We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll struggle to find better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2012

You won’t have any regrets if you’re planning a stay at the Bay Atlantic. It offers all that you would expect of a 5 star guest house, and more. Clean, comfortable, and run with a smile, this really is a top-drawer establishment. Breakfasts are scrummy, and fresh out of the pan. If you want to start your day with a smile, ask for one of Kelly’s omelettes - a sight to behold.

An excellent location some 250 metres distant from Camps Bay amenities, it’s an easy stroll to the beach/restaurants etc., and an invigorating stride back up the incline which affords the property such a superb vista. If your budget will run to it, go for the Penthouse - the view from the veranda alone - over the ocean, and the Twelve Apostles - is worth the extra, but the pool rooms look out over the ocean and bay too.

For a property of this size, the pool is outstanding - clean, and big enough for some serious strokes if you have the energy. The sun beds on the pool deck also provide views down over Camps Bay.

With secure off-street parking, all in all, the Bay Atlantic just has everything. With apologies to Douglas MacArthur, “we shall return”.

Brian and Sandra

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slkher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for these lovely sentiments.Our location is, I feel one of the key aspects for guests, that and the spectacular views. Cleanliness is a given as is service with a smile. Staff of 14 years + make a huge difference in both of the aforementioned. Housekeeping staff and management are always willing to assist be it with special breakfast orders, laundry, places to see and do plus restaurant reservations. Our motto of arrive as a guest leave as a friend says it all.

Warm regards
From The Bay Atlantic Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very nice B&B friendly people very helpful.;
The house is near the beach and the main street " the strip" but far from the noise :)
We ll be back

Room Tip: Swimming pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

It was nice meeting you both and being able to assist with your travels onwards. I trust that you enjoyed your additional nights in Camps Bay and will be back to visit soon.

Until then take care of yourselves !!

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stay here in Bay Atlantic Guest House for 3 nights in January 2012. This is a very familiar and nice location in the famous Camps Bay. The rooms and the environment are very comfortable and clean. Our room "Bay room" has, how the name tells, a overwhelming view to the bay and the twelve apostels. The bar room and the salon are stylish and we had a opulent and nice breakfast. The distance to the beach and the main street is very short (150m), beautiful...
This accommodation is highly recommended. If we will stay another time in Camps Bay, then in Bay Atlantic again.

Bernd + Heike from Germany

Room Tip: The "Bay room" has a great view on the bay and the twelve apostels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Our Bay Room does have wonderful panoramic views of both Camps Bay and The Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, being on the first floor gives an elevated view that is difficult to surpass. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that we can look forward to hosting you again should you return to South Africa. Until then take care

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome at all times. Unfamiliar with the guesthouse concept but loved it - the opening up of the hosts home to travelers - making for a v special, relaxing, nothing is too much bother holiday.

Great location, good views only intrusion is big ugly block of flats between guesthouse and beach. Otherwise mountains, beach and camps bay can all be seen. Camps bay beach, bars, restaurants only 10 min walk.

Great breakfast. Can get a bit repetitive. Would be good to see a little more variety than the full English every morning... Croissants?

Lovely pool area where many guests - mainly Europeans in the plus thirty category - lounge around. Bar area with honesty policy, lounge/ tv rooms. Magazines and papers scattered about for guests. Free tea and coffee. Small bits that all contribute to making for home away from home, laid back atmosphere.

The family,hosts, staff are great people. Always at hand to answer questions, recommend restaurants, do laundry etc. They make it look effortless despite answering the same questions three times a day!

Rooms - you get what you pay for. Mountain v small but great value. Atlantic and Bay rooms big with balconies and views but on the pricer side... Garden and Pool darker ground floor... Too much furniture for my liking, looks too cluttered. I'd clear some out and create some space!

Overall it's an 8 out of 10. Great place, great people. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySzabo2, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We endeavour to create a home away from home for our guests including all of the little things that you may well have forgotten / need during your stay. Thank you for letting us know that you appreciated the effort.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stop, look no further, you have found the best B & B in Camps Bay, We have stayed here three times, not for a night not for afew nights but a MONTH. Home from home, all staff could not do enough, rooms beautiful and clean, fantastic views, breakfast superb what ever you want they will cook. They will help you with anything. Relax and enjoy a fantastic stay, you will go back again I promise, location perfect, you can see the beach, afew minutes walk to the main strip, you must visit the bayside cafe for the best steak in the world. Berni the owner and Kelly and Beach and Jen will be there for your needs, want a Brai ( BBQ ) no problem, honest trust me, and little Rusty gorgeous cute little white dog, will gladly eat any bacon left overs !! Trust me look no further just book and have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: The Penhouse, you have your own private terrace for sunbathing, we stayed here, the Atlantic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind words !!

Clientele returning year after year is part of what helps to motivate each and every staff member in terms of maintaining the consistently high standards that our guests have come to expect. The fact that you are so appreciative makes all of our efforts worthwhile

It will be a pleasure to host you once again in December of 2012 !! Until then take care.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic family
t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Having stayed at this small guest house a couple of times previously, I feel confident in giving this lovely holiday accommodation an excellent review.
Rooms are very clean and beautifully dressed. The property is close to the beach road so very convenient for enjoying all the restaurants and night life of Camps Bay without the need to drive.
Breakfast is as much or as little as you want with lots of variety and very enjoyable.There is a pool and sunbathing area,and safe parking in a gated area.
Staff are longstanding so no worries about leaving valuables about. Altogether a great little place to head for when visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite is fabulous with it's own private sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kim_hamilton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

We were equally happy to see both of you again - thank you for coming back !! Thank you also for the compliments in terms of our refurbishment programme they really are most appreciated.

As you are aware having been to stay with us previously ' Beach's ' omelettes are legendary making breakfast time the highlight of the day for many of our guests !! He will, I am sure, be happy to read your comments in this respect.

Lulu, Lucy and Zelpha all wish you a fond farewell and each and every one of us hopes to see you again soon.

Until then take care and travel safely

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and had a fabulous experience. Kelly and Bernie (the owner) have been as welcoming and hospitable as I could have dreamed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the location is a 5 minute walk from the ocean. After a 9 day safari they met all of my laundry needs and made me feel at home. The breakfast was stellar from the patio with views of camps bay. Tons of restaurants and shops in walking distance and most of all I felt very safe as a single woman traveling alone. Great intro to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayAtlantic, Director of Sales at The Bay Atlantic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Bay Atlantic and for your kind comments !! Service is the key word for all members of our staff . Knowing that we have met or exceeded your expectations makes all of our efforts in this respect worthwhile !

Enjoy the rest of your holiday in Cape Town. and safe travelling home.

Until we see you again - take care and travel safely.

Warm Regards
The Bay Atlantic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Atlantic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Atlantic Guest House

Address: 3 Berkley Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $79 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Atlantic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Atlantic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Hotel Camps Bay
The Bay Atlantic Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing