We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday delight!”

Ocean Basket Tygervalley
Ranked #54 of 106 Restaurants in Bellville
Price range: $7 - $27
Description: At Ocean Basket Tygervalley you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Restaurant details
Description: At Ocean Basket Tygervalley you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

We spent a casual evening celebrating Granny's birthday at Ocean Basket, Tygervalley. Tasty sushi, fish and chips and platters, some good wine and friendly service contributed to an enjoyable evening. Granny even did the Zorba dance and the traditional plate smashing. Thanks to staff.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lionel941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hello Lionel941,

Thank you for this fin-tastic review! So happy to read that the food and service were a hit!

We look forward to having you back again at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, soon.

Many Thanks,
The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2019

The price tag is medium and the seafood selection small, but they make up for it with interesting dishes.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank gerhard-bgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hi there Gerhard-Bgb,

Thanks for the review. We are happy to hear that you loved our seafood!

We hope to "sea" you again soon,

Many Thanks,
Team Ocean Basket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

My husband and i decided to try Ocean Basket tygervalley..when we stepped in i was amazed at how gorgeous the place was renovated..ambience nice and warm..thinking by myself..i would luv to come back here..THEN.ordered fish n chips..by far the worst fish we EVER had! Manager took it away and made "new" fish for takee-away..at home we opened it..EXACTLY the same as what we had..could not eat it..rubbery...dry..tasteless..very dissapointed...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atdawn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

We are concerned to see that yours and your husbands' experience was not a good one. If you could please send us your details and feedback via our website so we can contact you directly to resolve this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

Ocean Basket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

If you just want a plain no frills meal then they do okay. Our sever was polite but not very good. We had to request bread as none was brought to our table. Then my daughter's meal arrived well before mine. Not good timing and this is not good enough. Both meals were nice but nothing special. But what really upset me was the fact that such a large chain store serving FISH is still providing PLASTIC straws. I mean everybody knows this is so bad for the ocean and should be stopped immediately. when I asked the manager about it, he said they still use the plastic but he would mention it to Head Office. I wont be back as the whole attitude was one of disinterest in the customer.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shellyschoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Hey there shellyschoeman,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please send us your details and feedback via our website so we can contact you directly to resolve this matter.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We attended a launch of a new shop at TygerValley and decided to stop at the Ocean Basket for dinner. The restaurant is modern and clean and although we had to que for a table, the service was excellent and the food was tasty as always.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mnheunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Tygervalley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

This review is o-fish-ally awesome mnheunis.

So glad to read about your great food and service experience. We look forward to having you back again soon.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket Tygervalley also viewed

 
Bellville, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket Tygervalley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing