We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was out of this world! You have to go! The prawns are huge and so yummy. If I could have eaten there every night I would have. Also worth mentioning that the salad was really fresh and very good quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,751
    726
    254
    89
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two visits - different experiences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Codfather twice in a recent visit to Camps Bay. The concept is simple. Choose your fish, have it weighed, which determines the price, they cook it and you eat it. Full marks for freshness and quality. Less than full marks for ambiance. We sense that in the desire to maximise revenues that they are just cramming in too many tables which makes for a less than optimal experience. No problems with cooking, though. So if you like loud, go for it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceyrat, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed with our recommendation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our waiter was a very good "salesmen" selling the most expensive food we ate in South Africa. The quality of the food was good, but the quality/price just wasn't.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
157 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“you get what you see....fabulous fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Select from the counter from a wide range of fish and seafood and then have it cooked to order and served straight from the griddle. We chose tiger prawns langoustines and calamari followed by 3 different white fish and some tuna. All shared and enjoyed. The freshest of ingredients cooked to order is an unbeatable format. A must visit restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great fish and lovely helpful staff. Bustling and lively ... a must if you're visiting Camps Bay! It was our favourite restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 102Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing