We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding quality, value for money and friendly service”

Thaifoon Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Bellville
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oustanding quality, value for money and friendly service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I are regulars at this wonderful little restaurant and after you try it, you will be hooked. The service is excellent, the waitress, chef and owner are charming and the food is to die for. I have tried several dishes, all of which were delicious, healthy portions and good value for money. I read a review about another local Thai restaurant in Durbanville with rave rewiews, but after trying it I was most disappointed. Thaifoon has set the bar far too high. Do yourself a favour and try it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in Cape Town”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant venue & great food. Everything was made fresh. The service was excellent to say the least. I had the Crispy Duck & Thaifoon Sauce and all I can say is oh my word. Excellent value for money. We will definitly go back there soon and take a lot of friends, thank you, thank you

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Walla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Thaifood in Cape Town”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We love Thai food, have been to Thailand and are going again in 2 weeks, have been to most of the Thai restaurants in Cape Town and have been eating Thai food for years, but we had the best Thai food ever at Thaifoon last night! The owner was very friendly and talked to us for quite a while. He recommended the Duck in Thaifoon sauce - basically a Honey sauce, but with added chillies and garlic. It was the MOST divine meal I've EVER had! The meat was succulent and the flavours divine! We also had the Chicken green curry, which was also the nicest green curry we've ever had! The decor is also lovely and they have a nice selection of beers - Thai and even German. Well done Thaifoon - we will definitely be back - often!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnekeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I often go there as I love there crispy duck. There menu is so big that it can get confusing i a good way....LOL as there is so many lovely meals to choose from, but I always land up having there duck and everytime we say wow the food is outstanding. The prices of the meals are also value for money. There friendly service goes with it, which makes it even more pleasant. Will certainly go back again :-D

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaifoon Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Bellville, Cape Town
 

Been to Thaifoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing