We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be seen on 'the strip'”
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the place to be seen on 'the strip' at camps bay! The atmosphere is always buzzing and its a great place to people watch whilst overlooking the beach. The food can be a bit hit and miss but always okay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Jenny,

We would like to thank you for your feedback, both good and constructive and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 834 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last visited this restaurant 10 years ago when staying in Camps Bay and highly rated it, but was disappointed when I returned in March this year. First impressions are always a good guide to what you can expect, unfortunately the meet and greet girl on the front desk was not up to the job. She could have at least had a smile on her face. We had booked through the concierge at The Table Bay Hotel, and had been promised a nice table. It was extremely busy, and the young lady looked around for a empty table. So much for the nice table. We were offered a table that seated four people and were told we might be joined by another couple - no thanks. We were then offered a table where the couple were about to leave, and could sit at the bar until the waitress cleared the table.
Was considering leaving by this time, but was persuaded by my wife to hang on in case we could not find somewhere else more accommodating.
Once seated found it very difficult to read the menu, due to the subdued lighting, and the loud music is not necessary.
The waitress Jean was very helpful, and could not fault her at all.
I realise its a young crowd that is attracted to the restaurant, but you could give some consideration to people who like to chat without having to shout above the music.
On the plus side food was not too bad, and as I said earlier the waitress was charming, but will give this place a miss next time in Cape Town.
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CIDHMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Good Evening Dundee,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit.

On behalf of the team, we would like to apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your evening and assure you that the matters will be dealt with internally.

We hope to be able to make it up to you some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We couldn't keep away from this place. Both lunch and dinner are fabulous. Great service and beautifully presented meals. Ask for the middle table at the top of the internal steps it has the best views and position.

Thank Chrissie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Chrissie,

Thank you so much for the great feedback and rating. We truly enjoy reading these kind of reports and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ate here as a group of 4 people. The food was tasty and well presented and the wine was very drinkable. We enjoyed Caesar salads, lamb and fish. The red wine was left on the table which allowed us to serve ourselves when ready. The white wine was placed in an ice-bucket set away from the table which meant our wives had to wait for the waiter to appear to serve them - they were left with empty glasses on several occasions. This may sound petty, but if a restaurant is going to set wine away from the table, then it's important that the waiter is attentive enough to ensure that glasses are refilled when necessary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sandylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Good Day Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meal, but disappointed about the inattentive service received upon you recent. I assure the matters will be dealt with internally to prevent a future occurrence and hope to be able to make it up to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just a great place to eat with a nice menu and a cool vibe. Service was attentive and if you're lucky enough to have the combination of a table with a view and a non-windy day in Cape Town then it's even better!

Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive feedback and fantastic rating!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing