We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bellville
Pretoria
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Very friendly service from the staff from checking in until our check out. Was surprised to learn it is only a 2 star lodge, as it is better than most 3 stars I've stayed in. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
4
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for the night of the Bruce Springsteen concert as the hotel overlooks the Bellville Velodrome. We chose the hotel purely for its location and were not expecting much. However the hotel is very well run and the staff very friendly. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are very small andthere is nowhere to place your bags except on the floor so for two adults with a suitcase each it is a bit claustrophobic. On teh other hand the bathroom was quite spacious. The pool area and garden are a quiet oasis with some nice shade. The breakfast was excellent and even though they do not provide any other meals they have arrangements with several local caterers who provide "room service" and a bar which was open from 16:00 to 23:00 during our stay. There are also many restaurants along the main road in teh vicinity of the hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor seemed brighter and more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days, and even though the rooms are quite small, they are very well equipped. Functional and perfect for a business stay. What impressed me was the friendly, professional and helpful staff. Everybody made us feel very welcome and assisted with any need we had. Thanks for making our stay a comfortable one. I will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Riaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for your review - we're glad you were well looked after!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The professional service of this hotel exceeds all expectations. Room and bathroom is not spacious, which can be expected, but staff will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. the attitude of all the staff is to provide a professional service. This hotel is really a good value for money option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Town Lodge, Bellville, is probably the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. The hotel entrance (featured in promotional material) looks acceptable, but Once you reach your room you are in for a shock. The rooms are tiny, with the toilet almost touching the shower. The carpets and decor is shabby, and the bed is made up with worn sheets and a blanket that has obviously been around for a long time. The television is tiny and old, and the air conditioning is also in dire need of an update. I would really not rate these room as fit for occupation unless you are really desperate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EleniDanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellville hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The common areas of the hotel seems to have had a refurb and is really nice, the reception area, pool area, breakfast restaurant and bar area.

Check in was smooth and efficient, friendly staff and always willing to assist. Got to my room to find huge spiders in my bathroom, had to call for some instant killing spray! Got rid of the spiders and remained in my allocated room as it was only for one night.

The rooms are your typical Town Lodge rooms however my room was rather dated and in need of a refurb. The television set was ancient! Sleep quality was good and linen typical of Town Loge, not the best but not worst either. Rooms service was offered from the adjacent restaurant, did not order though.

Breakfast was great and the choice was continental or full English, I had the full English which was good. The hotel was good for one night and will return only because it is the closest to where I need to be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Friendly Services, Excellent stay, Cleanliness 10/10
and beautiful kolgans in the garden, a must to see.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LekkaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellville
4.1 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
2.2 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
6.4 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel

Property: Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Address: Willie van Schoor Avenue, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the rooms overlook Tygerberg valley, and others the swimming pool. For guests’ convenience, there is a restaurant on the property. The hotel is 5 minutes from Bellville CBD, next to Parc du Cap office park in Tygervalley, close to the Stellenbosch Business School and the conference/athletics stadium at the Bellville Velodrome. It is a 20 minute drive from the Cape Town airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Bellville The Hotel Bellville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing