We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place..very friendly staff and beautiful location”
Review of Blue Views

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Views
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first visit to cape town and i have to say it will definitely not be my last! Blue views is an amazing place in a beautiful location within walking distance of the restaurants and bars of Camps Bay...the staff were excellent and the facilites catered to all our needs. I look forward to my next trip... i highly recommend blue views to anyone coming to cape town...this is where ill be staying on my next trip!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietteamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hi Juliette,

Thank you so much for you review.
We hope that your next trip to Cape Town will be soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Blue Views
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We returned to blue views yet again and stayed at "the House". this is a really great place for the family to enjoy our holiday, we were all very comfortable and it felt like home away from home, friendly and efficient staff.
The perfect location in a very quite neighborhood where the views were amazing, especially the sunsets, yet we were only a 10 minute walk from the vibey Camps bay and a 15 minute walk to the V&A waterfront. thank you for making our annual family holiday something to cherish.

Room Tip: spend time on the patio/ garden for amazing sunsets
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review Gregbubble, as always, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a stunning place!! Huge lovely rooms, gorgeous decor, SO RELAXING and a wonderful spot. AND THE VIEW. Wow.
It's only a short walk down to watch the sunset from the beach which we did every evening.
This was my first visit to Cape Town and my stay at these villas has made my visit so memorable and lovely.
Thank you so much Blue Views for a wonderful holiday. I will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EmmaP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Emma.
I hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our family stayed at 2 Blue Views properties for a week. It was 9 of us. The villas are very spacious and there was extra room for more! The first was down by the beach at Camps Bay. The villa was beautifully decorated and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The fridge had all the essentials and more, with everything well selected from fruits, bread, yummy cheeses, ham, etc. It's a short walk (2minutes) from the ocean.
The second time we stayed at an amazing villa with a beautiful view of the ocean. Both properties are walking distance from several restaurants and bars where you can also enjoy the view of the beach.
Both properties have a very sleek decoration, come with a pool and bbq area. The towels, linens and amenities are all beautifully selected.
The hairdryers are excellent. I always travel with a hairdryer but the ones at the villas are great! So no need to bring yours.
Blue Views also lent us bikes for biking in the area. They were happy to arrange a van for us which took us on day trips and out to dinner which helped a lot as it was one less thing to think about. They also arranged for a recommended university student to take care of our children while we went out a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear BGZ2013

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to having you back in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Will start with the setting--These beautiful villas steps from the ocean in Bakhoven (Camps Bay) are situated in one of the world's most magnificent settings, and in Cape Town's most charming and fashionable area. Each villa has its own distinct charecter, each individually appointed, and make you feel like your in your own private home (assuming you had a multi-million dollar home facing one of the most beautiful sea and mountain settings you will ever see). With the incredible 12 Apostles mountains uphill from the villas, and the sea on the other side, my family felt like they were situated in a breathtakingly beautiful meeting of land and sea.

The service is first class, and, again, makes you feel like you are in your own, well tended to home. Tony's attention to detail, and to personally ensuring that each guests enjoys the holiday of their dreams distinguishes even further this special place. The arrangements he and his staff made for us are too many to list, but included a first class van and driver for our entire stay, wonderful tours and lunches in wine country, day trips up the coast, and dinner reservations at Cape Town's finest restaurants. The Camps Bay area itself, besides its sheer beauty, is perfectly located between central Cape Town, Table Mountain, points east (such as the Cape of Good Hope), and wine country (Stellenbosch, Franshoeck, etc.).

In summary, I've travelled the world and stayed in some pretty special private homes in pretty special locations, and consider Blue Views in a class by itself. We are already planning our return. Well done Tony!

Room Tip: Each villa has its own character. Much will depend on the size required (2 BR to 7 BR). All have e...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear George,

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Blue Views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have travelled to many parts of the world but none of the other 4 cities often quoted as the most beautiful is truly as beautiful as Cape Town – and The Residence, at Blue Views, where we stayed tops our accommodation list.
To start - the welcome was wonderful. The rooms were magnificent and fully equipped with everything one could want, including dressing gowns, as in a top hotel, wi-fi and radios including i-pod docking station. (I have to have my music everywhere I go) There was also an English plug in case you could not find an adaptor. The living area was spacious and perfect for what we wanted and dressed with fresh protea – a really nice touch – and outside there was a barbeque and plenty of lounging chairs next to the pool. The scullery contained a dishwasher – but the divine cleaning staff came every day to load it for you – and a washing machine ( vital if you are staying for over a week, as we did) plus and a decent iron and ironing board and a remote controlled garage to park the car. ( but you do not need to hire a car as transport is easy to arrange.)
You can see all that in the online brochure but what you cannot see there is the wonderful and incredibly helpful staff, Lynne and Joy, who were exceptional, and larder crammed with tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits, jam and bread, fruit in a bowl on the table as well as the welcoming bottle of Cape champagne and milk in the fridge that was waiting for you when you arrived.
The location was perfect for us as we loved to walk to Clifton and back in the morning, along the rugged coast line with the sea crashing on to the rocks at Bakhoven, but gently lapping the shore along the beach at Camps Bay. Camps Bay, 7 mins walk, has many good restaurants but the one we loved most was The Codfather, with its fresh, fresh seafood. There was a lovely breakfast/ lunch café just over the road in Bakhoven called Just Bake with fabulous, freshly made croissants, baked on the premises, scrambled ( or other) eggs and bacon and freshly squeezed juices. Bakhoven Beach is a bijou and really lovely little beach and Camps Bay ( where they were filming Bay Watch!) offers an endless stretch of white sand. Take your choice.
One other thing was how totally safe we felt, which we were slightly unsure of before our arrival. Blue Views has 24 hour security, but unobtrusive, and we did not feel at all nervous going out and about or coming home at night. All together it was the greatest and most relaxing holiday we’ve had in years. Can’t wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirrus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sirrus2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We look forward to having you back at Blue Views soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have had the pleasure of staying with Blue Views and it seems that my experiences at their properties keep getting better and better. We stayed in 'The House' which is a very bright and airy place a minutes walk from the small, secluded beach and a short drive to the buzz and glamour of Camps Bay. The city proper is just a short drive up and over the mountain with all the delights that Cape Town has to offer.

The house is beautifully appointed in a carefully thought out afro-modern way, with all the luxuries, gizmos and gadgets you would come to expect from the excellent Blue Views team. There is ample space for friends and family to stay and mooch about the house, with a great garden for the odd barbecue (or braai rather) and a lovely little pool for the off cooling dip in the sun.

The real beauty of these properties is their location. Nestled behind the beach and rocks of Bakoven, it is a short hop and a skip to what I can only describe as one of the best sunsets you will see in the Cape, if not in Africa. With the 12 Apostles standing majestically behind you and the sun going down over the sea, this is a true treat for the senses. You must, at least once, go down and experience it.

In addition to the glorious surroundings and gorgeous property, the staff are fantastic. They are very accommodating, have a great eye for detail and greet with you with the warmest of smiles when ever you meet. They are the cherry on top of what is a really fantastic place to stay and I won't hesitate to come back the next time I have the privilege of being in that lovely corner of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SarahL2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownBlueViews, General Manager at Blue Views, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear SarahL2012_12,

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
1.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Views

Address: 5 Victoria Road | Bakoven, Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $47 - $1,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Views 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Views is ideally suited to those looking for an alternative to a 5 star hotel, but requiring the comfort, convenience and privacy of a luxury, fully equipped home or apartment in Cape Town's most fashionable and desirable area. All of our properties have access to a swimming pool (with the exception of Studio 1 and 2) and are located no further than 100 metres from either the secluded Bakoven beaches or the vibrant Camps Bay beachfront, with its world famous beach, restaurants and night life. Properties on offer cater for all tastes and requirements, and range from convenient one-bedroom apartments to spacious seven-bedroom villas, all equally luxurious yet distinctly different in terms of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Views Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing