We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed service”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

These guys were unsurpassable in the level of service. Nothing too much trouble and anticipating every need both before and during our stay. We arrived minus passports cash cards phone driving licence- the full kit and kiboodle. They were simply brilliant in sorting out all the problems and being very persistent in the face of the inevitable bureaucracy and keeping us calm! They also sorted out a tooth extraction at very short notice! And yes, we did manage to have a great time....Cannot recommend it too highly -including the POD special for breakfast!

David and Dee

Room Tip: Book early to get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear David & Dee

It was a pleasure hosting you at POD Camps Bay.

Having ones passport, credit cards, phone and belongings go missing at the airport is no way to start a holiday! I am glad that we were able to assist with the red tape and get things sorted as quickly as possible.

I really appreciate your comments on our service, our "can do" approach is something that we feel make us stand out from the competition. This genuine willingness to help has become ingrained in our core ethos here at POD.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future for a (hopefully) slightly more relaxing stay in Camps Bay.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 673 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pod, was just paradise! from the amazing views of the sea, to the exceptional staff always trying to make our vacation the best one ever. We got an upgrade to a sea view room, and just the hotel´s design, the beach service, the amenities, everything, exceeds any expectation you might have. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear "Alessandra D"

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us at POD.

The upgrade to the sea view room was a pleasure and I am thrilled that it made such a big impact during your time with us.

I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been coming to Cape Town for over 30 years. The last 15 years I have been increasingly disappointed with a trend to high 'European' prices and complete lack of service or value. As result I stopped coming 4 years ago.

What a surprise POD was! exceptional service - friendly, attentive, thoughtful and authentic. This is the Cape I remember!
The hotel - setting, design, rooms - is fantastic. POD is small and exclusive. Big is clearly not better and this hotel proves it!
A great place to get away from the madding crowd, yet still close enough to find it when you need to.

An absolutely stunning place and I will definitely be back

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear "Philip B B"

I am delighted to hear that we rekindled your fondness of Cape Town.

We are really blessed with amazing vistas, superb coastlines, beautiful mountains and incredible food!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel design and the service offering from my team. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD during one of (hopefully) many return visits to Cape Town.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

POD is utter, sheer, absolute perfection- and undoubtedly my favorite hotel. Ever.

Here's why:

1. The property is stunning. Set just off the main strip of Camp's Bay (Victoria Road) on a corner lot, to allow almost every room a stunning view of the beach (or for a few 'Mountain' rooms a view of Lion's Head and the Twelve Apostle's). The property is a modernist architecture geek's fantasy. Concrete, glass, unpolished marble, wood- the design aesthetic of the property is incredible. Named after the owner (Paul O'Donnell), the property embraces the term 'POD' in all aspects of the design: low custom-built furniture, sleek lines, beautiful lighting. It has to be seen to be believed.

2. The rooms are designed thoughtfully to allow for open-ness, enjoying the spectacular views, while also being highly functional, intimate, and comfortable. Walls finished with unpolished marble, the floor to ceiling wooden bed-platforms, glass balconies: some rooms even have private pools. The rooms also come with wonderful products, complimentary snacks, water, coffee, individual wireless networks, the works..

3. Finally, and most importantly- the service at the hotel is absolutely exceptional. We stayed here twice on a two week stay in Cape Town, and each time the service exceeded the time before. Nothing was too much for the staff here. Everything was taken care of: welcome drinks, taking care of (storing our bags), restaurant reservations, taking care of our car (in their underground private parking lot), and dozens of other considerations and kindnesses.

Although this hotel is on the upper end of what I am comfortable to pay- it was worth every penny. I have never enjoyed a stay at a hotel more. I wish POD every success.

Room Tip: 201 is the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sciencedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear 'Sciencedc"

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

Your comments on the location, style, design and service that you received make all the hard work that goes into this property worth the effort. I am touched that you picked up on all of the little aspects that when combined create our unique product offering.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your group and I look forward to seeing you again when you next plan a visit to South Africa.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Aside from the spectacular views, incredible rooms, and perfect location, the service is exceptional. We were traveling for business then vacation and the team at POD went out of their way to take care of us at every opportunity. If you are planning a trip to South Africa do not miss out on the chance to stay at POD!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear "vtg2015"

Thank you for posting such an excellent review about your stay at POD Camps Bay.

We are incredibly spoiled to be situated in a position that offers such amazing vistas over the Camps Bay beach as well as the 12 Apostles mountain range.

"Exception Service", WOW, thank you for the compliment!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights at this expensive boutique hotel. Camps Bay is a lovely place and convenient for the centre of Cape Town. Some very nice places to eat on the seafront and a lively bar. The location is perfect, with views of Table mountain to the left and the southern Atlantic to the right from the hotel balcony. POD: A very relaxed atmosphere in the bar area and "pool". The staff are so helpful and nice, always smiling and nothing is too much trouble, but then for the price I would expect this. The only "wrinkle" are the bedrooms, which suffer from some "style over design" issues. The rooms are quite small, no space for luggage (unless very small) and the bathroom area is pretty much open to the bedroom. So the sink is almost in the middle of room, the toilet has smoked glass (so not really private) and the shower looks into the toilet (with glass seperation). It's all a little bit... over stylish and not practical. All it needs is the shower room to be sectioned off from the bedroom, and a door into the showeroom, to make it more comfortable. Because of the bedrooms, I do feel POD is overpriced. We were really disapointed when we first saw the bedroom for the money spent. I would suggest it's 20% over-priced, but having said that, the place was quite busy, so people are paying the rate.We did however, really enjoy our stay and the staff reallt make this place tick.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisenglebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear "Chrisengelbert"

Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service offering from my team as well as the location of our property.

The open plan bathroom was a specific design choice which we have received numerous compliments from previous guests as to its functionality. I do however understand that this concept may not appeal to every guest.

Setting rates can be a very contentious issue and a lot of research was done in both the Camps Bay and Cape Town area before we set our pricing. I am sorry to hear that you feel that we are overpriced for our product offering. Please bear in mind that Camps Bay is one of the most expensive property markets in Africa.

We have noted your other points and are currently looking into solutions regarding the luggage storage in the rooms.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

POD

Excellent, friendly boutique hotel. Not style over substance here - all was good and staff friendly and very helpful. Late check in was accommodated with menu from local pizza restaurant and delivered to room within 30mins (late checkout 7pm also accommodated). Towels and water for the beach provided. Good secure underground car park. Some initial problems with wifi but these were resolved with immense good humor and speed - room upgraded as an apology - this was unnecessary but hugely appreciated.

There was some building work on site - but once gain this was thoughtfully limited to after 11am and before 5pm, and had no impact on our stay at all.

Breakfast excellent. Good restaurant recommendations. Can’t recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear "HatSisters"

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

Who would have thought that iOS6 would have caused so many issues with our complimentary wifi... I am just glad that the IT specialists were able to fix the issue as quickly as they did.

The room upgrade and late check-out was an absolute pleasure.

The great news is that our construction work is finally finished and we are just adding a few finishing touches to the new gym and spa facility. The official opening will hopefully be the 1st of December.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $230 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing