We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Apartments
Reviewed May 27, 2013

a very nice spacious apartment in a good area..
everything was very well organised and clean.. not far from the ocean..

i suggest you rent a car.. its a bit of a mission to go from there to other places.. otherways taxi is fine if you not there for long...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Camps Bay to explore the area and Cape Town. The appartment we stayed in was excellent, very clean and with all the facilities we needed and more and very comfortable, we even got a sea peep! The Glen Apparments are well located for Camps Bay' its a short walk to the restaurants and sea but being set back they are quiet and safe.
The reception staff were very helpful with bookings for events and general help and when we had a problem with a sliding door the maintenance staff sorted it out within 30 mins.I would certainly go back to Glen Appatments if we returned to Cape Town/Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awk152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hi we have just returned from Cape Town,and stayed at the Glen whlist we were there. The appartment was excellent and very clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly and happy to give advise.Well equiped with all that you need whilst you are there.
The location was good, quick to the beach, good places to eat out and a handy supermarket aswell.
The pool is really just a plung pool, but nice to have anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in a studio, D19. Nice and clean and very well fitted for a holiday. Secure car park and balcony a bonus. Be aware that the apartments are adjacent to a school which does of course mean there is noise from the children.

Room Tip: Only a short walk up the hill from the seafront. It does mean that you are away from the noise of se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fabulous apartments which are very well maintained and cleaned. All staff were very helpful and flexible about allowing us an early check in when arriving early off an overnight flight.
Plenty of very good places to eat nearby in Camps Bay.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at The Glen in early March for a total of 9 nights, split by a stay in Franschhoek, therefore we experienced two apartments. Both were excellently appointed, very clean and modern, with everything you need (washing machine, dishwasher, irons, all cooks utensils, etc, etc). The views from both across to the twelve apostles, and a partial view to the sea was lovely (obviously depends upon apartment, and trees do restrict views slightly). Both had balconies to enjoy. We had our 19 month old son with us, and the apartment was safe for him (one had open tread stairs that we did have to block off though), and a cot and high chair was provided (at cost), as was babysitting through an agency. For the latter we had a lovely lady called Olga (ask for her if you can) every night and she was incredibly reassuring. For the odd night we did stay in and when our son needed a a bit of entertaining when he was unwell there is a good package of movies, kids channels, sport, etc on the TV. The pool is very small, more of a large plunge pool, but adequate for a quick dip to cool down, but if you have kids, there not going to find it the most entertaining, it's more of an area just to relax around for an hour or two on the sunbeds. We stayed at The Glen because most of the Camps Bay hotels aren't child friendly (most wont allow under-12's), and it gave us more flexibility, however the slight downside is you are not right on the front of Camps Bay, it is set back. However, it is an easy walk downhill (no more than 5mins) to the Bay, (even less to Glen Bay). Going back will take you prob twice that because it is a steep uphill, and depends entirely how fit you are as to whether you find that ok or not - our travel agent did say don't walk it at night, SA being SA, although we never felt unsafe anywhere the whole holiday, but took her advice. As we had our son and all his stuff we just drove and parking is easy on the main street or just off it, although get used to paying the 'parking attendants' (locals that 'look after your car') a few rand each time - they're very friendly though. There is a complimentary minibus they can arrange for you between the apartments and their sister hotel The Bay. Overall we were delighted with our stay at The Glen, and Camps Bay is beautiful, so much fun, and so accessible to so much you'll want to see while here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chpthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The apartment we had was fantastic , each bedroom with a bathroom, and a sea facing balcony. The dining and lounge areas are spacious with everything you need. A nice touch is that you are allocated 2 car parking spaces per flat. The staff are brilliant and very helpful

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 32 in Camps Bay
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Apartments

Address: 10 Chilworth Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $135 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a wooded area, The Glen Apartments takes its name from the 35 acre Glen forest nature reserve that the apartments verge on in Camps Bay. The Glen Apartments consists of luxury serviced apartments with views of the ocean, Twelve Apostles mountain range and Lion’s Head, and finished with modern and clean aesthetics and expansive windows that maximise the scenery. Guest enjoy exclusive arrangement with the bordering property, Camps Bay Retreat, offering a restaurant, spa and tennis court. We also offer exclusive membership to Sandy B Private Beach Club, situated at The Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Glen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Apartments Hotel Camps Bay
The Glen Apartments Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing