We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“amazing stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A fantastic experience, great food, great service and I even enjoyed the few random African dancers and singers who were livening up the street ....
Sunset was the best I have seen in years and cocktails flowed into the evening.
THANK YOU.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the great feedback! Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    361
    135
    63
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful Dire”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Paranga was recommended to my sister and I by the hairdresser of the owner, must go to as an award winning restaurant. We arrived after making a reservation and were led to the very back of the restaurant and offered a table for six (there were two of us!). We refused the table and asked for something more appropriate for two - they gave us a four seater at the door of the kitchen, with waiters barging through and kithen staff shouting audibly over the music!! We asked to be moved, so our waiter said he'd find us a place more suitable. He then came and said we were being moved to the best seat in the house (imagine our anticipation!!), joke! we got sent to centre front facing the the road and the taxi's, how magical! Even the manager had the cheek to imply that we had a great view!! We couldn't see the sea because it was night time, just taxi's on view !!!! Food came and my steak was good. My sisters chicken, which I tried, was not good(tasted better at Nandos). The waiter then told us to try the Chocolate Fondante for dessert which took 20 mins to prepare. We went for the Chocolate Fondante! 20 minutes later the waiter arrived with a single Chocolate Fondante! When questioned as to where the second dessert was, he said he thought we only wanted one to share!?! My sister then said she would have Ice Cream instead. The waiter apologised and retreated to get the Ice Cream. A few minutes later the waiter appears with a sauce bowl no bigger than 10cm in diameter, containing a single scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream, at which point my sister just burst out laughing in sheer disgust at the apathy of the situation. On realising how stupid he was the waiter offered a second scoop of Ice Cream and scurried of to fetch it. Another few minutes later he reappears with not a dessert bowl with two fresh scoops of Ice Cream, but another sauce bowl with a single scoop of Ice Cream. You can't make it up! Fawlty Towers looks classy by comparison! At least the management in Fawlty Towers took an interest in there clients!!!! To add insult to injury, we were charged full price for the dodgy Ice Cream experience! I think that Paranga is up itself and not at all worth the money!! AVOID !!!! Get over yourselves and your award because you failed my expectations, had better at Cote in London, which is a chain!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Day,

I would like to apologies on behalf of the team for your disappointing dining experience.

We pride ourselves in putting our customers fist and have failed you in this regard. Is there any way that we can make it up to you upon your next visit to South Africa?

You may contact me directly on monique@kovecollection.co.za.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trendy, popular restaurant on the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were given a lovely table as close to the beach as possible (1 table away although you do have a road between you & the sand!). Food was good although perhaps a little "over-presented" for us - for example the deep fried brie looked like octopus!
Great atmosphere - marginally spoilt by a group of ladies who had obviously been there too long & had had a little too much! Management were very frustrated & kindly offered us pudding on the house as an apology! Would definitely eat there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback as well as the constructive criticism.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was exactly what we were looking for last night for dinner. Semi casual but has the feel of being in South Beach. The food was terrific. Be sure to get the Langostines(sp?), imagine tiny lobsters but more tender and delicious. There is also a traditonal South African desert we got, but cannot remember the name. The food and service were great, loved the lounge music too while we were eating dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dmp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and 5 star rating. Please do visit us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We all loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A group of five of us visited Paranga on a Friday evening after a really busy few days in the office. The whole experience was very good!

Between us we had seafood and meat, as well as desserts, and all were great quality and the portions were just right!

The service and ambience were also very good. No pressure to order and a friendly,relaxed approach from all staff, with just the right amount of urgency to feel you were being well looked after! We had a table at the back of the restaurant so there were no views for us, but that did not spoil our experience at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We truly appreciate the time you took to write your feedback! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing