We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not hollow at all”
Review of The Hollow Tree

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hollow Tree
Ranked #58 of 75 Restaurants in Bellville
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not hollow at all”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would never find my way to this place in huge Cape Town, maybe because I was also just a passenger, lol. They have every Sunday this braai dish with all sorts of meat and veggies, quite yummy. Kids party was going on with all the kids running around the tables or staring at you - made me feel a bit uncomfortable. The setting is nice under those huge trees and on pebble ground.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Myself, my husband and our daughters had lunch here whilst holidaying in Bellville. The food was delicious (I had the chicken liver dish and it was fantastic) and the service was second to none. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service & food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great pub - definitely one of the best in Cape Town's northern suburbs. The food is good - and they have their own range of fantastic sauces. Nice atmosphere and plenty of outdoor seating. (Now if they would only stock Guinness on tap...)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of the best cheese sauce burgers I've had in a while. The chilli burger is also something you have to try!

They have a great menu with something to suit everyone.

Fast friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Tree also viewed

 
Bellville, Cape Town
Bellville, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hollow Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing