We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty place, Health and safety issues.”
Review of Camps Bay Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camps Bay Glen
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The house has 3 apartments A,B and C. We stayed at apartment C. The first night we could also use the dek from apartment A. Mark is a friendly guy. The pictures on the internet look fantastic but these are from a long time a go. Lets start with safety. To get in apartment C you have to open 4 locks on 3 different doors which means in case of a fire you have to the same to get out. The steps down to the garden and pool were dangerous espesially if you have kids or a suitecase or both with you. To get to apartment B you have to take these steps and you have go trough the sittingarea of apartment C. We saw a family with to small children struggling to get down and up. Lets go to health. The apartments A and C were increadible dirty. The bathrooms were full with mold. In apartment C you enter the bathroom through the kitchen. You can not close the door from the bathroom completely.Bathroomsize was 2 meter by 0.7 meter. Try to shower in a 0.7 by 0.7 shower. The floors in the apartments were concrete an the last time someone cleaned these was probably in the last century. The kitchen in apartment C was selfmade as lots of furniture in this place, probably also in the last century. The place however has potential but neads renovating. The last day Mark was asking if we liked the place and we answered, NO. He said that he bought a steamclaener but that it was broke. This place is a shame for Camps Bay. He is better off turning it in to a cheap backpackers.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lioged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 138 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

If youre looking for something extra ordinary and away from posh Hotels close with nature , thats your place . You can unwind and live like a local . We enjoyed having our own balcony and were able to stroll around the area . Pool and the selfmade furniter are pretty cool . Thanks to Mark ! We stayed at Apartment C and loved the surroundings . The house is easy to find and close to Camps Bays beaches and Cafes .

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank am267992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A friend of mine from the Czech Republic recently came to visit me in South Africa, for the 6th time. We decided to do Cape Town and Camps Bay as her visit was short and we didnt want to spend too much time travelling. We've always had good experiences with accommodation in De Waterkant Village however, this time my judgement was 'off' and it turned out to be a disappointment. My friend had booked Campsbay Glen via the internet and kept telling me not to worry, that she was very optimistic about it. Mark, the owner had been very friendly and very helpful. In order to make sure all would be well he called her whilst she was still in the Czech Republic to ensure that all would be fine upon our arrival as he couldn't be there himself to welcome us. I remained a little pesimistic but there we went. Upon arrival at Campsbay Glen, our our spirits hit the roof! What a cool place! We got Studio A. The kitchen is fully equipped. Usually at holiday rentals of this type, one would find a fully equipped kitchen but it would always be sort of standard - this kitchen had a little more than 'standard'. Spacious in such a manner that people can be around when one is cooking without getting in the way and cooking utensils in abundance. The Dining sitting room is huge and pure joy. There is wi-fi, TV with satellite, fantastically comfortable sofa and chairs, a 8 seater dining room table and a little portable radio for when one needs accompaniment when lazing down at the sparkeling blue swimming pool whilst someone else does the BBQ-ing on the upper deck. To finish off the sitting area, there is a fireplace in the corner for stormy weather nights. Opening the sliding doors one walks out onto a large wooden deck. Hammocks and another large 'dining'-table makes the deck the perfect chill out spot for haning out, reading a book, BBQ-ing, falling asleep in the sun or just staring at the ocean. On the deck there is an outdoor bath and shower. I'm a shower person and thoroughly enjoyed taking it there every morning. It is closed off from the rest of the deck in such a manner that one can take that bath or shower in private. The bedrooms both have sliding doors that open onto the deck which, when the doors are open gives the impression that the whole of Studio A is one large open air house. The deck looks down onto the pool area and stone steps lead one down to the heaven which awaits 'below'. I can go on and on about the place only one last word. At no time did we feel not secure. And at the same time we never felt imprisoned. We met the owner and some of the staff. They were very friendly. A lot of Mark’s continuous hard work in building the place is to be seen in the places character. Will return. No doubt. Ideal for families and small groups...unless you want to rent all the studios.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cronje L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

As part of our College program we had a semester-abroad-kind-of-thing in Cape Town for 6 weeks. Thus we had to find an accommodiation and found the perfect one with campsbayglen.

It looks underplayed from the outside, but once you stepped in, you are in a complete different world with an unbelievable view from the balcony (you can actually see the pool, ocean and sun going down at the same time; check pictures). Also there are no neighbourhouses blocking that amazing view.
There might be more luxurary accommodiations in camps bay, but campsbayglen definately is the most comfortable one. There are different kinds of hammocks all over the place. Even right above the pool there is one. If you are not much into chilling in hammocks, there is always a deck chair around.
Oh, and you wanna have a braai? there are like 5 braai places all over the accommodiation.

Also Bulelwa, the housekeeper, is a genius. She made our stay really comfortable. Everytime we arrived back in campsbayglen from our language school (around noon) the place looked like on the first day of our arrival. Mark, the owner of the place, also is a genius. He was our connection to all the stuff going on in and around cape town. Always had a good advise in mind and he was always concerned about us having a great time. He even organized a mountainbike tour for us and showed us all the good places in cape town. He was not only a landlord for us, but also a friend.

Check out the pictures to get a better idea of the place

cheers
Nick

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quick_Nick_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

What a fabulous value for money place to stay. We were 4 couples and one child, stayed for 3 nights and rented Studio A and B, which are interleading. Staff were very friendly and even went out to buy extra glasses when told we were hosting a small party for friends on the Sunday afternoon. We will definately stay there again in the future. Clean, light, well-equiped, safe, comfortable, good location.

Room Tip: Studio A is fabulous for a family as one has the exclusive use of the deck which has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notcontrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Myself and a friend stayed for 4 nights in Studio B in this wonderful place. First impressions were good as we managed to meet Bulelwa and Mark (Owner) who were both welcoming and accomodating!

As we booked late Studio B was the only available room, it was perfect! The room is spacious enough for 2 beds, has everything you require and being the Garden Unit it is very private with the doors opening out onto the Pool/Garden. In the evening we experienced some spectacular views of the sun going down!

Would highly recommend climbing Lions Head - its not too difficult a walk and has stunning Views. Also if you fancy a few beers then pop over to the Dubliner on Long Street.

Every morning Mark would attend to the pool and pop into see how we are doing. If you are visiting Cape Town for the first time then ask Mark for information as he is has a wealth of knowledge of the area and is more than happy to help! Mark recommended we climb Lions Head before Table Mountain (we did both the same day which was tough going). He also arranged for us to go Kloofing down Suicide Gauge!

Overall we had a great 4 nights, would have loved to of stayed longer. The room was great as was the hospitality of Mark and Bulelwa! Cape Town and Camps Bay are such beautiful places. Would definatly recomment Camps Bay Glen to any type of traveller as it suits all needs.

I look forward to visiting again and am already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I booked the Andre studio thinking that it would be a relaxing place to stay - boy was I mistaken...

From the minute we arrived, we didn't feel comfortable. Firstly, there are bars, gates, locks, barbed wire surrounding the house making it appear like a prison. Even though it is a private house, others in the area seemed not so secured. Once we got inside our room, this feeling of being 'locked up' was again evident by the white bars all over the windows. Reading the welcome pack, and being told to constantly lock all the doors and bars all the time, it became clear that the owner felt a need to segregate himself away from the 'undesirables ' in Capetown. He spoke of how Africa was a poor place and mentioned how desperate people were. After being in several townships, slums and having experienced the area generally, I felt this was a paranoid, bigoted and unjustified attitude. It was his own safety that was of most importance to him, not ours. In actual fact, the security in the house actually made us feel that there WAS something to be frightened of which ultimately is a self-fulfilling prophecy. I had a taste of the owner's nature actually before I arrived as even though he had been given our flight time in advance, and a follow up email informing him of our arrival time, he then sent another email before our arrival DEMANDING to know the precise time of our arrival before trying to smooth it over by then offering a taxi service to bring us there quicker. A wolf in sheep's clothing springs to mind...

Something which really alarmed us was the 'guest registration' sheet that we had to sign when we arrived which basically said 'even though you are protected by law reference accidents, death etc, that by signing, you agree to waiver your rights' - in other words - he would not be held responsible if we had an accident in the property so you could not sue him. I feel this is a terrible attitude to adopt. Finally, it was made clear that he wanted the balance paid upon arrival so once you were in, you were in. Unfortunately for me, I had paid up front before we arrived. He literally covered his back with everything and let nothing to chance. (I have photographic evidence of all this nonsense to hand). By the end of the stay we were starting to feel very oppressed, even to the point where we were starting to have character alterations.

Noise levels: we had the terrible misfortune to be right next door to the main house in which 5-6 yobbos were staying at the same time. I could go on and on about the hassle we had with them but suffice to say they were so rowdy, selfish and aggressive towards us that we had to phone the police at one point and contact the owner who came round the next morning to try and resolve matters. The police never showed up - think they have frequent complaints from this address. There is an adjoining door within this studio to that of the main house and their kitchen was adjacent to ours; owing to this, you literally hear everything (see photo). Yes, the walls were paper thin, but all we heard was persistent talking, shouting, banging and grunting day and night from them which travelled throughout the rest of the studio. I actually think that one of the guests had 'problems' as he literally could not be quiet in any sense. In general, the guests next door had no regard for others. The worst of it was the shouting outside our window at 2.30am which woke us up and the circling of us around the pool (territorial behaviour) a few days in to our stay. There literally was no escape from them. Thankfully, we were out sightseeing most of the time however once you returned, you wished you hadn't bothered. It wasn't just us complaining either. Once the 2nd set of people arrived downstairs in studio B (Lisa, I think?), the Americans, on their first night, came upstairs and knocked on the main house and asked them to be quiet - I dread to think what's gone on since. They would have heard them shouting on the balcony and around the pool area - there literally is no escape from that main house and the noise it emits. Rather than seeking to protect the inside from outside, I think more emphasis should have been securing the inside...

When we got home, due to having limited battery power as our adaptor wouldn't work in Capetown and being unable to check emails) there was a 'considerate' email from the owner, sent 3 days in to our stay, saying that he could move us elsewhere due to potential noise from the house - there was no 'elsewhere' as the other studio downstairs was occupied the entirety of our stay by 2 separate parties. This behaviour can only be described as 'calculating' on part of the owner who was yet again, covering his own back knowing there was a problem emerging. We imagaine that he had already been informed by someone that we were having difficulties with the neighbours following the 2.30am arousal.

I daresay that because the main house accommodates 5-6 people; given the location and cheap cost, this main house would appeal to younger people so you potentially could have this issue again with rowdy yobbos. This is the same for our studio, Andre, as it can accommodate up to 4 people so potentially there is always a situation ready to happen - perhaps this is why in the welcome pack, the owner tells you to ring the police if you are having bother with the neighbours - clearly he wants nothing to do with matters in the house.

Next point: Andre is advertised as having a private balcony - this is true in one sense but not in another. The window that you see in the photo of the balcony belongs to the main house so they could see you on the balcony. Secondly, there are stairs running down the side of it to the pool so again, not private as anyone could walk down it once they were through the gates (see photo).

Another criticism: the stairs down to the pool from our side were quite dangerous as they were quite steep and there was no handrail - not recommended for older people (see photo). When you think if you'd signed your waiver agreement and you'd fallen...

Good points (yes, there are some!) Nicely decorated and comfortable interior. Nice swimming pool. 20 minutes walk down the road and you hit the city sightseeing bus stop for Camps Bay and supermarkets, cafes etc. 5 minutes up bank from house and there is a 7-11 store.

Final note: if you were going to stay here, I would say, rent the entire house out (studios A, B and C) then the only noise you'd hear would be your own. Having said that, there is an awful lot more wrong with the place than just noise as I have illustrated so I would probably look elsewhere for accommodation...

Room Tip: Rent the entire house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XenaWarriorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Views Holiday Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Villa Atlantica Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Glen

Address: 40 Rottingdean Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $59 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camps Bay Glen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsbayglen is a little gem on the edge of a nature reserve "Glen". A beautiful rustic, down to earth natural setting with a unique river & wild waterfalls flowing through the garden that has a leafy green forest feel at the river which is a great place to cool down after the heat and sun of the pool area. We also have a rustic hammock lounge at the giant pool to laze around in and relax and with sun beds around the pool. There is an easy walk to the beach and to do Table mountain hikes. An exquisite and unique feel of nature and beauty is Campsbayglen. we are a rustic earthy place with no Stars. We try to give a sense of maximum privacy by breaking the garden and pool areas into different parts and places for people. We even have a sleeper day bed over the river. Book the whole house or go for a self catering studio. THERE ARE 3 INDEPENDENT, Own Entrance self catering studio Apartments,- Each is fully equipped for self catering and with own toilet shower & toilet. STUDIO A - MAIN HOUSE. Has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & kitchen and lounge and its best space is the huge terrace with sea views. Studio B and C are smaller & ideal for couples or small family's or friends. See the pictures. Best rates are through our official Campsbayglen website direct. I do give discounts & will happily advise on travel. I am a fanatical lover of nature and know a lot about South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camps Bay Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Glen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing