We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Maroela House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maroela House
Ranked #3 of 29 Bellville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly hospitality and very comfortable, nice to chat to a fellow Paisley Buddy:-)
Location excellent for work in the Northern Suburbs of Cape Town; nice to avoid traffic on the M3!
Many thanks I shall be back in the near future:-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixienicnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Pixienicnak!
Seldom do I meet someone from my hometown. I was very pleased to host such a SPECIAL guest. Thank you for your very kind words about Maroela, I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
27
6
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France, Germany, Vietnam, Usa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We feel very comfortable to stay in this guesthouse . Our room is located in garden, small but warm enough for two. The way in is very beautiful until to Our door. We can easy relax , quite place. Service is TOP.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Kevin L,
What a delight to meet you both. Thank you for posting the photo from the garden entrance to your Maroela Suite. I am so happy you appreciated our peaceful surrounds..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would recommend this quest house to anyone - very private rooms and excellent hospitality. Very clean and affordable. The yard was very well maintained and the swimming pool always clean and refreshing. We only stayed for 3 nights but loved every minute of it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnneB480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Anne & Family
What a pleasure to meet you & your family. It was great to host all of you from different parts of the world, you were all so relaxed and easy to please, our job was easy. Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a wonderful guesthouse. Our room was a perfect size and extremely clean and tidy. The fridge and microwave were also appreciated for storing a bottle of wine or for reheating food picked up during the day. The pool/garden is a fantastic area to hang out in after a day of exploring.

Breakfast was superb. We loved the different choices of fruit and how we have whatever cooked breakfast we liked depending on what was in the fridge! Just at the end of the road there is also a lay by that offers stunning views across Cape Town and Table Mountain - we stopped here most days for a few minutes to take in the view, especially later in the evening when all the lights come on across Cape Town.

However, the real gem of the guesthouse is Mary Pat - she is a fantastic hostess and makes you feel right at home. We loved the fact that she listened to what our plans were for the day and offered suggestions on things to do in that area or which route to drive there. It was great to have that local knowledge and meant we had a fantastic time exploring Cape Town.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone and will certainly be staying here again the next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello My `Doha' Couple, wow what a very special review to receive. Hosting such an enthusiastic, outgoing couple was a my pleasure. A big thank you for the time you have taken giving a Maroela fabulous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Mary Pat is an excellent hostess and absolute delight. She made our stay feel at home and was very helpful at recommendations in the area. The room was cute, comfy and just the right size. The sunken tub, soft towels and personal toiletries were a bonus. The garden and sunroom were relaxing places to hang out and relax. The guest house is close to airport so it was nice not to rush. The neighborhood is safe and peaceful and gave a good nights rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello Travelgirl2126,
It was so interesting to meet the two of you, thank you for a very thoughtful review, you took time to notice things in your short stay. I wish you both well for the future with lots more exciting travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I spent 30 days at Maroela House and it was excellent. The friendliness and service (same day laundering), breakfasts (fruit-and-cereal to full-English) are seriously good, and peace and quiet, all contributed to a first-class experience. Mary Pat is always attentive to what her guests need and goes out of her way to help. The rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and quiet. The gardens are a delight and provide very enjoyable shady corners for work (wifi everywhere). The location is outstanding, high up on the Loewenstein and easy access to expressways to all major driving destinations (downtown Cape Town 15 minutes, Somerset West 30 minutes, Stellenbosch 30 minutes). The neighborhood is excellent for walks, with a superb view, 5 minutes away, Westwards over Cape Town to Table Mountain (catching sunset is a must). Two shopping malls with restaurants are within 5 minutes drive. Maroela House is where you want to stay (please don't fully book it on the dates of my next visit).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear John W,
What a great review to receive John, you left nothing out in the detail and painted a picture of Maroela and it's surroundings. I will endeavour to keep Maroela on track for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have felt extremely comfortable at Mareola house.
The house and rooms are very nice and clean. The atmosphere fantastic. The garden a real delight.

Mary Pat is an excellent hostess. She really makes you feel at home, relaxed and comfortable. She is extremely kind and at the same time very respectful of your privacy. The breakfasts are of the highest category.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Maroela house.

(I didn't pay, so I cannot comment on value)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Berta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Ola Berta r
Thank you for taking the time to give Maroela a fantastic review. If you are comfortable then I am a happy hostess. So glad you enjoyed the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellville
Excellent Guest House
#2 of 29 in Bellville
166 reviews
Old Oak Guest House
#1 of 29 in Bellville
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Lodge
#1 of 11 in Bellville
192 reviews
Evertsdal Guesthouse
#1 of 38 in Durbanville
227 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#27 of 155 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maroela House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maroela House

Property: Maroela House
Address: 17 Maroela Street, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maroela House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Maroela House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing