!

It was an absolute pleasure to arrange your itinerary during your time with us, I am amazed that we managed to get you into the Test Kitchen at such short notice!

We look forward to welcoming you "all" back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This unique boutique hotel has found the perfect balance between style and comfort, and personalized service and a sense of privacy. The staff were outstanding -- accommodating and kind without being intrusive. The rooms actually look like what is presented on the website -- uber mod and stylish but still very comfortable and usable. Loved being right on the beach, and just close enough to the restaurants and nightlife of the city. I can't wait to come back. Thanks guys for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: If its available, you should ask for a sea-view room. The sound of the waves crashing at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear 'Andrew B"

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at POD Camps Bay.

Its great to hear that you felt that the balance between the personalized service and our guests privacy was spot on. This is something that is incredibly difficult to judge.

Thankfully the casual, yet professional approach at POD seems to fill a happy medium and is one of the main reasons why people relate to our property, product and our brand.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

These guys were unsurpassable in the level of service. Nothing too much trouble and anticipating every need both before and during our stay. We arrived minus passports cash cards phone driving licence- the full kit and kiboodle. They were simply brilliant in sorting out all the problems and being very persistent in the face of the inevitable bureaucracy and keeping us calm! They also sorted out a tooth extraction at very short notice! And yes, we did manage to have a great time....Cannot recommend it too highly -including the POD special for breakfast!

David and Dee

Room Tip: Book early to get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear David & Dee

It was a pleasure hosting you at POD Camps Bay.

Having ones passport, credit cards, phone and belongings go missing at the airport is no way to start a holiday! I am glad that we were able to assist with the red tape and get things sorted as quickly as possible.

I really appreciate your comments on our service, our "can do" approach is something that we feel make us stand out from the competition. This genuine willingness to help has become ingrained in our core ethos here at POD.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future for a (hopefully) slightly more relaxing stay in Camps Bay.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing