We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic House
Ranked #20 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a little bit of heaven to escape from it all. The rooms are beautifully furnished and I had a garden room with a lovely terrace and outdoor shower - the whole place was ultimately very calming. The pool area was also beautiful and we had it to ourselves - no one else seemed to be around so this was even better. The breakfast is good quality and the service is fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. This was pure luxury and quite nice to be away from the crowds down on the seafront although a taxi / car is preferable here. It is c 10mins walk down to the front which is ok but quite steep hills on the way back - not ideal for the elderly! Taxi's are two a penny on the front though so this is not a problem and it is certainly worth it for the peace and quiet! I would certainly recommend this and would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and it is nice to know we played a part in that!
We would love to have you back and look forward to welcoming you in the future should you be in Cape Town again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
83
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have recently returned from South Africa and during our various stopover tour, Atlantic House ticked all the boxes.
It had great friendly service, superb clean rooms and a great location. It is a really safe residential area, a 10 minute walk into the trendy beach area.
Sally and the team were great, with nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent, with a really good choice and the pool area/loungers were superb. Look no further....
Thank you so much!!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnorfolk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review - much appreciated We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My family and I have just returned from 10 days in Cape Town, all I can say is WOW!! Cape Town itself is the most amazing place, so much to see and do and as for the food....well to see is to believe. The stay was made however by our accomodation. From the minute you are welcomed, and I do mean welcomed, in to the 'Hotel' you feel like you are staying in your own private villa. We stayed in the 'garden room' with a view of table mountain and my parents had an ocean facing room and both where amazing. Spotlessly clean and tidy...huge super comfy beds and all the conveniences you would want. The 'staff' where all superb..so friendly and helpfully you are almost made to feel like part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble...not even when we asked if we could use their kitchen to prepare our poolside picnic! Oooo and not forgetting the yummy breakfast which we had each morning. Be prapared though its a bit of a walk to the beach but then thats the way Camps Bay is laid out all the places to stay are up the Hill so no critisism of Atlantic house (I would always suggest a car in Cape Town as driving/parking are so easy and there is so much to see and do a car really does make the difference) Thanks again girls for helping to make our latest trip to Cape Town so awesome, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are superb, there are only 7! Ask for a balcony facing the bay if you want the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and compliments! It was a absolute pleasure having you all stay here with us - we glad we made it feel like home to youall. It is nice to know that we played a part in your memorable holiday to Cape Town. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had envisaged a couple of days by the beach, but this guest house was just a bit too far away for us, and we didn't have a car. Its a good 10 minute hike down to the seafront, and then longer back as its uphill and 30 degree heat. Its not a walk we wanted to do at night.
The guest house is clean and well run, although on a smaller plot than I expected. The ladies are very efficient and everything is kept in good order. The honesty bar is a very nice touch. The breakfast is made to order and very pleasant.
Coming from the UK, walking through the heavily armored residential area all around, did not do much for my peace of mind I'm afraid. We found the taxi drivers pretty hopeless. Sorry to be out of step with everyone else, but I certainly think you need to have a car if you stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to review Atlantic House. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodation, service and breakfasts. Sorry to hear the beach was too far for you. The whole of Camps Bay is on a hill. Our location is in a quiet residential area as to avoid the noise & traffic which is mainly on beachfront. We are only a 7minute stroll down to the beach and there are shorter cuts which you can take which will get you down quicker (about 5min). Coming uphill, we agree, is a bit steep and it is about a 12 minute walk, but there are numerous taxis on the beachfront which will bring you up for R50/R60. You definetly do need a car in South Africa to get around. Our transport infrastructure is not the same as Europe/overseas. Hope to see you in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 3 days at Atlantic House during our December 2013 holidays. From the start i.e. booking the rooms, all admin and e-mails were dealt with efficiently by Sally, Estene and Marochell. They afforded us an early check-in which was truly appreciated as we did not want to travel with a car full of luggage in Cape Town.
The B&B is well positioned in Camps Bay but not close enough to walk to the beach and restaurants.
The decor of the B&B is modern and has a beautiful "interior designer" feel. The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and spacious with all the amenities one would need. The bar fridge has a variety of wines, beers and snacks and are reasonably priced. From the upstairs bedrooms one has a good view of the sea and is the perfect setting for sundowners. The pool is secluded and gave a refreshing respite in the heat. Breakfasts are special occasions and hot and cold items are fresh and beautifully presented.
All and all the service of all the staff were friendly and you had the feeling they would go out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: Upstais rooms with a view isrecommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for your amazing review. We are glad that you have enjoyed everything that Atlantic House and Camps Bay had to offer. We are pleased that we played a part in your memorable sty here. Hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family stayed here over the Christmas break in order to attend a wedding of a friend in Cape Town. It was, as they say, exactly as described, very comfortable very smart with really caring and wonderful service. If all the B and B's were like this in England the Savoy would go out of business. We arrived frazzled because of difficult travelling arrangements but they showed us our rooms and I immediately knew that a holiday that had started on a very difficult note (Air France having lost my luggage) was going to be a good relaxing break for all the family. Breakfast very good but for those of us who get up early they also have tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is what my husband and I love.
Do stay there if you have the chance it is a bit of a walk to the beach but not far and I certainly needed the exercise after all the food and drink we consumed whilst we were there.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a wonderful view of the sea which I loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for thaking the time to review Atlantic House. We are delighted to hear you and your family and enjoyed your stay with us. We glad that we were able tove you that home away from home feel. We hope to welcome you back to our guest house in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at Atlantic House for 4 nights in December for the final part of our South Africa holiday and wish we could've stayed there longer. The location is perfect with lovely views of Camps Bay. Having a drink on the terrace watching the sun set is definitely a must! The guest house itself is immaculate, clean and very tastefully decorated. The rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms and everything you could need or want has already been thought of. The breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice and cooked breakfast made to order. Sally and her team are a true credit to this guest house, they go out of their way to meet your needs as well as being friendly and hospitable. We look forward to our next trip to South Africa so that we can stay there again. I travel around the world for work regularly and no other hotel or guesthouse compares to Atlantic House. Thank you Sally and the girls for a wonderful stay, from Stu & Ruth

Room Tip: We had the ground floor room with garden and pool views and doors out onto the terrace, was very pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveningstar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Ruth & Stu

Thank you so much for that fantastic review! We appreciate it very much and flad you had an amazing stay! It was such a pleasure and alot of fun having you both stay here! Hope to see you again one day - all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Property: Atlantic House
Address: 20 St Fillans Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing