We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Apartments
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Glen Apartments in November 2012 and had a wonderful stay. We found it hard to find Glen Apartments on the Sat Nav as Chilworth Road didn't feature on it and the post code and co-ordinates listed on the site sent us miles away, so search for Sedgemoor Road, Camps Bay. Glen Apartments is on Chilworth Road off the seaside-end of Sedgemoor Road. Anyway, it was well worth the slightly tricky journey.

The apartments are nestled within beautifully kept grounds, there's a little swimming pool on-site which is nice for a dip but it's not really big enough to laps. The lovely thing about the whole site including the pool/sunbathing area is that you can see the 12 Apostles mountain range from most spots which is lovely. And if you need a bigger pool and more facilities, just pop down to the hotel group's Sandy B members club at The Camps Bay hotel. There does seem to be a bit of confusion about what Glen Apartments customers can access, one lady on reception told us we had full use of the hotel, members club and all facilities and another chap on the gate said we could only sit at the little pool and bar. We opted for the lady's advice and used the gym, pool and bar service. Plus there are some lovely little private pools overlooking the ocean, which is a wonderful place to chill, with your feet in the water, as the sun sets. And the sun sets are truly amazing in Camps bay.

Having a car is great, as you can zip to most of the usual tourist spots easily and parking at Glen Apartments is underground and free. There is a nice little Supermarket on the main shopping street in Camps bay (at the opposite end to Glen Apartments) called Pick 'n' Pay for all your groceries. And there is a brilliant fish restaurant called Cod Father above another bar or shop near the Pick 'n' Pay car park which is really well worth a visit.

Back at the Glen apartments, the staff are really friendly, helpful and attentive. Our apartment was a spacious, well appointed, super-stylish two-bedroom property with everything you could ever need in your own apartment back home, let alone a holiday property! We really didn't want to leave. Plus the washing machine and tumble dryer means you can head home with all your clothes clean and fresh.

We will most definitely be back the The Glen Apartments in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfromnw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The Glen Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Glen apartments are perfect place to spend your vacation ... we were accommodated in a large apartment.
two bedrooms, one large living room combined with open-plan kitchen and three bathrooms. just everything for a super holiday.
apartment was fully furnished with washing machine dryer cooker and other kitchen equipment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The 1 bedroom with loft apartment was well furnished and provided an excellent base from which to explore Cape Town's many wonders. The room was cleaned on a daily basis and had sufficient kitchen equipment to make regular meals. The staff was very helpful and the surroundings serene.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our last stop in South Africa, and was great. The location is perfect even if you are driving or going on foot, just 5-10mins to the beach and all restaurants and shops.
The property is really safe, there is a security officer by the gate, so you dont have to be afraid in the night :)) and your car is safely parked in the basement.
Rooms are really great equipped, with EVERYTHING (what you don´t need also), so comfortable, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and great sofa and BIG kitchen.
I would sure recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This apartment was disappointing. Impersonal. Poorly equiped kitchen if you actually wanted to cook anything. No view of sea. Worst issue was noise. Noisy fan in bathroom that meant the adjacent bedroom could not be used. When I mentioned this it clearly came as no surprise as I was told immediately "we cannot turn it off". Reasonable accommodation spoiled by this one thing. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlenApartments, General Manager at The Glen Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Jill S
Thank you for your feedback. It will be appreciated if you can mail me recommendations on any additional items we can add to our inventory in order to have a better equipped kitchen.

My sincere apologies for the noise from the bathrooms extractor fan and for the lack of communication; this issue was dealt with during your stay although it could not be 100% resolved at the time.

Please don't hesitate to contact me on manager@campsbaycollection.com

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

been there 5 nights,had great time!

around the area there are many attractions, and the landlords help you get around

Try to get there between november to march, so you'll enjoy the beaches, we've been in october and it was too cold

do n't miss the african food around..

Room Tip: take the corner rooms if available
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - accommodation lovely - really clean and very plush - all you could ask for. Staff very helpful as well. Only down side (if there has to be one) was that there was a school nearby and they started at 7.30 a.m. - so early start for us as well. Would fully recommend though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Apartments

Address: 10 Chilworth Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $115 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a wooded area, The Glen Apartments takes its name from the 35 acre Glen forest nature reserve that the apartments verge on in Camps Bay. The Glen Apartments consists of luxury serviced apartments with views of the ocean, Twelve Apostles mountain range and Lion’s Head, and finished with modern and clean aesthetics and expansive windows that maximise the scenery. Guest enjoy exclusive arrangement with the bordering property, Camps Bay Retreat, offering a restaurant, spa and tennis court. We also offer exclusive membership to Sandy B Private Beach Club, situated at The Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Apartments Hotel Camps Bay
The Glen Apartments Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing