We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice fish and sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cape town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice fish and sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wide variety of fish, shellfish and the sushi is great. A bit on the steep side of the price scale but if you are a fish lover the place to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holly2Capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,617
    681
    241
    85
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Fishfood flare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recommended by our guest house, this did not disappoint us fish lovers. Nestled down in the picturesque Camps Bay The Codfather offers the freshest of fish cooked to order. Selecting ones fish from the ‘fish market’ chiller cabinet inside the restaurant offers one the most choice over ones eating. It feels unique and allows one to taste and experience fish that one might not partake in otherwise. I selected sushi to start and my husband pan fried calamari; both fabulous. Our mains consisted of a selection of butter fish, blue marlin, langoustines and dorado. It was a platter any fish lover would be pleased with. Marinades and dipping sauces could accompany the fish alongside roasted vegetables and rice. We were hugely satisfied. The sunset over the Bay while we ate added to the experience. Great value for money, attentive staff is a relaxed venue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, well cooked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you book before going. This place is packed in the evenings!

Codfather does two things: conveyor belt Japanese sushi and sashimi. And fresh seafood, grilled and served with 4 types of sauces and vegetables or chips.

The sushi: average, and prices are similar to London. Although you do get a bigger portion. It's not bad, but its not good enough for me to go back again. Maybe I'm just spoiled by the high standards of Japanese food in London. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

The grilled seafood: an interesting experience - you go up to the counter, and choose your seafood and size. Lots of fish, all local. There was kingklip, butter fish, cape salmon, yellow tail, and many others. Highlight is probably their prawns - humongous, and as big as a lobster! Expensive though, two big prawns was R390. Kingklip was R110 for a big fillet. Butter fish was R30 for a small fillet. So there was cheaper selections if you prefer. The seafood was grilled very well, and served with either chips or stir fried vegetables. Excellent! 4 out of 5 stars.

Service was efficient. And they do accept credit cards, even American Express.

Helpful?
1 Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellant as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Cod Father is a must for us! The choice of fish is superb and the atmosphere is good as its always busy. I always book before leaving the uk!
Food is cooked to perfection and a great night was had again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best fish in town, maybe in western cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

great atmosphere, very attentious service, great selection of fish and sea-food. we had a great party, only eat too much.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mfh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing