We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a Guest House”
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic House
Ranked #20 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have just returned from South Africa on the holiday of a lifetime with my husband (it was a surprise and I had no idea I was going until we were at the airport!!). We spent a couple of days at The One and Only in Cape Town, and then returned from a safari to stay at the Atlantic House for three nights before going back to Cape Town. From the moment we arrived, I could tell that this was a very special place. The interior design is flawless, from beautiful wooden floors in the communal areas to luxurious carpets in the bedrooms. The bedroom we had was huge, with a lovely sunken bath with a direct view to the sea and access onto the terrace. Every part of the property is exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. It was comparable with some of the best hotels that I have stayed in. The thing that made the stay all the better was the service of the staff. Very efficient, without being intrusive, and nothing was too much trouble. They were incredibly friendly and professional, and really made you feel like you were one of the family. They gave great tips for places to eat, and I couldnt fault the place from start to finish. I am so grateful to the staff for really giving us a few days that I will treasure forever. Suzi x

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room to the right on the upper floor with a beautiful terrace and amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Suzi

Thank you so much for that fantastic review - we appreciate it very much! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us - glad we made your stay memorable. If you ever feel the urge to stay with us again, we will welcome you back with open arms and definetly spoil you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Atlantic house was the perfect place to start our holiday in SA. After a long flight we received a warm welcome and an excellent service (when our GPS did not arrive on time the team managed to arrange delivery next day). We enjoyed the good food at a restaurant near the beach which is in walking distance. Relaxing at the fireplace in Atlantic house and having a drink watching the amazing sunset and chat with other guests was a perfect way to end the day. Our room was spacious with a remarkable interior design and a fantastic ocean view (rooms on upper level). After a delicious and healthy breakfast we started exploring Table Mountain and downtown Cape Town (thanks for all the support and arrangements made by the team). We enjoyed this place for two days but it is on our list for our next visit to SA.

Room Tip: Amazing ocean view from upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sir
Many thanks for your wonderful review - we aim to please and we certainly glad we were able to assist! Hope to see you in the future. Take care xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was debating reviewing this place. Why? Because I like having places that aren't packed and filled with people who know. I'm selfish like that. But I really liked the people there and I want them to do well so share I shall. Sally, make sure you kick out your guests when we come back!

1. Amazing location. Camps Bay is so great. You can walk around without worries about safety, the beach is gorgeous, it's close to Table Mountain. The Atlantic House is actually a 5 minute drive from Table Mountain and a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. When we came we were focused on staying beach side but that was silly since the water is freezing and you will most likely spend your time looking at Table Mountain and other Cape Town attractions.
2. Amazing views. The ocean room (we had it for 2 nights) was quite breathtaking. You look onto the water and the sunsets are lovely. The garden view rooms were also nice but less "oomph".
3. Amazing food. You get cold breakfast (croissants, fruit, juice, cereal) and hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, etc.). I don't know what they put in the scrambled eggs (crack cocaine?) but it was quite nice.
4. Intimate. This is a small place with a few rooms. It won't ever be loud and you won't ever feel like the staff ignore you.
5. Helpful. The staff called restaurants and tours I wanted (from my own list). They didn't bat an eyelash when doing so. They arranged cabs, etc. We have an aversion to "touristy" places so they kindly put up with our nonsense and helped us plan. I ate slow cooked springbok at an Italian restaurant thanks to them. Sally helped my wife with advice on shoes to wear.
6. Friendly. Every single one of them. We hugged them before leaving. It made us sad to leave - we just made friends. Tell me the last time you did that at a hotel. If you did, you're weird just like us so we should get the name of the hotel you did that at.

Thank you again for the amazing stay.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the nicest but the garden/pool view is not shabby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you so much for the beautiful and funny review! Hope you two are enjoying married life and hope to see you here for your future anniversaries :) Take care and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you want a dream vacation in a beautiful location overlooking the ocean and Table Mountain with extraordinary service and amazing accommodation, this is it! With Atlantic House you expect perfect accommodation--beautiful views, comfortable beds, beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms and open space with fireplace and ocean views. However, you get so much more than that. Sally and her team provide impeccable service. We were 3 couples who had never been to South Africa. When one couple had rental car difficulties, Sally jumped into action, suggesting that we use her phone to call and helped resolve the problem. She suggested restaurants in the area that provided us with experiences we will remember fondly for a lifetime. Breakfast, which is included, was delicious and served with pride overlooking the ocean with a flaming fireplace. What sets an accommodation apart for me is the service. Sally and her team provided impeccable service. When I return to Capetown, I will not hesitate to reserve my room at Atlantic House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this B&B through the mr and mrs website. it was the first place I stayed on my honeymoon in south Africa. I couldn't have wished for more.

Not only was the property walking distance to the beach and restaurants. it was beautifully decorated and the staff and service where amazing. they made me and my husband feel so at home. nothing was too much trouble. helped book taxi's give advice on restaurants (even had menus for us to look at to restuarants in the area) and things to do in the area. Breakfast was yummy too!!!

If you decide to book this place, there is a tourist sightseeing bus that leaves around the corner that takes you around the city and all the major attractions including a wine tour. it is well worth the money at £30 per person for two days.

Highly recommend this place

Room Tip: From memory there are only 7 rooms. all are good with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

HI Mr and Mrs Collins

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We appreciate it very much. It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay here! So glad you enjoyed it here! We aim to please :) Enjoy married life and we hope to see you in the future. All the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here two nights in mid August - couldn't fault the setting, the service and definitely not the view from the room and also the lovely balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean and their breakfasts were delicious, with more than enough variety to suit all palates. Atlantic House is very well situated, not only for Camps Bay, but as a base to explore Cape Town and its surrounding area. Very highly recommended by two seasoned and rather fussy travellers!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi there
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Atlantic House. Thank you very much for the wonderful compliments. Should you ever come to Cape Town again, it would be lovely if you could stay with us again. All the best. Kind regards Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012 (bit slow with our review!!!) and it was faultless. Room was perfect, with a gorgeous ocean view, breakfasts were delicious and staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. Hope to return soon! :-)

Room Tip: The room opposite reception is apparently the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for that wonderful review, it sounds like you really enjoyed your time here. Come back anytime you want to feel at home. We so happy we exceeded your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Address: 20 St Fillans Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $188 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing