We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Dire”
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Paranga was recommended to my sister and I by the hairdresser of the owner, must go to as an award winning restaurant. We arrived after making a reservation and were led to the very back of the restaurant and offered a table for six (there were two of us!). We refused the table and asked for something more appropriate for two - they gave us a four seater at the door of the kitchen, with waiters barging through and kithen staff shouting audibly over the music!! We asked to be moved, so our waiter said he'd find us a place more suitable. He then came and said we were being moved to the best seat in the house (imagine our anticipation!!), joke! we got sent to centre front facing the the road and the taxi's, how magical! Even the manager had the cheek to imply that we had a great view!! We couldn't see the sea because it was night time, just taxi's on view !!!! Food came and my steak was good. My sisters chicken, which I tried, was not good(tasted better at Nandos). The waiter then told us to try the Chocolate Fondante for dessert which took 20 mins to prepare. We went for the Chocolate Fondante! 20 minutes later the waiter arrived with a single Chocolate Fondante! When questioned as to where the second dessert was, he said he thought we only wanted one to share!?! My sister then said she would have Ice Cream instead. The waiter apologised and retreated to get the Ice Cream. A few minutes later the waiter appears with a sauce bowl no bigger than 10cm in diameter, containing a single scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream, at which point my sister just burst out laughing in sheer disgust at the apathy of the situation. On realising how stupid he was the waiter offered a second scoop of Ice Cream and scurried of to fetch it. Another few minutes later he reappears with not a dessert bowl with two fresh scoops of Ice Cream, but another sauce bowl with a single scoop of Ice Cream. You can't make it up! Fawlty Towers looks classy by comparison! At least the management in Fawlty Towers took an interest in there clients!!!! To add insult to injury, we were charged full price for the dodgy Ice Cream experience! I think that Paranga is up itself and not at all worth the money!! AVOID !!!! Get over yourselves and your award because you failed my expectations, had better at Cote in London, which is a chain!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Good Day,

I would like to apologies on behalf of the team for your disappointing dining experience.

We pride ourselves in putting our customers fist and have failed you in this regard. Is there any way that we can make it up to you upon your next visit to South Africa?

You may contact me directly on monique@kovecollection.co.za.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
There are newer reviews for Paranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 845 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were given a lovely table as close to the beach as possible (1 table away although you do have a road between you & the sand!). Food was good although perhaps a little "over-presented" for us - for example the deep fried brie looked like octopus!
Great atmosphere - marginally spoilt by a group of ladies who had obviously been there too long & had had a little too much! Management were very frustrated & kindly offered us pudding on the house as an apology! Would definitely eat there again.

Thank Bellybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback as well as the constructive criticism.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was exactly what we were looking for last night for dinner. Semi casual but has the feel of being in South Beach. The food was terrific. Be sure to get the Langostines(sp?), imagine tiny lobsters but more tender and delicious. There is also a traditonal South African desert we got, but cannot remember the name. The food and service were great, loved the lounge music too while we were eating dinner.

Thank Dmp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and 5 star rating. Please do visit us on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A group of five of us visited Paranga on a Friday evening after a really busy few days in the office. The whole experience was very good!

Between us we had seafood and meat, as well as desserts, and all were great quality and the portions were just right!

The service and ambience were also very good. No pressure to order and a friendly,relaxed approach from all staff, with just the right amount of urgency to feel you were being well looked after! We had a table at the back of the restaurant so there were no views for us, but that did not spoil our experience at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We truly appreciate the time you took to write your feedback! Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently had lunch at Paranga and I absolutely love the setting. Great decor, amazing views of the beach and ocean. The Service was good and food tasty. This is one of my favorite Camps bay Restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatrinLudik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hi there, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Paranga.

We truly value our customers feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing