We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommendable :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Strydenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely recommendable :-)”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I travel on a regular basis and have stayed at some of the most famous hotels around the world. Lemoenfontein Game Lodge is run by two of the nicest people you will ever encounter. I have stayed there previously and had the privilege of doing so again on the 30th of January 2011 and had such a lovely evening. At that time the lodge was fully booked and all the guests gave the impression that they also enjoyed their stay and that they would highly recommend it. For me as a nature lover who enjoys Lemoenfontein and its surroundings, it is unthinkable that some people can be negative about it.

Keep up Kobus, Ingrid and your staff. Until next time!

PETER WRIGHT
Kareekloof, Constantia & Hermanus
PO Box 7
STRYDENBURG
8765

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterWright20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    178
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
214
302
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend 2 nights in Dec 2010 at Lemoenfontein and as usual thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.As a regular guest, I was shocked and saddened to see a really negative review on your website. Our accommodation has always been more than adequate, clean and the service friendly and welcoming. While I do appreciate that some people are looking for 5 star bling, the beautiful Karroo offers a completely different experience, pleasantly laid back, yet effcient. Ingrid, Kobus and their staff have always been more than accommodating and I would highly recommend Lemoenfontein as an amazing destination.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joantindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The decor and premises were shabby and down -at-heel. The impression was that the place is on its last legs. Last decorated (and perhaps last cleaned !) in the 70's. There were no staff on duty save for 2 very unfriendly and unwelcoming administrative employees in a dusty office who had to be searched for on our arrival in order to check-in. We were then waved in the general direction of our room and had to find it and struggle there with our luggage without help. The place is run on a shoestring and guests are left to fend for themselves in this hostile ramshackle environment. Avoid at all cost! We fled.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfisher30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoen, Owner at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
It came as a huge shock to read an immensely negative review from a guest. Regrettably the facts written in the review are hostile, vindictive and not true to the reason the guests “fled” but the fact that a midday meal could not be produced at 5:00pm, as the kitchen was closed and catering staff only due to arrive 6pm in order to prepare for the evening meal. It must also be noted that these guests had been lying enjoying themselves at the pool since early afternoon. We wish to state that these guests stayed at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge a year earlier and chose to return a year later – if they felt that Lemoenfontein was last cleaned and decorated in the 70’s and “on its last legs”, why did they choose to come and stay again? The Lodge is a magnificent building erected in the mid 1800’s and will therefore never appeal to those who prefer new and modern – our decor is fresh, stylish and compliments the era and feel of the building and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Spent 2 nights there this month. Pleasant, beautiful setting up against the mountains, clean, good food and service. The leg of lamb was delicious. The double shower in the room one was a bonus but was very, very slippery, as was the bathroom floor. Shower mats should sort out this problem. Our first visit and hopefully not our last. Welcoming hosts and attractive pool area.

  • Liked — The wide open spaces of the Karoo
  • Disliked — Having to sit with strangers at the same table and make small talk !
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed here overnight on our way to Cape Town and compared to the usual places one tend to use for overnight stays, this was heaven.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable, and opens onto a rose garden where my little one liked to play. As soon as we got there, hot and bothered from our long drive, we headed for the swimming pool, my husband got us some drinks and we relaxed and swam and took in the scenery. The view of the mountains and surrounding areas are spectacular and so peaceful.

We decided to have dinner there that night and what a pleasure. You sit on a huge farmstyle veranda with candles and there are a few large tables which you share with some of your fellow guests. We are quite private and would not normally enjoy this, but the staff had the good sense to place us with another couple with 2 small boys (and I must say they behaved better than my 1 small girl!). This was great because the kids could entertain each other and we had some interesting company.

The food was delicious, traditional south african fare.

Now that I am living in England, I long for places like these - wide open spaces, hot sunshine, excellent food, bright stars -beautiful...

  • Liked — The atmosphere, the food and the mountain views.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

This is 5k off the main N12 just out side BW .Its situated near the Karoo National Park but has its own game drive.The view and the accomodation is top Class .In some ways the dinning is like and old english country house with all residents being encouraged to sit together around large tables .The food is out standing and the oxtail is to die for.Its very oldfashioned in it approach.there are paths to follow up the mountain although they get a bit steep the father up .The water could be bottled and sold its that good.Can be very hot in summer although the wind was cold when we were there .
Its a good stop on the way north from Cape Town.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hantshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
3.9 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
348 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
331 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#11 of 22 in Beaufort West
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Teri - Lemveli Lodge
Teri - Lemveli Lodge
#3 of 17 in Beaufort West
66 reviews
4.9 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
91 reviews
4.8 mi away
Die Herehuis
Die Herehuis
#1 of 17 in Beaufort West
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemoenfontein Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemoenfontein Game Lodge

Property: Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Address: De Jager's Pass Road, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemoenfontein Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lemoenfontein Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing