We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Azamare”
Review of Azamare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azamare Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This must be the fifth time I have stayed at Azamare and would never stay anywhere else. Apart from having the best view in Cape Town as well as a really convenient location - right by the sea so no hills to struggle with and a short walk from the promenade and beach, it also offers spotlessly clean and beautifully designed spacious accommodation. You feel like a house guest
rather than a hotel guest and Jannie and the team are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts on the terrace are beautifully presented with special touches and wine and snacks in the evening are a chance to catch up and plan the next day's activities with advice and offers to book trips or restaurants. The pool area is beautifully designed and makes the most of the sun or a place to relax with a drink.
I never want to leave and can't wait to go back again! Thank you all so much for a really special time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here over the December holidays for our honeymoon and we were really impressed. It is a luxurious guesthouse in the heart of camps bay but far away enough from the main strip to miss the noise. The Staff are friendly and made us feel welcome. The place is romantic and there are only 6 rooms so you wont be crowded with tons of people. The pictures on tripadvisor and the website are real so what you see is what you get. all the rooms are styled a little differently we stayed in starfish which is a little smaller but still beautiful. My advice though if you do stay in camps bay over this period I suggest you do what we did and either buy or hire bicycles or scooters to get around as getting into and out of camps bay is difficult over this period.

A few minor negatives about the place are the following.
the pool is cold- i think it should be heated . Especially in CT where the sea is cold you def want a warm pool. this could be done with the purchase of a simple solar heater on the roof without adding electricity cost.
A nice extra at the guesthouse was the management serve free wine and snacks around 5pm. it would be great if they served things like mini pizza and hot chips-more basic practical food.
TV channels-too limited selection. you should be able to purchase movies through box office type system. wherever we go we take our own entertainment-but it would be nice if the rooms had some sort of digital rental system or perhaps free movies and more channels
Coffee machine. Rooms should have filter coffee or there should be a POD system in the general kitchen area accessible at all times.
Breakfast could have a bit more variety and be a bit more exciting.
Dont get me wrong the place was excellent and we would def go back-but Cape Town is getting more sophisticated and competitive and I think extras like that make a big difference.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nautilus Suite:
Although we had some issues with email communication before our stay (apparently their email doesn't always play well with AOL email addresses), our time there was basically flawless. Jannie was a great host and we enjoyed our morning and evening chats with him. There was a good breakfast selection and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres was excellent.
Our room was incredibly spacious and welcoming. There was an ocean view from every square inch; including the bathroom. Nice large tub and shower. The toilet being out in the open can be a little odd, but there is a room divider by the bed that we just moved to the toilet.
I've seen complaints of the private pool for this room and can understand the criticism, but one must understand that it gets VERY windy right along the water, and there's really no way of keeping it completely clean all the time. It was a bit cold when we visited so we didn't use it anyway. If I have any complaints, it would be that you have to request that the hot tub be turned on well in advance of wanting to use it. It also could have used a cleaning.
I should note that there should be no worry about anyone stealing anything. I left my tablet and valuables out on a counter every day and nothing disappeared. They do have a safe though. Also, there were a few garage doors and indoor parking, but we were informed that if we chose to use them, there was a chance that people would park in front of them and trap you inside. We opted to just park outside and it was fine. We didn't have any issues getting off and on to Victoria Rd that runs in front.
We would definitely stay here again if we had the opportunity.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wow - what a hidden gem.

We stayed here for three nights during September 2013 and it was amazing. Our room (Triton) was tastefully furnished and very spacious - the bathroom is huge with great views, a big freestanding bath, open shower, double basins, underfloor heating, heated towel rails etc.

When we arrived there were roses, chocoloates and bubbly in the room - nice touch. At sunset there are freshly-made snacks and wine which you can enjoy on the top floor balcony and chat to your hosts / other guests. Jannie and Frederic were great hosts, very friendly, warm and welcoming.

The room has a small bar fridge, which is great if you want to stash some leftovers from eating out for snacking on later (Frederic even offered some plates and cutlery from the kitchen which we could use).

The property is very modern and crisply clean. Truly five star. The kitchen / lounge area on the top floor is open plan and spacious and maximises the views. There is a lift which takes you to certain rooms (however we had to get off on 1 or 3 and walk to 2, but who cares!!).

The breakfasts were suptous and freshly prepared. Cold breakfast wonderful and hot breakfast made to order. Great coffee.

Overally, a great experience. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Triton and it was great. Huge bathroom with VIEWS FROM THE TUB :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Azamare for 4 nights in August to celebrate my birthday. We were welcomed by Jan who was very friendly and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Our room was spotless and I was treated to champagne, roses and choccies for my birthday. We stayed in Triton, the views were spectacular and I just loved the bathroom. Breakfasts were always fresh and plentiful and the staff were friendly. I loved all the little touches like complimentary sherry next to the bed, gorgeous fluffy gowns and slippers. I would definitely go back. The location in Camps Bay was perfect.

Room Tip: Triton room has fantastic views and the most gorgeous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

With a view over looking Camps Bay the description label of "guesthouse" does not do this property justice. Extremely spacious with attention to every detail. If youre a couple and looking for a bit of extra luxury in beautiful and quiet surroundings this is the place. The bathroom's are much larger than the average living room for most people!

Room Tip: Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and my boyfriend proposed at the top of table mountain, when we got back there were rosé petals around the room, champagne, chocolates and candles. The perfect end to the day! Breakfast was what ever you fancy with a smile and sundowners were the best way to watch those beautiful sunsets. The whole team were great!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Happyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,166 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azamare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azamare Guesthouse

Address: 133 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $195 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azamare Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azamare is situated in picturesque Camps Bay surrounded by the Twelve Apostle Mountains, Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean on the other side." Here you will find the best sea views and sunsets over the ocean. Experience superb hospitality and comfortable Camps Bay accommodation. We define our accommodation and suites through exceptional service, quality facilities and a tranquil environment in an opulent setting with luxurious finishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Azamare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azamare Guesthouse Hotel Camps Bay
Azamare Guesthouse Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing