We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stopover”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent one night at Lemoenfontein on our way from Pretoria to Cape Town. The location is great and it is certainly a good stopover coming from Johannesburg or Pretoria.The food (both dinner and breakfast ) was excellent and the room spacious and clean. Jenny was a good host and the general atmosphere was very peacefull. Would definately stay over again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which is spacious however I believe room 1 and 5 is also nice with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoRenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    180
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
220
307
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After doing the long trip from Johannesburg to Cape Town in one day we decided to take it easy on the way home and booked into Lemoenfontein for 1 night. We arrived at 3pm and were personally greeted and shown to our room. The room was beautiful and cosy with a king size bed and en suite bathroom with a bath and shower. Dinner was served on the patio and there is an honesty bar for drinks. The dinner was a buffet with the most wonderful array of meats and vegetables including the much longed for Karoo lamb. After a delicious dinner we went to look at the stars because that is what the Karoo is known for and it didn't disappoint.
The next morning we had booked to go on a game drive before breakfast. What a treat! We were taken to go and see the giraffes who have been introduced into the area and you have your coffee and rusk break whilst standing among them. It was the perfect way to end a brilliant stop over.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beansy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On our way home from a three week road-trip in the Western Cape we decided our stop-over - after many recommendations - would be Lemoenfontein. On arrival at 13h00 three ladies at reception told us we were early, however they offered us lunch while our room was being prepared. To our horror on giving them our name, discovered that the booking was not for that particular day, but for the next. This was NOT their error, but ours. There was no accommodation available for that night and we had no alternative but to get back on the road and travel a further 980km back to Johannesburg. However, when we asked if we could still get a bite to eat, the attitude changes immediately and we were told that it would take too long and they were unable to help us.We also asked if it would be possible for a refund, our room being paid up in full. We were told they would revert. The following day, on arriving home we mentioned to friends that our room would be availble if they needed a stop-over. When they called the room had already been let out. Double income on one room for Lemoenfontein. After three emails we were told that they would not refund us even though they had suffered no loss and had in fact filled the room, but would keep 50% of the deposit for a visit in the future. Another email was sent by us which was ignored UNTIL a phone call from Kobus. After a brief, amicable discussion we agreed on settling for a 50% refund. We deem this to be fair, in light of the fact that we acknowledge that the error was ours, however the establishment suffered no loss, let out the room and still keep the remaining 50%. Thank you for getting back to us Kobus....Would we try again, well, at this stage we are not sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoenfontein, Owner at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Every establishment has a cancellation policy which upon paying your deposit signals acknowledgement and acceptance thereof. We challenge this guest to provide proof of our profiteering from her mistake as we reject this statement in the strongest terms. We went as far as to refund the guest 50% of her deposit of which she telephonically displayed her acceptance and gratitude. This was as an act of goodwill to try and compensate her for a mistake she made whilst minimising our loss.
We categorically deny saying it was too late to provide lunch – it was the guest’s husband who said that they did not have time for lunch as they still had a 1000 km trip to undertake that afternoon due to their own very unfortunate mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful old Lodge,with its lovely and modern bedrooms. Fabulous views with a well cared for and beautiful pool area.Management and staff extremely helpful and caring.My anticiapation for the food was not matched by the delivery. Food was Ok but needs to be special to match the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 1 night on our way up north and it was great, but a 2nd night would have been even better! The old house and grounds (previously a hunting lodge we're told) has been beautifully preserved with just the right balance achieved between old Karoo farmstead and modern-rustic design and fittings. Relaxing and peaceful, but plenty of walking available and even our 2 boys (8 and 10) found activities to amuse themselves between the pool, Kiki the macaw and numerous dogs and cats to befriend:). We ate dinner and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the wholesome fare on both occasions. Everyone friendly and helpful. We stayed in rm 9 with large comfy dbl bed (queen size maybe?) with boys on mattresses on floor.
I recommend the 2nd night (or early arrival and late departure) with 1 night in order to better view the game. We only had time for a short walk (which was still great) but did not get to see much. Next time maybe.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to vary in size, furnishings and amenities depending on where they are and so will your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baobabjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at Lemoenfontein. After checking in etc, we were asked to please swap rooms to help a fellow guest. We were then given the "desperate travellers" room, which were next to the staff members room, we had no view, no curtains, no milk and no fridge. We were not given any compensation for the downgrade in the room, and when we asked for blankets to put in front of the windows, it was refused. I would not recommend this lodge to anyone. Try Karoo National Park instead.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get the "desperate room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vosloo_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoenfontein, Owner at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
On arrival this guest and her husband were shown to their room and expressed surprise at being allocated a twin bedded room as opposed to a double bedded room. In the meantime another guest arrived who was physically disabled and in a wheelchair. He was informed upon reserving that this was the only available room and it would be a problem for wheel chair access – he chose to reserve the room even though he was aware that access would be a problem, stating that after all these years he was very adept in his chair. On arrival, it became very clear to all that it was going to be extremely taxing for the disabled guest to occupy this room due to accessibility. As this room had a king-size bed which the complaining guest had preference for, one of our management staff approached her to have a look at the room which was originally allocated to the disabled guest with a view to please both couples – the complaining guest said it was not necessary to view the room, they would like to make the move. The physically disabled man expressed his gratitude as well as another guest telling us they would also be more than happy to make the move to aid the disabled gent.

This guest has implied that the windows had no window coverings – they in fact have blinds which was an interior decorating decision due to there being a step in the room which did not allow for curtains. The room under scrutiny has a spectacular view of the Nuweveld Mountain Range which forms the backdrop of Lemoenfontein Game Lodge. Not all our rooms have fridges as this is not a four star requirement. This guest has suggested that this room is not on a par with the rest of the Lemoenfontein Game Lodge rooms and that she feels she should have been given a discount. The room, which is in fact adjacent to the owner’s cottage, has the added benefit of a private pool, garden and patio and has for 5 years been offered to guests at the standard room rate. Unfortunately, to add to this situation, the staff member that did the room turn down in the evening did forget the milk – for this we accept full responsibility and have apologised to this guest in writing!

Although we are extremely happy that we were able to assist a physically disabled guest in need, who has subsequently reserved a return visit next week, we are extremely disappointed that the guest and her husband felt they were given inferior quality at Lemoenfontein Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and it did exactly what we wanted. We had a good rest and recharged our battery. The staff is very nice and open for a chat. We ate both days at the lodge (breakfast and diner) and the food was pretty good. The rooms with tv were quite big, clean and comfortable. Although we didn't do anything else, they also have small game on their property, which you can see by a gamedrive. Not too much to do else in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
3.9 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
362 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
340 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#11 of 22 in Beaufort West
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
94 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
184 reviews
4.8 mi away
Die Herehuis
Die Herehuis
#1 of 20 in Beaufort West
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemoenfontein Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemoenfontein Game Lodge

Property: Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Address: De Jager's Pass Road, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemoenfontein Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lemoenfontein Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing