We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camps Bay prices at back-packer quality”
Review of Camps Bay Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camps Bay Glen
St Remy de Provence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Camps Bay prices at back-packer quality”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in Studio B - Lisa for 6 nights. It was poorly equipped with home-made furniture and a maze of electrical wires - see photo. Anyone who gives a 5-point rating (and there are many), lives on another planet. The studio was scruffy rather than dirty. The shower room had tiles overpainted in brown and white paint! The garden furniture seems to have been cobbled together with driftwood. The barbecue facilities were terrible - in the land of the braii! - they could not be made to function properly. Bearing in mind the appallingly difficult and dangerous steps to our studio, with no handrail, the obligatory signed waiver against any claims whatsoever should be considered very carefully. Whilst some people seemed entirely pleased with this mediocrity, I have never seen a visitors' book with so many adverse comments, none of which seem to have been acted upon. Clearly the proprietors do not care to address these issues. On the plus side the pool is great, the view to the sea is magic as is the garden itself. The feeling of a crazy, jungly garden is quite fun.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scirocco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    5
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Mark's place (Apartment A) 2 years in a row over New Year and what we like most is that you are very close to Campsbay's beach, restaurants, ... with all the buzz - but once you sit on the terasse at the glen, it feels like you are in the wilderness, with a beautiful view on the ocean!
Sure, you can't compare the rooms and the kitchen to the 5star hotels around, but the price is also not comparable ... ;-)
Keep up the good work, Mark!

Room Tip: Apartment A has the big terasse, which dominates the pictures :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ulrich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

After the initial unfavourable comparison with other places we'd stayed prior to this, we quickly grew to love this quirky place and felt very safe and at home. Mark, the owner, was very friendly and Bulelwa kept the place spotless and did a huge amount of laundry for a very good price. We did not use the outside area enough but it was well equipped and had lovely views.You need a car to stay here but we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week in February and had stayed in a couple of outstanding properties in the North of S Africa, so initially we were comparing properties and looking at ways of making improvements here.
But then we quickly realised, from reading the guestbook, that opinion is divided and that you can't please everyone all the time, as we all have our own tastes. So does the colour of the walls and the chunkiness of the shelves really affect your holiday? The answer of course is no.!

What does matter is the spaciousness of the property (studio A) the lovely outdoor terrace and pool and the efficiency and helpfulness of the cleaning staff.

On day 1 Bulelwa did a mountain of washing and ironing for us at a very reasonable rate.

Our only regret is that we didn't make enough use of the outdoor area, mainly because there is so much to do in this area that we were out most of the time.

We would gladly stay here again and plan to do so in future

One tip for others--- it is easy enough to walk into Camps Bay from here but as it's uphill all the way back, , you wouldn't want to carry a big shopping load, so a car is essential .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The rooms are a bit shabbier than they look in the photos, but we still had a pleasant experience at campsbayglen. The swimming pool and stunning location make up for the dated rooms. I appreciate places like this who offer the traveler the chance to stay in a beautiful location without charging you a fortune. We were left to just get on with things, which is how we like it. No people waiting on you hand and foot, or bothering you with things like having to make your bed everyday. It felt like we had rented a house for a few days. Unpretentious, and charming. What you see is what you get. The best option for those on a budget. What an amazingly beautiful part of the world. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank doll84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at campsbayglen for 8 days in Jan. 2012.
Mark and the team at Campsbayglen has done a remarkable job of making this guesthouse a beautiful, private and laid back oasis just 10 min. from central Cape Town and 3 min. from the buzzing Camps Bay strip.
Complete with a Mexican vibe pool area overlooking the sea, to small private braai (bbq) dining areas with absolute privacy.
All scattered in between the beautiful vegetation and small stream running through the garden.
Great with kids!

Thanks to Mark, Isak and Bulelwa for making our stay so amazing!!

Jens, Aicha and Adam.
Copenhagen, Denmark.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We´ve stayed in the big studio a with two families (4 adults, two babies) and loved it! A lot of space, rustic and charming interiors, a huge terrace with hammocks and a great pool area.
What we loved most about it though is that it is the opposite of what you normally expect in Camps Bay. Not a phoney place at all, but very individual.
From the terrace you can see no other houses, no streets - just green trees and the ocean. Absolutely quiet, safe and you can beautifully see the setting sun from the terrace.
The owner Mark is fantastic and helped us with every question we had. It almost felt like visiting a friend...
Don´t think twice - you´ll be amazed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaddielBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
1.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
1.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Glen

Property: Camps Bay Glen
Address: 40 Rottingdean Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camps Bay Glen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsbayglen is a little gem on the edge of a nature reserve "Glen". A beautiful rustic, down to earth natural setting with a unique river & wild waterfalls flowing through the garden that has a leafy green forest feel at the river which is a great place to cool down after the heat and sun of the pool area. We also have a rustic hammock lounge at the giant pool to laze around in and relax and with sun beds around the pool. There is an easy walk to the beach and to do Table mountain hikes. An exquisite and unique feel of nature and beauty is Campsbayglen. we are a rustic earthy place with no Stars. We try to give a sense of maximum privacy by breaking the garden and pool areas into different parts and places for people. We even have a sleeper day bed over the river. Book the whole house or go for a self catering studio. THERE ARE 3 INDEPENDENT, Own Entrance self catering studio Apartments,- Each is fully equipped for self catering and with own toilet shower & toilet. STUDIO A - MAIN HOUSE. Has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & kitchen and lounge and its best space is the huge terrace with sea views. Studio B and C are smaller & ideal for couples or small family's or friends. See the pictures. Best rates are through our official Campsbayglen website direct. I do give discounts & will happily advise on travel. I am a fanatical lover of nature and know a lot about South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camps Bay Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Glen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing