We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I spent a week with my family at the guesthouse. Each day was better than the last. Nannette was friendly, helpful and well informed - nothing was too much trouble. As always, she went out of her way to see that we had a good time. Each time I return confirms my opinion that Twenty Seven On First is without a doubt the best place to stay in Cape Town!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 614 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2009

This is a great B&B in a lovely spot - quiet but close enough to the gorgeous Camps Bay to walk down to the beach or for drinks, dinner, etc... although the hill on the way back is a bit of a killer! The terrace is a perfect place to sit and have a glass of wine (from the honesty bar) and watch the sun go down. There is also a very comfortable guest sitting room at the front of the building with sea views.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and really helped make my stay excellent - one of them even called her Dad for advice on which hiking trails were safest for a lone woman (me).

I really liked my room, unusually for a B&B it had a sofa in the room which was nice as I was on my own and having somewhere to sit and read in comfort which wasn't a bed felt like a luxury. I also had access to the garden at the back with a view of the back of Table Mountain. At first I wished I had paid a bit more for a sea view room but there is plenty of space to sit out at the terrace at the front and look at the sea so ultimately, I was glad I had the more spacious room with the garden.

Overall, I would highly recommend Twenty Seven on First!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here in December 2008 after an awesome trip touring South Africa. This was going to be the final stop and we had expectations of luxury (or at least some pampering) given the price. Unfortunately this was not to be.

This is an interesting property as it's actually two buildings linked together - not necessarily with a huge amount of fore thought. It's a real shame as the view is great and the potential is higher than what is being achieved. This place is fine for a few nights but don't consider it for an extended stay.

The issue with the place is that it is targeting the premium end of the market yet it is skimping on far too many items to be taken seriously. This is an expensive place for what you're getting (I put up with the price for the lcoation but if you have a choice you can do far better).

1.) Service: somewhere between non existent and disinterested / inattentive. Good luck getting served at breakfast, unless you walk into the kitchen yourself;

2.) Rooms: where do I start! these are cramped, a mixture of cheap fittings with a few expensive OTT furnishings (which don't work together), cheap LCD TV on a limited subscription (so nothing to watch) - on a sunny day this is irrelevant however when rainy it's a different story, standby lights on everything so there are alot of lights when you're trying to sleep, the air con needs attention (ours sounded like something was coming through the wall) and the room fridge (and I use that word loosely) is useless. Also be aware that whilst Camps Bay is stunning it is also prone to strong winds coming down from the mountain - this rattled the sliding door to the extent that it must have been close to coming off! this comes back to the finish of the place;

3.) breakfast: getting service is difficult. This is only beaten, in terms of frustration, by the lack of selection at breakfast;

4.) General: in certain respects this place felt like a "prison". This is due to the number of doors/ security doors. As an example you need to unlock 4 doors just to get to your room. This was extremely annoying. You need to unlock another door to get to breakfast and another to get onto the terrace (and if you've left your keys somewhere - as only one set per room - then you'll be locked out as the doors are self shutting behind you).

5.) The owner, was unwelcoming & her attempts at conversation seemed false. Her treatment of her staff was unpleasant - she was constantly shouting at them whilst seemingly incapable of lifting a finger to help out.

There are definitely better places!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelling_journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This property is actually two buildings linked together. It offers amazing views out to the sea and the patio is perfect to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine in hand.

It's positioned as a premium B&B but I felt it lacked finesse to fully justify this claim. To get to my room involved unlocking 4 (often stiff) doors which quickly turned into a real hassle.

My room itself felt like it hadn't been finished properly (there was still a strong smell of paint), nor had any thought really been given to the layout. On the one hand you had a lovely (and very comfortable bed), expensive curtains along with a cheap, poor quality wardrobe. Also, the room had so many power lights flickering from the fridge/AC unit, that at night the room was always quite bright - not great for sleeping.

A LCD flatscreen is provided in the room, however the property has only subscribed to a budget TV plan which meant there was basically nothing to watch!

The room included a patio with a great view, but to enjoy this you had no option but to sit on badly rusted seating which left marks on your clothes. Also, I was somewhat surprised to see that the bedding was being dried on the grass in the garden. While this may be environmentally sound, I'm not keen on the idea of insects walking all over the bedding.

Breakfast was very standard fare - nothing of note. The wi-fi never worked during the stay.

Overall, this property has great potential, but needs more work to achieve premium status.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in the ‘Sea View’ room. A new modern building with an open plan living room/dining area on the first floor. Our bedroom was spacious and also included a walk in wardrobe. Sliding security doors lead directly out on to a shared terrace with sun beds and other comfortable seating. There was also a small pool. A fridge containing an honesty bar was located behind the pool. Fantastic views out over the sea (sundowners and sunsets!!), northwards over to Lion’s Head and behind impressive views of the Twelve Apostles and the upper Cable Station on Table Mountain.

Nannette who ran and lived in the Guest House was more than willing to suggest and make restaurant reservations (both in Camp’s and in Cape Town city centre which is only a 10 minute taxi ride away). Good breakfasts, basically anything you wanted, hot or cold.
The Guest House is about a 5 minutes walk up the slope from the beach and restaurants just off Camp’s Bay Drive, far enough away to avoid the mayhem which descends on Camp’s particularly over the weekends. We felt comfortable walking to and from the beach front during the day and then down to the restaurants early evening although tended to take a taxi back up to the Guest House late at night. One note about taxis, we tried to use one of the taxis from the rank on the beach front to go to a restaurant on the City side, and to cut a long story short we never got there…so try and use the taxi company used and booked through the Guest House as they are a known quantity.

Camp’s Bay has a beautiful beach although remember the water is The Atlantic and is cold!
Would we stay at ’27 On First’ again?......definitely!

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank Mark&Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para o mar oferecem um por de sol cinematografico
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lilian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank _munna_schuetze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 1st Crescent, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $128 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 16 bedroom guesthouse offers a quiet retreat close to Camps Bay beach. Magnificent sea and mountain views. Within easy walking distance to the famous Camps Bay beach, with its trendy restaurants, shops and sidewalk cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel Camps Bay
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel And Spa
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing