We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent second stay”
Review of Atholl House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atholl House
Ranked #11 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Atholl House begin november for the second time. Once again, it was marvelous. The room and the garden with the beautiful view over the mountains and the sea were fantastic. Brendan is an excellent manager, always around when you need him. He gave us a lot of ideas of things we could do in the Cape Town area. We certainly take the same B&B when we visit Cape Town again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 303 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Atholl House for a week before our wedding after a recommendation and absolutely loved it! Brendan was amazing, so friendly and helpful! The views are incredible and the food is delicious. We stayed in the Onxy room and it was absolutely amazing! The views are unbelievable and it was the most relaxing thing to just lie on the bed and look out at the mountain and over the sea. The pool was lovely and we spent one afternoon just relaxing in the sun. The laundry was much more reasonable than any other hotel or guest house we have stayed in was on our bed that afternoon. We loved our time at Atholl House and will definitely be back next time we are in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_reuter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a place! Brendan and his team make us feel so special. We knew the house from a earlier stay but this time was even better. The rooms are all beautiful with fantastic views, comfortable beds and a modern design. A bottle bubbles for our anniversary was a nice attention.
We loved it all!!!! Kind regards team, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girl2Poppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This October we stayed at Atholl House for a few days and it was a truly AWESOME experience. Not only are the rooms gorgeous with superb views of the bay, the service by the Manager - Brendan is unmatched! Nothing was too big an ask and he made us feel so welcome! I was so sad to leave as it was so wonderful and relaxing. We will defiitley be back! Thank you Brendan for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nine of us stayed at Atholl house for a few days before a family wedding. This party included the bride and groom, a bridesmaid and an usher as well as relatives of varying ages. We all felt so at home that Atholl House became a haven from pre-wedding stress and manic activity, especially as we had all had long journeys out from the UK. The house, garden and swimming pool are so welcoming, the views to die for and food fabulous. Laundry was back almost before it left the room and Brendan quite amazing. He was even managing to book restaurants for us having been told that there were no tables available days after we had moved on to another location. Nothing was too much trouble - mini buses, lost keys, booking Table Mountain on-line while we had breakfast. Thank you so much for making our few days so relaxing. Amanda

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at Atholl House for a night a few weeks ago, and I can say hands down that it was one of the most hospitable, wonderful and accommodating places I have ever stayed at. Brendan was absolutely amazing and catered to our every need, and the B&B itself was simply gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and so comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the view was breathtaking. We will definitely return and I can highly recommend this spot to stay for a great time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A belated review but i felt i needed to add it. We fell in love with Cape Town, the food,scenery & Camps Bay. Atholl house is ridiculously nice, the rooms are spacious and the decor is superb. The location is the best for Cape Town, sea views and 10-15 minutes to all the Major Cape Sights. Brendan was so helpful for us it really made our stay what it was, he was our on call babysitter for breakfast and was very knowledgeable about the area and SA politics. We felt at ease at all times in the house and Brendan really made our stay enjoyable and after a week we really missed Brendan/The House/Tennis Bicsuits. In England guesthouses are always small /bland and smell of old people. Atholl house is the complete opposite and is 5 Star in every department.

My tips for Cape are to definitely go to the Biscuit Mill, the food there is to die for. Bo Kaap is interesting and the Noon canon is a great way to see Cape Town as you are at the top of the hill. Food wise the Hussar Grill is lovely. Brendan also reccomended a Pancake place in Franshoek which again was divine and i would do the drive just for that!!

Im sure we will go back to the Cape at some point and i would stay here again. Just reading this review again i realise how crap i am at writing reviews, we had a great Holiday n Cape Town and Atholl House really was the foundation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House

Address: 12 Atholl South Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $254 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Camps Bay Guest House consists of 5 stunning rooms, each decorated individually and tastefully. Each room in the guest house offers you spectacular views over the ocean and Camps Bay, the 12 Apostles and Lions Head, not forgetting Table Mountain. Unfortunately no children under the age of 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atholl House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl House Hotel Camps Bay
Atholl House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing