We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood platter”

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood platter”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We came here without a reservation on a very busy evening but we were fitted in and kindly seated at the bar so we could enjoy a pleasant drink and people-watch the sushi bar while we waited for our table. There's no menu but we enjoyed the novelty of "going fishing" with our waiter and choosing exactly what we wanted on our fish platter. Lots of choice and beautifully cooked fish, lobster and prawns. A really lovely experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KalkanPoshCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,807
    740
    259
    90
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breganze, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome dinner!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were in Cape Town for holidays and we asket to locals for a place to eat seafood at dinner and they suggested us to try this restaurant. We had an unforgettbale experience. Great and vibrating atmosphere, wonderful seafood, amazing wine, stunning view on the ocean. This is not a cheap restaurant, but if you want to eat great seafood this is the right place! Recommended also for special occasions!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in 3 days!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our waiter Darren was a legend! He made us feel right at home and we ate the best seafood ever! It's pricey, but worth every penny! We recommend a platter with Rock Lobster, Tiger Prawns and Calamari for 2. Incredible food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Rustic and Quirky”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A friend had recommended this restaurant prior to our trip. I have to admit that I was dubious when we arrived outside, as it doesn't look special.
Once inside we were greeted warmly and the format was quickly explained. The restaurant was full, and mainly with family's and groups of people. There is no menu, and you have to wait your turn to go up to the counter to choose your food.
We didn't feel rushed, even though there's suppose to be 2 sittings, and quite enjoyed watching the hustle and bustle of the place.
The food was great, and my husband said it was the best lobster he had ever tasted. Seafood bought by weight is usually very expensive, so we were bracing ourselves for the bill. With starters, mains and wine, our meal came to about £60 - great !
We returned for dinner again a couple of nights later without a reservation, and had the same good experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Interesting set up as there's no menu. You just peruse the fish counter, choose what looks good, and have it cooked up. The setting though is more elegant than it sounds. We ate down in the wine cellar, which was actually very nice. Small and much quieter than the hustle and bustle upstairs. We were told it was "pricey" and difficult to plan for as there's no prices anywhere. You just pay by weight. But in the end for 2 people sharing a calimari app, 2 entrees, dessert, and a bottle of Vueve we only spent $140. So by American standards I'd say it's a very good deal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing