We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Camps Bay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best in Camps Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived a bit early after our 13 hour flight and having had picked up our rental car from the airport, but everything was ready and we got a warm welcome from the manager, before finally resting and relaxing in our room.

The guest house is approx 25-30mins drive from the airport and easily be found by local taxi drivers as well, as its just off the Camps Bay main road. There is private parking for 3 cars inside the fenced property and 2 more parking slots directly outside.

The property is beautiful, very well maintained, and has a great pool with jacuzzi adn multiple loungers and chairs on the public lawn with stunning views over Camps Bay beach and the Twelve appostels. Our room (Penthouse) was large, with living room, private fire place, a nice bedroom and a great terrace with more loungers and table with chairs. The bathroom has a shower and a tub and was very clean. Towels etc were all clean and fluffy as well.

The community area where breakfast is served is big as well, and we can always recommend to sit outside on the balcony for the (included) breakfast. Breakfast is big and very well stocked with many fruits, juices, coffee, omlettes etc. We couldnt ask for more.

They were very helpful in helping to book us restaurants for dinner, make sure to make use of this, they will always get a table :)

From the guesthouse you will walk down the hill approx 3-5 minutes and you are right at the main street / beach promenade of Camps Bay, perfect!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 3 Nights
When: January 2014
Room: Penthouse
Price: 250 SGD (200 USD)
Breakfast included - YES
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location 3 minutes from Camps Bay promenade
+ Rooftop Terrace at Penthouse
+ Nice Service / Free Fruit Basket every day

BAD:
- One afternoon the owner simply opened the door to our private room to shout in that we shall remove the Sun umbrella from the terrace during the night due to the wind. This was highly irritating as we would have removed it anyways, it was still early, and he didn't respect our privacy at all and just opened the door to our private room

Room Tip: Try to book the Penthouse, it has a wonderful private terrace with table chairs and 2 loungers and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    81
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
308
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have just come back from a two week trip to South Africa with my husband. Our last stop was a two night stay in Camps Bay. We've been to Camps Bay before but only for the day. The Bay Atlantic is a beautiful small guest house right on the ocean front and our room had the most fantastic views. We arrived early but luckily for us the room was ready for us to check into, Nicola and Kelly settled us in and made us feel very welcome. The room was an excellent size and had direct access to the swimming pool. There were plenty of sunbeds and a lovely view of Table Mountain on one side and the ocean on the other. The breakfast was served the following morning by Kelly and was excellent, the toast had a lovely cover so kept nice and hot!! I would highly recommend the Bay Atlantic to anyone for a holiday in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet12d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at thw beginning of our two week holiday around Cape Town. We were warmly greeted by Bernie and Kelly and immediately relaxed and forgot about the long journey. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, each with their own private area to enjoy as well as the lovely pool and garden. Breakfast was a stunning selection of everything you could think of with Kelly's legendary fruit salad taking centre stage! There's a well stocked bar with great a wine selection available to buy and enjoy drinking whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. Cannot recommend this wonderful place enough and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The pool set up here is really good - the pool overlooks camps bay and up above is table mountain.
It can be windy which was nice because it was really hot.

We stayed here at the end of our travels down the garden route....so we weren't much taken by the restaurants on camps bay...and by that time we wanted some home cooking....

What really made our stay is that we were able to cook a bbq by the pool and the hosts were more the keen to help get us started.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a hidden gem, bay atlantic is just around the corner from the Main Street off camps bay. Close enough to walk in and far enough away to not hear the traffic.
Fabulous views of the mountains and the ocean, which you can hear at night.
Lovely pool with jacuzzi and sun deck.

A nice mix of international travellers of all ages and most important of all, fantastic hosts Bernie, Kelly, Nichola and the rest of the team.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a rather hectic tour. It was perfect for relaxing. The rooms were soooooo comfortable, the breakfasts excellent and staff friendly and helpful.would come back.

Room Tip: The Atlantic had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I have travelled all over the world and the Bay Atlantic is by far one the nicest B&B's that's we have stayed at. We stayed in the penthouse which has incredible views of the beach in Camps Bay from the adjoining deck. The Bay Atlantic itself is 5 minutes walk from the beach, a perfect distance from the hustle and bustle of the main road. After a day of site seeing in Cape Town it was great to come back, have a swim and relax next to the pool while watching the sun set. The breakfast's were 5 star and something we both looked forward to each morning. There was secure parking within in the premises and safe parking on the street. We would certainly stay at the Bay Atlantic again and have already recommended it to friends who are travelling to Camps Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Atlantic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Property: The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Address: 3 Berkley Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Atlantic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Atlantic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Hotel Camps Bay
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing