We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had the real pleasure of staying just one night after a couple of days on the road. What a super, tranquil relaxing place with really warm and friendly hosts, a great braai and a delicious breakfast. Saw lots of book, zebra and birds as well as an added bonus! The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and there are both more rooms and they are bigger than it appears when you arrive. Try it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 693 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

A wonderful gamelodge awaited us as weary thirsty travellers from Cape Town. Beautiful room and grounds, and superb hospitality. The staff were amazingly attentive.
The food, dinner, was a bit ordinary but palatable. Expected Karoo lamb rather than roast chicken and oxtail all as one dish.
Will return :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a very cold and rainy time here in late october 2012. Too cold for a Game drive with the open jeep. Dinner and breakfast were inside with some birds flying around in the room, because of windows not closing properly. The rooms were relatively cold during our stay. All common rooms had open fires. The bar was nice and everybody around was very friendly. The meals were very good. The Lodge has nice views and you can walk around through a very nice garden. We can recommend this place. It is not a luxury Game Lodge, but a perfect location for visiting the Karoo national park.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HolidaycheckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent one night at Lemoenfontein on our way from Pretoria to Cape Town. The location is great and it is certainly a good stopover coming from Johannesburg or Pretoria.The food (both dinner and breakfast ) was excellent and the room spacious and clean. Jenny was a good host and the general atmosphere was very peacefull. Would definately stay over again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which is spacious however I believe room 1 and 5 is also nice with a garden view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoRenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After doing the long trip from Johannesburg to Cape Town in one day we decided to take it easy on the way home and booked into Lemoenfontein for 1 night. We arrived at 3pm and were personally greeted and shown to our room. The room was beautiful and cosy with a king size bed and en suite bathroom with a bath and shower. Dinner was served on the patio and there is an honesty bar for drinks. The dinner was a buffet with the most wonderful array of meats and vegetables including the much longed for Karoo lamb. After a delicious dinner we went to look at the stars because that is what the Karoo is known for and it didn't disappoint.
The next morning we had booked to go on a game drive before breakfast. What a treat! We were taken to go and see the giraffes who have been introduced into the area and you have your coffee and rusk break whilst standing among them. It was the perfect way to end a brilliant stop over.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beansy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On our way home from a three week road-trip in the Western Cape we decided our stop-over - after many recommendations - would be Lemoenfontein. On arrival at 13h00 three ladies at reception told us we were early, however they offered us lunch while our room was being prepared. To our horror on giving them our name, discovered that the booking was not for that particular day, but for the next. This was NOT their error, but ours. There was no accommodation available for that night and we had no alternative but to get back on the road and travel a further 980km back to Johannesburg. However, when we asked if we could still get a bite to eat, the attitude changes immediately and we were told that it would take too long and they were unable to help us.We also asked if it would be possible for a refund, our room being paid up in full. We were told they would revert. The following day, on arriving home we mentioned to friends that our room would be availble if they needed a stop-over. When they called the room had already been let out. Double income on one room for Lemoenfontein. After three emails we were told that they would not refund us even though they had suffered no loss and had in fact filled the room, but would keep 50% of the deposit for a visit in the future. Another email was sent by us which was ignored UNTIL a phone call from Kobus. After a brief, amicable discussion we agreed on settling for a 50% refund. We deem this to be fair, in light of the fact that we acknowledge that the error was ours, however the establishment suffered no loss, let out the room and still keep the remaining 50%. Thank you for getting back to us Kobus....Would we try again, well, at this stage we are not sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoenfontein, Owner at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Every establishment has a cancellation policy which upon paying your deposit signals acknowledgement and acceptance thereof. We challenge this guest to provide proof of our profiteering from her mistake as we reject this statement in the strongest terms. We went as far as to refund the guest 50% of her deposit of which she telephonically displayed her acceptance and gratitude. This was as an act of goodwill to try and compensate her for a mistake she made whilst minimising our loss.
We categorically deny saying it was too late to provide lunch – it was the guest’s husband who said that they did not have time for lunch as they still had a 1000 km trip to undertake that afternoon due to their own very unfortunate mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful old Lodge,with its lovely and modern bedrooms. Fabulous views with a well cared for and beautiful pool area.Management and staff extremely helpful and caring.My anticiapation for the food was not matched by the delivery. Food was Ok but needs to be special to match the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
3.9 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
368 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ko-Ka Tsara Bush Camp
Ko-Ka Tsara Bush Camp
#2 of 21 in Beaufort West
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
94 reviews
4.5 mi away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#4 of 22 in Beaufort West
62 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#12 of 22 in Beaufort West
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemoenfontein Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemoenfontein Game Lodge

Address: De Jager's Pass Road, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range: $81 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemoenfontein Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lemoenfontein Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing