We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge
Review Highlights
Good shows

I have attended many shows at the Barnyard in Willowbridge and everytime it is a pleasure to... read more

Reviewed December 31, 2018
17valk
,
Bellville, South Africa
via mobile
Farm theatre feel

All their shows seem to be musical tribute shows, so if it's your thing, you will have the best... read more

Reviewed December 6, 2018
992fatimai
,
Monte Vista, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
32
44
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
44
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lead guitarist high energy popular music lots of fun picnic basket local artists farmyard performance abba tribute performers cast stage costumes audience impersonation wine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

I have attended many shows at the Barnyard in Willowbridge and everytime it is a pleasure to attend. Good facilities, excellent sound and perfect acoustic for musicals.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 17valk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnyard_SA, Public Relations Manager at Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. We truly appreciate your support for Cape Town Barnyard and we hope to see you at the next production :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We booked a staff function at the Barnyard and the numbers changed from 30 to 22 after all the RSVPs were in. We arrived an hour early, as we had been given incorrect times. The manager was initially not interested to allow us in earlier to place the gift bags inside, but eventually relented when we asked if we could then keep them in his office. When shown to our seats, it was to find we had two tables of 10 booked and the solution for the other two was that they had to sit at another table with their backs to the rest of the group. We presumed the other 8 seats had been taken at this table and were obviously not happy with the arrangement. The manager was arrogant, rude, bombastic and refused to consider any other solution to our dilemma. He would not consider moving two chairs to the tables of ten and eventually stormed out and said that he's not prepared to discuss the problem any further. Their rules were their rules and nothing could or would be done to help. When I saw him again, I asked if the "Squires" box was taken. This is a raised area in the corner which also seats 20 people. He checked his bookings and confirmed it was available and we could move there and had no problem with us taking two extra chairs into that area. When the show eventually started, we discovered that the 3 x 10 seater tables which were originally kept for our group were all three available. There were more open tables at the back, which could've also worked. Why had this manager not considered allowing us to use any of these tables initially? Why could he not even TRY to assist and find a solution to our problem? I unfortunately don't know his name. He was very proud of telling us that he has been the manager for the past 13 years, but never had the decency of introducing himself.
The show itself (Legends) was weak and a huge disappointment. Elvis impersonator did not even bother to wear a wig or sideburns. What a joke he was. The only person worth mentioning was the chap who did the Little Richie and Michael Jackson impersonations. He was brilliant. Without him, the show would've been awful.
We were really so disappointed. Hopefully this isn't the trend for the future.
Oh and the bar tab - this HAD to be settled at interval, as the bar closes before the end of the show. We were never told this and were unable to inform our staff to stock up for the second half of the show.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 402nickyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

All their shows seem to be musical tribute shows, so if it's your thing, you will have the best time. Shows are quite entertaining. They have pizzas and drinks on sale that can be enjoyed at the table. Most tables seems to be big group bookings, so take a few friends and family members.
I would recommend giving it a try. It's in Willowbridge mall, so ample paid parking.a good night out

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 992fatimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnyard_SA, Public Relations Manager at Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your support for Barnyard and we hope to see you rocking with us again soon!

All the best,
The Barnyard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

It is the 3rd show we attended this year. We took a crowd of Irish friends along. They loved the show. Even though there were not a lot of people on a Tuesday eve, the people had “lekker gees” and everybody had loads of fun.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dirmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnyard_SA, Public Relations Manager at Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thank you so much for the awesome feedback and review Dirmu :) We are so pleased you had a rocking time with us and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, The Barnyard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Always have fun at the Barnyard shows. Seating is good - you can see the stage well from anywhere you sit. You can take your own food or buy there. Great for a group of friends or birthdays.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 942Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnyard_SA, Public Relations Manager at Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you so much for the rocking feedback and review Lesley :) We hope to see you again soon and thank you for supporting Barnyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews