We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Bataleurs Rontree was a great find for us. I was on vacation with my boyfriend and looking for an affordable option in the swanky Camps Bay area. The rooms were spacious and clean and the service was unbeatable. Dorea, the owner was always there to help, giving suggestions or advice on what to do in the area. The breakfasts were delicious too. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mkdunworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2008

Our stay at Bateleurs Rontree was more than pleasant,we enjoyed the quiet enviroment and the more than fabulous hospitality of the owner and her more than helpful and lovely staff.
We loved staying there,enjoying our breakfast (which was great) on the deck overlooking the bay and and table mountain,a beautiful view.
We definitely will come back!!!!!!!!
Kathrin from Germany

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Oli005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms named Sandpiper and we have enjoyed this stay very much. Things turned out to be exactly as descirbed on their webpage which is not too common in this business.

The room has been spacy enough for 2 people and came absolutely clean. I disliked the brown shower cabin which does not fit to the rest of the rooms interior, but this is just my personal opinion. The pool area is spacious too, newly decked (?) and offers a large terrace..

Buffet style breakfast is served allowing some additional orders like eggs and the food is just excellent. Different types of bread, cheese and fruits gave us a good start into the day.

Free internet is offered, too, but the best thing to mention is Dorea, the lady running this house. Being very helpful and friendly, she and her staff made us feel comfortable at all times.

Fred, March 2008, Germany

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

From very moment we arrived we couldn't have felt more welcome at this delightful guest house with stunning views down to Camps Bay.

Dorea, the lady who ran the guest house had arranged transport from the airport for us. We arrived very early in the morning, despite this, Dorea arranged an excellent breakfast for us. In fact every morning we were served with a delicious breakfast, including the freshest fruit, a choice of hot breakfast, toasts, cereals, yogurts etc. We were lucky and had blue skies every day, so were able to eat the breakfast on the decked terrace just outside our room looking down on the Bay. Idyllic.

We had chosen the smallest room in the guest house, the Sandpiper room. (In fact I think that was all they had left when we booked). However, the pictures on the internet made it look a lot smaller than it actually was, plenty of room, with a large en suite shower room and a separate area with a fridge and tea and coffee. I think the other rooms are even larger, the decor isn't ultra modern, but it is certainly extremely comfortable and exceptionally clean.

Our room was beautifully furnished with a four poster bed, white bedding, pale coloured walls and white heavy lined curtains to block out the early morning light. This room opened out on to the terrace, which we initially thought would affect our privacy, but didn't at all.

The room was serviced to the highest standards every day, including fresh flower and clean linens.

The pool area was great, newly decked, cushioned sun loungers, umbrellas, two newly added swinging chairs over the pool. Views looking down to the bay and up to the mountains.

It is about a 25 minute walk in to town, or you can get a taxi for 40 Rand. Camps Bay is a very lively, upmarket beach town with plenty going on. If you hire a car you are about 25 mins to Constantia or about an hour to the wine area of Stellenbosch.

Dorea couldn't have been more helpful, she was always on hand to help out with any queries, without being intrusive. She was happy to arrange and advise on restaurant reservations (some of the better restaurants are booked over a week in advance, if you have a particular favourite, it may be advisable to book before you leave home!).

It was the little touches that made the stay so much more special, being brought a glass of squash when I was sitting by the pool, being able to get our laundry done before we left, free use of the internet and just knowing whatever we asked nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely be going back.

We also stayed at the sister guest house Bateleurs on Theresa, just for a night. Again the hosts were extremely welcoming. It's a bit further up the hill, so still has stunning views. The owners were happy to run us in to town if we needed it.

Our room here, The Lavender room, had a lovely view and was light and airy with a nice cooling fan.

There is a pool, but it's more of a splash pool, but there is a lovely decked area as well looking across the bay.

Equally excellent breakfast. Whereas, Bateleurs on Rontree had a nice airy indoor breakfast room where you had space to sit in the day, the internal areas here were smaller and darker.

I guess the decor was a little twee, but even so our bedroom felt very comfortable.

Out of the two we preferred Rontree Avenue, although both were lovely.

Book early to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Superb location overlooking Camps Bay and Table Mountain, superb accommodation enhanced by the care and attention of Dorea du Plessis and her team.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank airton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

we found this place on the internet and they gave us a quote changing rooms half way through our stay. there was no other accommodation so we gave it a go.
there is a catch...... there are two bateleurs guest houses! one looks lovely with big spacious modern over priced rooms and the other is in a 70's time warp, with small rooms that look like something out of an old people home.
we arrived at the first of the two guest houses and were sent to the old peoples place. Perhaps they didn't like the look of our money!!!!
we the discovered that they had booked us into the second place against our wishes but had already deducted the money from our credit card so we ended up here at bateleurs on Rontree.
the place is over priced in typical camps bay style, the pool area is ok, breakfast not bad, rooms dated..... if you can block out the whining voice of the guest house manager constantly buzzing in your ear like a mosquito you may well have a plesant stay here. We didn't!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bettybooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#26 of 54 in Camps Bay
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
61 On Camps Bay
61 On Camps Bay
#29 of 54 in Camps Bay
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fullham Lodge
Fullham Lodge
#13 of 54 in Camps Bay
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Atlantica Boutique Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#20 of 54 in Camps Bay
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Rontree Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $88 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Bateleurs houses where you may indulge in total tranquility. Views in abundance. Beautiful decorated rooms with a brilliant dug-in swimming pool, where you can be kissed by the warm South African sun. Near to all major attractions, yet in a quiet cul du sac, where a good night's rest is secured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing