We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location and the most comfortable beds you have ever slept in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved our stay at the Atlantic in Camps Bay, the guest house is ideally located minutes from the beach and about a five minute walk from the nice restaurants and bars in Camps Bay.

The friendly staff and service is fantastic, the breakfast is good and the beds incredibly comfy... to top it off we got a free bottle of bubbly - Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: We had the 'Atlantic View' and 'Bay View' rooms with as you would expect good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Our Atlantic Room and the Bay Room are perfectly positioned with sweeping views over the pool deck and out to the ocean which is directly ahead. Bubbles on your own private balcony at sunset after a day spent out and about is the perfect start to the evening. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it all !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 521 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, just back from the front. Enough spaces to park. Great views and helpful staff. Good value all in.

Stayed in Patio room - may sure you get a room with a view but all rooms are high quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Fortunately five of our seven rooms / suites have ocean facing views and all seven are just five minutes away from the world famous Camps Bay Beachfront giving you the best of everything that Camps Bay has to offer. Good to hear that you enjoyed it all !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights in March 2013. The localtion is just amazing with great views over the bay and mountains. Breakfast with famous fruit salad just perfect. We had the smallest mountain room but that was an excellent value for money and we stayed almost all the time outside admiring views. Jacuzzi with heating is a great solution for cold pool and atlantic ocean cold waters. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Our Mountain Room ( Fondly referred to as ' The Matchbox ' ) is unbelievably good value for money when making direct comparisons cost wise and as such is definitely one of our most popular rooms. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two nights when we first arrived in South Africa. We had booked the Pool room. Shortly after we settled in our room we could tell there were some plumbing issues in the bathroom, namely around the sink and the shower. We both decided that the staff had to know about the issue as the leak was obvious and there was blistering of the plaster on the wall in the entrance-way area to the room. I had not yet booked this room for when we were to return to Cape Town before flying home until after we saw if we liked the place or not. I wasn't happy with the plumbing issue in that particular room, but since the staff was friendly, helpful, there was a great view and they served a great breakfast, we decided that when they offered us the patio room instead of the pool room for our return visit, we took them up on it and booked the patio room for the return visit. Three weeks later we return at around 2 pm and was greeted by one of the owners who told us he was going to put us in the pool room (not the patio room that we had booked). My heart sank, but I thought that maybe the plumbing issue was resolved. Well it wasn't, in fact the problem worsened and they indicated they knew it was a problem (after we settled into the room). When we entered the room, they had towels lined up on the exterior of the bathroom walls to keep the water from leaking out into the bedroom/sitting room area. There were cleaning people in there drying up the water in the floor and they told us "this room has major leaking." My husband and I both own our own business and know that it must be awful knowing you have customers lined up to stay in a room during the busy season, and one cannot predict or help the plumbing issues, but here are the facts of good customer service: 1) when you know you have major plumbing issues (on our return visit the water situation was much worse and leaked across the room leaving puddles for us to walk through and a squishy area rug to walk across during visits to the bathroom), CALL your customers and let them know of the issues so they can make a pre-informed decision prior to arrival as to whether or not they still want the room 2) help customers find alternative lodging if they decide not to deal with the water situation 3) don't DUMP on your return customers by giving their pre-booked room away to the poor unfortunate people who were booked in the room with the plumbing issues just because they were unhappy too!!! 4) fix your plumbing issues and don't continue to book it knowing there is a problem! 5) don't claim ignorance as you have to know your customers are not stupid (one owner said they didn't know it was that bad even though there were towels laid in the floor prior to our arrival and the cleaning people knew of the problem) 6) adequately compensate unhappy customers (they gave us a 10% discount that didn't even cover the VAT, hardly worth the wet feet we had). Warning: if you have booked the Pool Room over the next few weeks, ask if they have resolved the plumbing issues. Sorry Bay Atlantic, we would have given you a "thumbs up" before our return visit (even with the plumbing issues that existed on our initial visit), but because you didn't treat these loyal, return customers very well, we give you a "thumbs down".

Room Tip: Don't book the Pool Room unless they've resolved major plumbing issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Unfortunately our issues with the Pool Suite were major ones that appeared in the middle of our busiest period in the year. Copper piping developed pin point leaks in quite a large section of piping and despite our thinking that the problem was resolved it reappeared in a different section hence the blistering of paintwork on the entrance way to the suite and the pooling of water within the suite itself, more specifically two separate leaks. It took us the better part of three weeks to fully resolve the leak and refurbish the suite thereafter. If we had any inkling that it would have been such an issue the suite would have been closed to guests and we would have made alternative arrangements on behalf of incoming guests.Having said that there are simply no excuses on our part that can rectify the inconvenience to yourselves. What we would like to ask is that you return as our guests for the same number of nights, should South Africa not form part of your itinerary in the foreseeable future we will recompense you accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at The Bay Atlantic in Camps Bay. Location is excellent. Couldnt be better. Camps Bay is beautiful. The staff are all friendly and most helpful. Especially Kelly. Met Bernini the owner who was friendly. Breakfast is amazing. Fruit salad is to die for. Rooms are spotless, luxurious and have everything you could possible need. Went to Hussars Steak House nearby. No. 1 restaurant in Camps Bay. It deserves to be. We will be visiting again as soon as we can !!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suelewis1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

The breakfast buffets are definitely a feature in the guest experience as we see from the numerous comments that get posted. I have passed on your comments in respect of the rooms presentation to the housekeeping staff they were delighted - Thank You !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our first stop in South Africa and our welcome could not have been more friendly. Our room was comfortable and very convenient for Camps Bay. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful and we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

It is always nice to help first time visitors on their arrival in South Africa. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff and the views are amazing. We stayed in the penthouse suite which was great but compared to other places we had stayed on our trip it was a little overpriced for what it was. The bathroom needs some updating and overall it is a little dated. Camps Bay demands these prices though so you pay for the view and area as much as anything. This is still an excellent place to stay if you are visiting Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wildthings26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the comments both positive and negative Refurbishment of our Penthouse Suite is an ongoing process with the bathroom area being a priority for the forthcoming winter months. We are hoping that you will visit again and be able to see the finished product !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.7 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Atlantic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Address: 3 Berkley Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $107 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Atlantic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Atlantic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Hotel Camps Bay
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing