We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atholl House”
Review of Atholl House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atholl House
Ranked #13 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Atholl House for 8 fantastic days. We had never been to South Africa before and had no idea what to expect...we had a great room with wonderful views over the ocean..perfect for the sunset. Brendan and Katya made us feel so welcome, they were full of helpful advice and went above and beyond catering to our every request. Friends of ours were getting married in Camps Bay and the morning after we were greeted by a beautiful champagne breakfast to continue the celebrations. We were very sad to leave this wonderful place and we both hope to go back someday. The service was exceptional and the food wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nixjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Atholl Guest House for 2 nights in January. We LOVED this place and Brendan and Katya couldn't do enough for us!
The place was modern, very clean with breathtaking views across Camps Bay.
Breakfast was amazing and the home made apricot jam was my weakness!
We stayed in Onyx room which after having a nose in the other rooms was the best as it was the corner room and had both views of table mountain and the sea.
Even though its approx a ten min walk to the beach, we still drove and didn't fancy the hill on the way back.

Worth every penny and I would go back tomorrow if I could..

Room Tip: Onyx Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband booked atholl house as a surprise 50th birthday present for me. WOW what a wonderful time we had there. From the moment we arrived and was greeted by Katja it was truly fantastic. Our room was the onxy, really big and the views from it was breathtaking. There was champagne and roses and rose petels all compliments from Brendan. The views from it was breathtaking you could look out over the sea and see the mountain all from the bed. We had bathrobes and slippers and a very good minibar. Stocked with a great choice of wine and beers and water and all at a superb price. [Try the 75cl of red wine] Think it's the best room in the house.The cleanliness of the whole house was superb. Brendan even organised the airport transfers, had a restaurant and taxi booked for us for the first night. He was trully a perfect host and was always there to help and give advice.He greeted us every morning and cooked us our breakfast [the array of choice was excellent].
My husband sure got the location and accomodation perfect. The pool and garden was very nice, lovely little places to sit in the shade when it got too hot and believe me it did. Brendan even brought us down iced water to cool us down. We stayed there for 10 nights and done the open top bus twice, Robben island, table mountain from which we walked back and we did a private wineland tour with Clive . He was the most sincere knowledgeable man we ever met. So our tour was a whole array of interesting facts and information about capetown. Thanks Clive.
Camps Bay's Restaurants were fantastic and easy to walk downhill to and we walked back but only sometimes. Try zenzero, The huzzar grill, and tropical beach for great food and service.
If your reading this review hope it is usefull, and go on and book this wonderful House. Make your dream become a reality you won't be disappointed.

A sincere thanks to Brendan, Katja and the staff for making our holiday PERFECT.

Room Tip: The onxy room, spacious, a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Atholl House for four nights and could not have been more pleased. We were in the beautiful Onyx room, and the views were stunning with the large corner windows and balcony. We were in town for our son's wedding and were trying to mix wedding events with sight seeing. Brendan could not have been more helpful and accommodating with directions, recommendations and just generally jumping in to help wherever and whenever we needed it. the breakfasts were outstanding with omelettes (made to order), lots of home baked breads, pastries, fresh fruits, etc. etc. We met Katya on our last day; she was also delightful and a wonderful cook as well. We definitely recommend Atholl House and look forward to staying there when we visit our new relatives in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have wonderful views; we especially liked Onyx where we stayed with views of both t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyeur122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Both Sue and I can only praise the magic service given to us by the team at Atholl House.Both Katya and particularly Brendan were always a pleasure to be with and have around.We stayed in the Saphire room , quiet ,calm and perfectly private.
The Atholl house property itself could not offered me ( 1st time SA tourist with my Camps bay local wife ) a better introduction to Capetown.Views both mountain and sea, and so gratefully near to everything we wanted.Positioned just back from the beachfront, it was a welcome retreat from the daily pace.Clean and plentiful in all regards ,patio and pool to die for.Congratulations on a truly divine property.Thank you.

Room Tip: We particularly loved the room we had. The Saphire room,with a nearly private patio , pool to room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 teenage children , we had a lovley warm welcome. Our thanks to Brendan and Katya who were great hosts , nothing was too much trouble .Our rooms were stunning with amazing views of Camps Bay .
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice .We will cetainly return on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

If Carling did guest houses.....Nothing was too much trouble for Brendan and Katya. Stayed here with our 2 teenage lads and we couldn't have felt more at home or welcome. The view from our room on Camps Bay from one window and Table Mountain from the other was just amazing. Lovely breakfast, gorgeous patio and pool. What more could you want!!

Room Tip: Onyx has the dual views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique @ 10
Boutique @ 10
#1 of 54 in Camps Bay
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House

Address: 12 Atholl South Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $202 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Camps Bay Guest House consists of 5 stunning rooms, each decorated individually and tastefully. Each room in the guest house offers you spectacular views over the ocean and Camps Bay, the 12 Apostles and Lions Head, not forgetting Table Mountain. Unfortunately no children under the age of 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Atholl House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl House Hotel Camps Bay
Atholl House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing