We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cozy place”
Review of Baconville

Baconville
Ranked #14 of 109 Restaurants in Bellville
Description: A bacon-themed restaurant in Willowbridge, a beautiful open-air mall in Cape Town's northern suburbs. Delicious meals for breakfast, brunch and lunch. For those who, amazingly, don't like bacon we have dishes for you too. Children friendly with a play area outside. Coffee to die for, fabulous milkshakes and cake! What more could you want?! Oh ... a drop of local beer, wine or spirit? Coming up ...
Restaurant details
Description: A bacon-themed restaurant in Willowbridge, a beautiful open-air mall in Cape Town's northern suburbs. Delicious meals for breakfast, brunch and lunch. For those who, amazingly, don't like bacon we have dishes for you too. Children friendly with a play area outside. Coffee to die for, fabulous milkshakes and cake! What more could you want?! Oh ... a drop of local beer, wine or spirit? Coming up ...
Reviewed May 8, 2018

It's a nice an cozy little corner in Willowbridge. They mainly do sandwiches, burgers and hot dogs, but on a gourmet level. Most of it contains bacon.

Priced relative reasonably, with decent portions that keeps you going for the rest of the day (we skipped dinner). Good quality.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThysM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieBVille, Public Relations Manager at Baconville, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Thank you for your review. So glad we filled you up and made you happy. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Lunch with friends the setting is good in Willow Bridge mall, plenty of cheap parking above and under ground. Needless to say their emphasis is on all things bacon. There is a good variety of dishes all with reasonable prices and the service was quite good.

Unfortunately it is unremarkable like dozens of others its has nothing to set it aside and move from average to good. The food is OK but thats all it is, you should try it especially if you are into bacon, but don't set your expectations to high, I will no doubt give it a second chance but no time soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieBVille, Public Relations Manager at Baconville, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Eddie

Thank you for your review. Perhaps you could give us more details about your expectations and how they weren't met?

We're happy to read that you felt there was a good variety and that our prices are reasonable as well as being satisfied with the service. We feel that our pasture fed, air-dried bacon is quite remarkable compared to supermarket bacon; that our service is far above average and that our ingredients are fresh and locally sourced.

Would love to hear some ideas, as we do from all our customers!

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

After the process used to cure the bacon served was explained i knew why it tasted so good! Their breakfast special is more than emough and at R40 including a coffee it was good value.

If you want to do a brekkie ... this is the place!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieBVille, Public Relations Manager at Baconville, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Thank you Adrian! So glad you enjoyed the bacon. And, yes, the breakfast special (2 eggs, bacon, toast and tomato with an Americano coffee) for R40 is amazing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Stopped one morning for a business breakfast and found the Bacon to be wonderfully different and as I recall it in New York. Lovely. Nice Breakfast and coffee special by the way.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank RicardoPorticelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieBVille, Public Relations Manager at Baconville, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Ricardo
Thank you stopping by and for your review. So happy that you love the bacon too! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Of course when we needed a good hangover breakfast we looked no further than a place called Baconville. This place lived up to its name, as almost everything on the menu features bacon. Its cheeky menu gave us a giggle as well. My favorite was “With Apologies to David Chang”. I had the poached eggs, rocket, and bacon atop sourdough with a sesame and onion chili sauce, and Tony went with the Pastrami sandwich. Other items featured were “The Frank Sinatra”, a handmade gourmet frank on a roll with kraut, onion, cheese, and mustard (We did it our way), “The Joey Tribbiani”, a meatball sandwich with sauce that will drip down your chin with every bite (How you doin, friends?), and “The Unicorn Burger”, a pork burger with chorizo spices, leaves, tomato, and fried onions. The don’t pour a bad cup of joe either!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank jessicaaU9987DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieBVille, Public Relations Manager at Baconville, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Jessica
Yes, good bacon, good coffee and a good laugh can usually fix most things. Hope you felt better when you left! Thanks for the review. And see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baconville also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Brackenfell, Cape Town
Bellville, Cape Town
 

Been to Baconville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing