We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and service”
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic House
Ranked #20 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Atlantic House during our honeymoon in South Africa in September 2011. Atlantic House was the highlight of our trip. Sally and Marochel have perfectly judged the balance between attentive service and privacy for guests. I have no hesitation in recommending Atlantic House and I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

The view from the windows of Atlantic House at sunset is one of the best in the world, with epic views of the Atlantic Ocean. It's a 10 minute walk / 2 minute drive to the beach, and handy for Table Mountain too.
The breakfasts are amazing - you won't ever want lunch - and the staff are fantastic. They really go above and beyond to make your visit perfect. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the view of the Atlantic Ocean, if possible. On the other side, you get a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmcdonald26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I spent five lovely nights at this chic botique hotel overlooking the ocean at Camps Bay. We were there off season in South Africa's end of winter. I imagine the atmosphere and number of people are much greater in their high season. In fact, if that is the time you intend to stay, I would urge you to book reservations well in advance as there only are seven rooms at the Atlantic House.

Situated on a hill side overlooking the ocean and about a 15 minute walk to the beach,
The Atlantic House is an oasis of elegance and tranquility. The two young women who run the hotel, Marochal and Sally, are exceptionally talented at what they do. They are willing to help in every reasonable way.They made dinner reservations, gave directions, help prepare are very lovely full course breakfast and offer their suggestions on sights in the area. I have seldom been treated in such a pleasant way and with such courtesy and charm.

We stayed in room four, which was a very spacious room, with its own balcony overlooking the ocean. It also overlooks the pool, which may be an issue with noise during warmer weather. However, since there only are seven rooms and the Altantic House seems to attrack a very up market clientele of business people and vacationers, this is probably not much of an issue.

The Atlantic House has a full service honor bar system, and they do not gouge you on prices as many hotels tend to do. They also offer a very reasonable laundry service. After having spend three weeks in Africa, this was a welcome amenity.

It is within a five minute drive of Table Mountain, about 10 minutes from downtown Cape Town and right at the beginning of a route that will take you to the Cape of Good Hope----a must do drive.

I would recommend staying there without hesitation and look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1128jm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Ideally located in Camps Bay with beautiful views of the ocean. Accommodation is grand but not over the top. Staff were very friendly and breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended. Very minor criticism is one doesn't have a view when lying by the pool, but if this is not an issue for you then I would say go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatsandDyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We only stayed two nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. The room we were given was big and spacious, the toiletries were lovely, and the big walk in shower was a real plus.
Breakfast was served overlooking the pool and was good with lots of choice.
The staff at the hotel were so accommodating. We arrived late and hungry and the lady on reception took the time to order us some take out, bring plates to our room etc, even though she had already finished her shift which was really kind of her and made us feel really welcome. The honesty bar was a nice touch and reasonably priced and all the staff had good local knowledge. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnsteyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have to say, after traveling for 28 hours from the US. Along with a missed flight, phone issues and credit card challenges. We were so happy when we arrived at this amazing little gem! We awoke to an spectacular breakfast that was cooked to order each morning. The decor was very chic, the views of the ocean (Especially at Sunset) and Table Mountain were to dye for. On our second day, we were running late for our tour to swim with the sharks. So the staff ran into the kitchen and made up a to go box filled with breakfast and lunch items. The thoughtfulness was way above and beyond the call of duty. Then on top of that we had more credit card issue and bank issues, where they helped us out and called our banks back in the US to make sure we wouldn't have anymore issues. What a great staff and place to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here at the end of our holiday in SA and enjoyed a lot the great comfort and views that Atlantic House has to offer. It is conveniently situated for visiting Cape Town, Waterfront & other touristic attractions.
The staff is extremely friendly and willing to recommend activities and nice places to eat. The rooms and breakfast are very good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maarten77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.5 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#25 of 54 in Camps Bay
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairways on the Bay
Fairways on the Bay
#30 of 54 in Camps Bay
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 32 in Camps Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Address: 20 St Fillans Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $202 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing