We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and Lovely”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A mountain and a sea view, the smell of a hearty fried breakfast matched by the warmth of Nicola, Kelly and Belinda to look after your needs - The Bay Atlantic is more than a guesthouse but an experience, the kind that leaves an imprint in your mind even when you leave the place.

The room and bathroom is clean, the bed is soft, comfortable and warm for the nights when the weather turns cold. The hot shower works. Lulu, the cook, makes an excellent breakfast. The only thing that did not work so well was the internet as a guest had apparently inadvertently disconnected the connection.

The guesthouse has a wonderful view of the sea in front and Table Mountain at the back. A well-kept pool and deck chairs makes for a good place for lounging around. The location is excellent with good restaurants within walking distance and regular bus service down the road. But best of all, the three lovely ladies are most attentive to guests needs - whether it is arranging tours, transfers, advice on where to go etc.

Given the excellent location and restaurants, visitors don't need to go to town for a sunset drink or night out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amy111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for these lovely comments and compliments.The staff involved were delighted to hear them. It was a pleasure meeting you and hearing all about your global travels. looking forward to your next trip. Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    82
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
312
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Such a great place to stay with fantastic views overlooking Camps Bay. Staff are really friendly and helpful and will suggest some great things to see and do and will book restaurants for you as well. Rooms are really clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious. Would definitely stay here again. They also have facilities for late departure guests - they really have thought of everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katharine383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Our late check out facilities for guests have proven to be a huge success as it means you can leave your luggage in a secure area knowing that shower facilities will be available for your use prior to departing for the airport. Glad to hear that you were able to make use of this service !

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon in the penthouse room. What a wonderful warm friendly place with some of the most amazing views (especially from our balcony). The room was really clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. Better more - Dave was helpful, friendly and really made our stay a real pleasure! We took his advice on trips/restaurants and were certainly not disappointed. Add to this a fantastic sunset and this guest house cannot be faulted or beaten.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Being able to offer Honeymooners the chance to share time in Camps Bay with us is always so pleasurable. A special occasion such as this deserves special memories. Its lovely to hear that we helped to contribute to them in some small manner. Hope to see you back on one of your forthcoming anniversaries. Until then. Take care !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had the wonderful Penthouse suite which was very comfortable with everything we could possibly need. They had the best, hottest & most powerful hair dryer I've ever seen & they even went out & bought one for me to bring home! Breakfast was wonderful & Bay Atlantic booked our dinner tables for us. We just loved being there.
Richard & Joanna Grey

PS. I'm only putting 3 for sleep quality because we are used to a bigger bed & 5ft was a bit narrow so we had to try very hard not to move around too much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Our Penthouse Suite has a well deserved reputation for comfort and privacy. The current bed was hand made to fit the suite but we are taking your comments on board and will review available space in this respect. The choice of restaurants in Camps Bay can be somewhat daunting to new arrivals hence our assistance in this respect. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit, we loved having you here with us also.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to stay, excellent location wonderful staff and a perfect base for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding areas

Really cannot praise this place enough, very comfortable room, great breakfast, staff knowledgeable and helpful. They booked all the trips for us and their recommendations for trips/restaurants etc were spot on.

Nothing seemed too much trouble, I'm a great believer in people making the difference, and the guys here certainly did.

Spent a wonderful week and am already planning a return.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Atlantic room, views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liamj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Booking trips/ offering advice are just one of the many ways that we try to ensure your stay with us is as you expected it to be - enjoyable !! It was a pleasure helping. Looking forward to seeing you again shortly. Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I popped in for a quick return Cape Town, after being there for work a week or so before. Booked online and was a great decision - as you can see great is the word :) Whilst I had a smaller room it was perfect for me and great value. Unless you plan to sit in your room thats all you need. I just used the dinning area and balcony when i was sitting back at the guest house, with views o the ocean and mountains. And on the warmer afternoons used the spa and pool. There's only a handful of rooms so it not crowded and the service and help from all staff was top class and friendly. Would recommend it for sure and if I'm back will be staying there as Camps Bay is a great spot to be.
Bernie

Room Tip: The mountain room is SMALL.. best for solo.. the other rooms if you're a couple. BUT if you wann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on our behalf. As you know having stayed with us we try to offer a wide variety of options to suit all travelers. Knowing that we have succeeded in this instance gives us great pleasure !!

Warm regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great time at the Bay Atlantic Guest House. It were our last 4 nights in South Africa - Beach, Kelly and the staff made it fantastic. They were absolutely great hosts :-). The best view over Camps Bay and to the Twelve Apostels, beautiful garden area with pool and whirlpool, delicious breakfast - you can`t wish more than you get there!! Sarah & Roland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We also enjoyed meeting you both and ensuring that your visit was just as expected. Looking forward to seeing you again. Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Atlantic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Property: The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Address: 3 Berkley Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Atlantic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Atlantic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Hotel Camps Bay
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing