We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and beautiful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fantastic place to stay for all. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the whole stay. Location, size of room, cleanliness and facilities were all spot on. Would recommend this guest house to all. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Atlantic room, excellent views and a good size for couples.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Nice to hear that you viewed us as not only being excellent value for money but also as having friendly / helpful staff. All members of our team contribute in their own individual way to the guest experience and I am sure that they will be thrilled to hear your comments.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Atlantic Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 514 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed with the whole family for two nights in April and had a lovely time. As one of us was travelling in a wheelchair we were a little bit worried in advance if everythings would work out with the infrastructure but the Bay Atlantic team supported us in all matters. The rooms are a little bit old fashioned but nice. The view from the balcony overlooks the beach as well as the apostels in Camps Bay and is absolutely amazing. Pool is clean and even has a jaccuzi. Breakfast offers a good choice and is delicious. Safe parking behing the house in the courtyard. Only 3 min walking distance to the beachfront.

Room Tip: Room in first floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julez_Falk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We were delighted to be of assistance to the family. There are a number of changes planned for the winter months in order to bring the balance of our rooms in line with recently refurbished ones, hopefully the end product will speak for itself. Good to hear that you enjoyed the pool / jacuzzi areas during your stay and that the breakfasts were enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again. Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Bay Atlantic was our first stop in South Africa and we couldn't have asked for a better start. The guest house is easy to find from the airport and provides secure parking. We had a very warm welcome from Beach who settled us on and offered us advice on restaurants and what to do in the area. We were in the Penthouse Suite which is a good size with its own roof terrace. It's not flashy but is simple and nicely furnished and very clean. The guest house itself is in a great location, close enough to stroll into Camps Bay with all of the bars and restaurants but far enough away that it is so quiet at night that all you can hear is the sea. Breakfast was varied and well cooked and all of the team there could not be more helpful, giving us advice, booking restaurants and even giving us a lift one evening! Would highly recommend this guest house to anyone as a base to explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. The Penthouse is ideal for beach / poolside living as the furnishings / finishes have all been selected with your comfort in mind meaning that you can relax, kick back and just enjoy your vacation. Views from the balcony are wonderful with the ocean directly ahead, Twelve Apostles Mountain Range to your left hand side and Table Mountain to the rear - essentially the best of all worlds. We are very happy that your stay was a pleasant one and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome by the manager and she went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and to ensure we had breakfast since we were leaving early the next morning, and also to help us with a dinner reservation. The location is great, with views of the ocean and a short walk to bars and restaurants in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ldndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We like to treat all of our guests as if they are family. Hence the saying " Arrive as a guest - Leave as a friend " Each and every staff member is tasked with making your stay comfortable, pleasant and enjoyable be it a dinner reservation, an early breakfast, use of an international adaptor, computer / printer quite simply whatever you require !! We were delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again soon

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very disappointed with everything in this place.
Dated dark rooms and bathrooms with a bit of mould here and there. They kept switching off the passage light outside our room, which meant you could't see anything and kept stubbing our toes! We'd rather be anywhere but the room.
Pool area not as clean as it should be, and the breakfast was thoroughly average, with nothing for people who don't eat meat really. We didn't receive the great treatment everyone else seems to have had, or the free water.
The good location and views didn't make up for everything else, and I was totally disappointed, and felt ripped off considering the price..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lutfiya_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your very forthright opinions. We were sorry to hear that you regarded your guest experience as being an unpleasant one. I by no means want to negate any of your comments and indeed would like to reassure you that I have communicated same to all of the staff concerned. To address some of your points:

1. We are currently busy with renovations to various areas ( and have been for several months ) plus an extensive decor update ( The Garden room and our Mountain Room are two of the outstanding rooms, ones that we will be concentrating on in our quieter winter period )

2.Unfortunately the Garden Room's bathroom does not have windows and relies on an air extraction basis by means of an extractor fan. Having taken your comments on board we are in the process of installing a stronger unit in an effort to avoid the invariable damp spots that can arise in a windowless environment.

3.To date we have maintained an excellent reputation for cleanliness and hygiene due in no small part to our dedicated and competent housekeeping staff as I am sure you can appreciate we take all comments relating to hygiene / cleanliness very seriously. This was clearly an oversight !!

4. In terms of there not being adequate lighting we try to be energy conscious by either reducing or, in some cases, switching off lights throughout the property during the night time but appreciate your informing us that it was, in your opinion not light enough.

5. With the recent stormy weather and high winds, we are constantly trying to keep the Pool area clear of fallen Bougainvillea petals and leaves but it is, unfortunately, impossible to keep it immaculate at this time of year.

I am surprised that you were disappointed with the choice of vegetarian options and the breakfast itself as this is an area that we are repeatedly commended on both in terms of the choice and the presentation.

Daily Vegetarian Options are:

• Fruit bowl
• Generous fruit salad with a variety of fresh fruit and berries
• Cheese platter
• Variety of cereals and muesli
• Toast and preserves
• Yoghurt
• Eggs of your choice (if not vegan) side orders of of tomato, mushroom, peppers marrows
• Baked beans

We offer all guests a welcome drink on arrival - with our compliments, however we do not have bottled water included thereafter. We do have special offers. These vary from time to time, our current one being a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival.

Please feel free to directly email a detailed list of specific improvements that you feel should be applied and we will discuss same in our regular management meeting. We would love to share our improvements based on your feedback and appreciate your constructive criticism. Thank you for helping us improve the guest experience at The Bay Atlantic for future guests and once again we are truly sorry that you were disappointed. Our email address is seaview@iafrica.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After three weeks on the road we were looking for somewhere to chill out before our return to the UK and the Bay Atlantic provided this. The Atlantic room has stunning views of Camps Bay and the mountains with a very comfortable bed. The balcony provides a cool place to enjoy a drink in the heat of the day. The breakfast was superb.

Everyone we encountered was only too ready to help. Nicola’s recommendation of the Codfather, where you choose the cut and quantity you want from a counter stocked with all types of local fish and shellfish, was brilliant. For the following night Beach’s suggestion of Zenzero also helped us identify just the sort of restaurant we wanted – it had to be good - he was there himself! On each occasion the bookings were done for us.

The pool is a really useful size where you can put in a few lengths if that’s what you fancy. Alternatively the warm jacuzzi is just right for lazing. Only two things to note, the parking can be tight and needs a little care and that if you need a computer to check-in for your flight, the office closes in the early evening – the Wi-Fi connection on the other hand is good (and free). We would thoroughly recommend the Bay Atlantic; a safe, and not too steep, walk from the centre of the action.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room has great views and a very handy balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

It sounds as if you had a good trip and that your stay with us met your expectations. To address the parking comments. We have five demarcated bays, unfortunately some of the cars get parked a little erratically when guests return after a nighht out but it invariably gets adjusted the following morning. As for the office yes that does close daily at 7.00pm when the day shift leave you are however most welcome to ask Bernie for assistance with printing / use of computer outside of those hours as he is generally around.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013 and found our stay comfortable and relaxing!
The location is quite convenient whether staying in Camps Bay for the day or venturing out to see the sights. It was particularly nice to stroll down to the beachfront with it's abundance of restaurants and either hike back or catch a 1 minute taxi ride home at the end of the night.

We found everyone to be most helpful with sorting out our activities with us and suggesting the best way to approach each one. From picking up our rental car with Comet rental cars to hiring a guide to tour the wine country, we were well advised. It can be challenging to figure out who's "in charge" for the day, but one must remember that it's a guest house, not a hotel chain.

We stayed in the new Patio Suite which has wonderful views, a King size bed with terrific linens, and lots of space to move about and store clothes. As with any new space, there are some kinks to work out, but we found everyone willing to listen to suggestions such as more towel bars for the wonderfully plush towels and luggage racks. The room is directly adjacent to the pool so the quiet level can be determined by the number of guests using the pool & jacuzzi.

The breakfasts were delicious and offered multiple choices of items that were fresh and nutritious. Served overlooking the ocean with French pressed coffee as a bonus, this was the best breakfast of our trip.

We would not hesitate to book into the Bay Atlantic again if our travels find us back in Capetown!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank COteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

With a management team consisting of four very diverse individuals we would tend to agree that it can be a bit challenging particularly for guests that are staying with us for four or five days as we work on a rotational basis, hopefully it was not too confusing !! Thank you for the valued input in terms of our recent addition - the Patio Suite all of your comments have been taken on board and will be implemented going forward. We are also considering adding heavy drapes to the Patio Suite's windows as a secondary means of muting guest activity around the pool area. Once again thank you for the input !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Atlantic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Address: 3 Berkley Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $118 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Atlantic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Atlantic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Hotel Camps Bay
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing