We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Camps Bay Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camps Bay Glen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ( a couple ) ages 38 & 68 were in Cape Town just before Christmas 2012 for nearly 3 weeks and stayed for most of our stay at Campsbayglen -- Life is what you make it and this depends on what makes you as an individual tick and also how much you want to pay to achieve your aims!! if you are looking for 5 star luxury accommodation this is not the place for you , but if your looking for a place to stay away from the crowds ,comfortable, quiet with a pool -trees for shade and hammocks etc with excellent WIFI and that is good value compared to other locations we looked at - THIS COULD BE THE PLACE FOR YOU - prior to booking our stay we of course read all the reviews on this place and many others
Most of the reviews on Campsbayglen are our opinion are just about right - it is not perfect and some things could be improved ( we left a small list ) but having traveled over a lot of the world,I think that this can be said for most places that one stays as a tourist and unless of course you are going to pay top dollar for 5 star and if you are reading this your not expecting to - its very good value . If you have any questions I would suggest you do as I did contact him direct on email or phone him direct - Cheap way to do this below
Regarding security -yes it does have a gate and some security wire but do not let these remarks put you off at all,the old saying applys BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY Most places we found in Cape Town and all the other areas have the same or a lot more security and I can only state as we found It .The area is very safe as it seems it is in Camps Bay in general and we did not feel insecure at anytime . During our stay we were in both studios (and the main house ) which Mark let us use for a couple of nights as it was empty
Each studio different to the other each one more than adequate although our favorite was studio C great for 2 people . Campsbayglen has a lot going for it and is also within walking distance of Camps Bay ,I noticed some idiot in one review complained it was an up hill walk on the way back --its next to a bloody mountain!! so dont walk - drive or get a cab!! The owner Mark is great guy and very helpful as are the staff Isac ( who is always happy ) and Bulelwa -happy and helpful any problems tell them and they will get them sorted out with Mark. All in all a very good place to stay - just an after thought - Cape Town and Camps Bay as a holiday is great everywhere very clean and good service ( like the UK used to be ) - great resturaunts and we are going back again next year and also if you have to phone back to the UK as I did for business -forget Skyp ( rubbish ) and download to your mobile or tablet - VOIP 007 and use on WIFI only - very reliable and VERY cheap. .If you are going Mossel Bay contact Links2 guest house - Amazing place !! Hope this review helps if you need anymore ask Mark for my email Carl & Monica -London UK

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    5
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a wonderfull place to stay. Friendly people who are always there if you need help,
The appartement are clean and give you everything you need.
There is a lovely swimmingpool with such a nice view on the ocean.

The location was nice, In a very safe neigherhoud, the appartement itself are also very well secured. Close to the beach and the strip of Camps Bay where you can find all the restaurants and the taxi's to the city centre of CT.

In short, i would go back anytime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leonie35448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Campsbayglen is one of the nicest places we have holidayed as a family. We are two adults and two boisterous boys (6 and 8), so we appreciated the spaciousness. The property has several different areas: the (large) bedrooms, the kitchen/dining room area, the deck, the pool and the river site. The overall feel is slightly rustic, with a lot of soul and good energy: it does not (thankfully) give the impression of being a hyper-modern, yuppie apartment like others we saw in Camps Bay, but instead feels like someone's much-loved home. I'd also like to point out that the security systems were well thought-out, and made us feel safe without being in any way intrusive. Finally, I'll add that the caretaker and cleaning staff were fantastic--very efficient and super-friendly, and the owner was extremely helpful, welcoming and professional. I wish we were back on the deck now, watching the sunset! But that will have to wait for next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TerryRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've been in Campsbayglen in August. Even if it was winter, the room was well warmed. You have also a wonderful view of the sea from the balcony. Staff were very friendly! And the price was very reasonable. The sea is 500m far from the room. A great value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Riccardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The level of security is enough to frighten you alone. To gain entry you have to unlock a metal gate then unlock an inner gate which gives you access to a small courtyard. This has razor wire on top of the high wall. Then a double lock on the access door. Once inside there is an armed response panic button by the bed.
The two patio doors in the bedroom had pull to metal grid doors as you would find in an old style lift secure yes but it felt like you were in a prison. To be fair there were high levels of security in the area.
Overall it had a well used seedy feel but then the price was very reasonable.
The pool area felt like it needed a good clean with many dead insects floating on the surface of the water. We did not use the pool during our stay
Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabletopmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me and my friend had a wonderful two-week-stay at camps bay glen. It was a perfect start on our 6 months of exchange studies here in cape town! The location is perfect, only a 10min walk to the beach, and 15min to the city center of Cape Town by car.
The staff was really nice, Isaak the gardener was really warm and friendly and Bulelwa the housekeeper did a superb job in keeping the house neat and tidy every weekday (she really folded the clothes we left lying around, and if we didn't have time to do the dishes, she did them for us.) Mark, the owner, is a really cool person with a lot of interesting things to tell about Cape town and what to do here, and about life in general!

It is possible to contact him at their web site and to book from there:
www.campsbayglen.co.za

Camps bay glen is a perfect place to live while you're spending wonderful days in cape town if your looking for a relaxing place. Chill in the hammocks and swim in the pool after a day of adventure, while you're enjoying the sun set - it can't be better than that!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bjoernar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

While visiting Cape Town for my daughter's graduation from UCT in June, we stayed at Campsbayglen for three nights. We stayed in Studio A. It was perfect for the 3 of us. We entertained friends for dinner each night as we did not want to leave this amazing place. The deck was so spacious and the view of the sunsets over the ocean was spectacular. It was cool at night so we enjoyed our dinner inside in the spacious dining area along with a roaring fire in the fireplace. We had some initial issues with cable as the guys wanted to watch soccer. Mark came over and took care of the problem himself. We have stayed at other places in Camps Bay, but found Campsbayglen to have so much more character with amazing views. We will definitely be back in the summer so that we can enjoy the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Streatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Views
Blue Views
#1 of 32 in Camps Bay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Glen

Property: Camps Bay Glen
Address: 40 Rottingdean Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camps Bay Glen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsbayglen is a little gem on the edge of a nature reserve "Glen". A beautiful rustic, down to earth natural setting with a unique river & wild waterfalls flowing through the garden that has a leafy green forest feel at the river which is a great place to cool down after the heat and sun of the pool area. We also have a rustic hammock lounge at the giant pool to laze around in and relax and with sun beds around the pool. There is an easy walk to the beach and to do Table mountain hikes. An exquisite and unique feel of nature and beauty is Campsbayglen. we are a rustic earthy place with no Stars. We try to give a sense of maximum privacy by breaking the garden and pool areas into different parts and places for people. We even have a sleeper day bed over the river. Book the whole house or go for a self catering studio. THERE ARE 3 INDEPENDENT, Own Entrance self catering studio Apartments,- Each is fully equipped for self catering and with own toilet shower & toilet. STUDIO A - MAIN HOUSE. Has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & kitchen and lounge and its best space is the huge terrace with sea views. Studio B and C are smaller & ideal for couples or small family's or friends. See the pictures. Best rates are through our official Campsbayglen website direct. I do give discounts & will happily advise on travel. I am a fanatical lover of nature and know a lot about South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camps Bay Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Glen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing