We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but nothing special, average place”
Review of Grand Africa - CLOSED

Grand Africa
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cape Town's showgirl on Africa's ‘Miami Mile’ in Camps Bay, offers grandeur of a bygone era for locals and international travelers. Elegant simplicity is the setting with beautifully prepared cafe-style cuisine and an impressive wine list showcasing local South African and international wines, desirable Champagnes, Cap Classique and cocktails celebrating the magnificence of this beach setting. Grand Room, offering the ultimate in bare decadence crowns the famous Grand Cafe on the Strip in Cape Town's, Camps Bay.
Skopje
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice but nothing special, average place”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

It is on Victoria Road, nice place, the second restaurant on the left if you drive from Clifton. The prices are a bit high, but it is not bad and the interior is very nice.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss-JellenaZikic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    70
    25
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't eat here - they are far better restaurants along this road”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We'd eaten breakfast here and enjoyed it so decided to book for dinner but we were very disappointed. A third of the mussels my husband had as a starter were still closed, the waiter agreed that they should not have been served but they still appeared on the bill! My greek salad starter was quite bland with too much garlic. My steak was very good and my husband's fish was "ok", nothing special. The house wine is good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travels039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ibiza meets Cape Town”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Seems like a local secret... with our feet in the sand we had the best pizza with a mojito...watching the evening fall... great relaxed place!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Enjoy a relaxing lunch near the beach while sipping away on chilled wines and eating some fab food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank juliharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“don't go on sundays !”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

just 2 weeks ago i had visited this restaurant and wrote a good review.this time it was awful. we had booked a table outside which we finally got, but oh boy ! the noise level inside was awful. the youngsters they let into the restaurant had been drinking since lunchtime ( i don't blame them!). so were merry and very loud. one of the boys did wear swim shorts and no shirt. the service took VERY long and the food was warm , not hot when served. sorry, they won't see me for a long time !!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelledHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Africa also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Clifton, Camps Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing