We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, reasonably priced”
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic House
Ranked #19 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel, great service, reasonably priced”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms are really big, clean and have everything you need. Obviously Cape Town is cheaper than most cities, but this hotel is definitely value for money when compared to other boutique hotels. My boyfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights in Feb and the service was amazing. Felt at home straight away and staff were attentive but not too invasive. Great balcony and minibar! Will definitely stay again. Thanks to the staff for trying to get our late restaurant bookings!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 870Zoe870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was only our pleasure assisting you in finding a nice restaurants for you to dine. Take care and hope to see you here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
83
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This Small guest house is just wonderful service is over the top Breakfasts are great service is over the top and fun . This is not a stuffy place guests are warm and friendly . A wonderful homey feel Rooms are great everyone here is friendly and warm home away from home , Music ,great food, wonderful service honesty bar ,Great location just wonderful attention to detail a fun place to be and stay. LOVED IT

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and great studio room with it's own sauna off the pool is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sharon and Karen

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are very pleased to hear we made your stay warm and welcome. It was certainly entertaining having you here and we hope to see you one day in the future. Thank you Karen for the nice postcard you send to us from Australia! Take care of yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Atlantic House is a hidden gem tucked in a quiet residential part of Camps yet within easy reach of everything. Wonderful room, ambience, decor, and facilities you would expect from a top end hotel such as free, fast wi fi etc. The staff were warm and friendly - couldn't be more lovely in fact, and were exceptionally helpful. Perfect for couples, business or lone travellers as I was. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Carole

Many thanks for your faultless review on Atlantic House. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us and we are very pleased to hear you coming to stay with us again. Your kind comments are truly appreciated by us all and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just spent 5 nights at this guest house and would highly recommend it. It is great value especially given the full breakfast that is included, not to mention othe stunning sea views, free wifi and exceptional service from all the staff. We had two rooms with sea views and enjoyed the large common area and balconies with views of the ocean. Parking is off-street and easy to access. It is a 10-15 mins walk up the hill frm the main street in Camps Bay. Bedrooms and bathrooms are very tastefully decorated with all amenities. We will be back!

Room Tip: choose the sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Linda & family

Hope you and your family are doing well. Thank you so much for the wonderful review you wrote about Atlantic House -we appreciate your feedback.
Be sure to look us up if ever you are in Cape Town one day! Take care and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've been to Cape Town 3 times now, and wanted to bring the girl I'm dating down to see it and was looking for a hotel out of the downtown. Came across Atlantic House on Trip Advisor and must admit all the reviews were spot on.

Firstly Camp's Bay is where you want to stay in the Cape Town area. It's only like a $10 cab ride or 5 minute drive to everywhere you want to be down town, but also walking distance from the beach and a great dinner/nightlife scene in Camp's Bay.

Atlantic house is kind of a cross between a boutique hotel and a B&B. The rooms are big, really nicely decorated, and are kept in immaculate condition. The inroom and inhotel bars are so reasonably priced, Breakfast is free (and very good), parking is free, and all in all the room price is very reasonable as well.

The thing that stands out about the hotel is the staff. They are clearly just really cool and accomodating people that love working at the Atlantic House. Even though agoda booked the hotel room rate incorrectly they honored the price and didnt charge us anything extra. Additionally, we went shark diving on our last day and were late arriving back for checkout (which should be at 11am) - they allowed us access to a room to pack our things properly and shower even though it was 4pm. Honestly they were just great people.

The only thing I would say is this is not a hotel to go to if you want to get hammered till late at night, as it kind of has a feel of adults get away. The place is quiet in the mornings and the early evenings and if you do come back late you naturally want to be quiet.

With that being said it's the perfect place for a couple or even business travel.

Would definitely come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyAronson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr Aronson

Many thanks for your lovely review and your kind comments regarding Atlantic House. It was truly a pleasure having you both stay here with us. If you planning a trip to Cape Town again, be sure not to forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I spent five nights at Atlantic House in Camps Bay (which I discovered on Mr and Mrs Smith). It was the perfect boutique hotel experience. Having stayed in some of the world's best hotels, I can genuinely rate the Atlantic House experience as excellent. All three ladies were wonderfully attentive and eager to share tips or recommendations for things to do in Cape Town. We had arrived with a vague list of what we wanted to do but without actually having made any bookings. The ladies asked us about our plans for the day every morning and managed to suggest or make bookings for just about everything we wanted to, most of which surpassed our expectations. This personalised service was a huge added bonus for us, definitely cementing the decision to stay with them again when we return to Cape Town in the future.

The rooms are extremely well-appointed - free Wi-Fi, massive comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom and stunning views from the sea-facing room. The outdoor shower in our garden room was a bonus. We particularly enjoyed the common lounge area where we could sit with a bottle of wine from the bar (honour system applies) and enjoy the view on colder evenings. Breakfast every morning was delicious and thankfully felt home-cooked (ie. healthy and not too oily). When we wanted to stay in on a particularly stormy night, the ladies were kind enough to leave the kitchen open (so we could use the microwave) and even ordered in food for us. I must say the service was impeccable and we immediately felt completely at home there.

Camps Bay was the perfect perch from which to explore Cape Town. We hired a car for the entire time that we were there, which made getting around very convenient. It was a 2 minute drive to the beach, less than 10 minutes to Table Mountain, 10 minutes to the Waterfront and less than an hours' drive to Stellenbosch.

Atlantic House was beautiful and we will definitely be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room if possible as the view is breath-taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review - it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Atlantic House. We hope you travel to Cape Town again soon and be sure to let us know when you're coming so we can reserve a sea view room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Four nights here at the end of a five week trip provided a restful and comfortable base from which to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they made reservations for us and saved us hours in the queue for Table Mountain by booking online. The room was very comfortable, bathroom excellent and breakfast delicious. Thank you, Atlantic House!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ama2012374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! Much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Atlantic House. It was a true pleasure having you stay here.

"Wishing you all the love and happiness in the world and congratulations on your marriage."

Hope we will be seeing you here in the future on your anniversary :)

Take care and all the best!
Atlantic House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Property: Atlantic House
Address: 20 St Fillans Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing