We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service! Great seafood!”

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great service! Great seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Generally, I'm not a huge seafood lover. However, this was incredibly fresh and tasty! And...our server was fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,751
    726
    254
    89
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh fish heaven - and nothing else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

There is no menu at this fish specialist - which you'll either love (me) or hate (my partner). You simply choose your pieces of fish from a wide selection at the counter, like at a market, and they weigh it, cook it, and serve it with chips, veg or rice. Food comes quickly and the waiters are passionate about fish. We chose four types of fish to share between two people, cooked in one pan with chips and veg. We had seared tuna (good), butter fish (excellent), angel fish (slightly overdone) and blue marlin. A great meal. Served with pots of four sauces, of which the garlic lemon butter was the star.

Sushi is fine (great fish, stodgy rice), but not the main reason for going.

Don't be fooled by the silly name, this is a serious restaurant and, although more expensive than others in the area, is still good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my dinner there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Fresh seafood (they don't have a menu it all depends on what the catch is). Good culinary skills, especially the hot chili dip. Nice wine selection. Liked the pudding dessert as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waiwingtaialbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“BIG shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here on our first night arriving to South Africa. It was a fun eating experience. Excellent selection of fresh seafood, and gigantic shrimps, like a lobster!

We were surprised that their calamari was not fried, but we soon discovered that it was so delicious. Even my kids loved their calamari, and they don't like new food.

They also have an excellent sushi choices.

We had their huge shrimp. They were awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sublime sushi, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our tourist group somewhat reluctantly visited here, as the venue itself doesn't look amazing and misses the sea view, but once inside, the food was exceptional - and the service friendly and efficient. We shared a range of sushi platters, all of which were fresh and excellent. Even better to come back on certain days and times, where they have 50% off deals, making this even better value. We ended up coming back for 2 additional meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing