We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the view.. Food doesn't match up anymore..”
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Camps Bay for years and Paranga has always been a favourite and where I take my UK clients, but not again. The seafood platter which is supposed to be their speciality was pretty disappointing and average. It's R1000 and you expect the wow factor... There was no wow. Seafood was cooked well but a flat unimpreasive platter... Great for cocktails!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Good Day Helen,

It was very disappointing to read your latest review on Paranga, especially from a regular supporter of the business.

We would like to get more information if at all possible so we can rectify the matter internally. You may contact me on monique@kovecollection.co.za.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 922 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a nice environment and a great view of the sea. Though the music was a little bit to loud. The menu has a great choice of dishes to choose from; all of the plates are served with an interesting touch of style. The service overall is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank villy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Your amazing feedback and high rating is very much appreciated. Hoping to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good and the service excellent, but the main reason for coming to this part of town is purely for the sunset. Incredible as you sit back sipping a cocktail!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive review and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant. Having eaten at the Hinds Head in Bray last week. This restaurant was much more outstanding. The roasted goats cheese first course was subtle. The mussels had a very distinctive ginger taste. The tempura prawns were very delicately cooked. The tuna with sesame seeds and wasabi mash was amazing, How delightful to find such food service and food in my country!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for the great review and the 5 star rating.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went there on a relatively cold winter night. The staff arranged the heaters and shut the open entrance enough to make it quite cosy for us and also supplied blankets. Excellent service from a knowledgeable waiter and the food was also very good. This is Camps Bay and I suppose everything is quite pricey. Compared to other places in Cape Town and SA this was an expensive meal, but I guess you have to quite a bit extra for a location like this...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing