We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karoo gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a lovely treat, the olde world charm of this historic hunting lodge was a real treat. Expansive views over the Karoo landscape and mountain views from the pool really made for an escape from the city. Rooms were well equipped with lovely crisp percale sheets. Supper was plentiful and added to by the fabulous vistas and visit from Kiki the macaw, loved sipping my iced tea, what a beaut. Thank you to the hostesses for making sure we were comfy and had everything we could need to make for a relaxing Karoo experience. Thanks will be back and definitely will pay it forward and would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the game and walks, did see zebra and gemsbok as we were driving out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 714 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights and we felt it a bit short. We used it as a stop-over between Cape Town and Johannesburg and sure it is a good thing to do. It is small oasis in the Karoo where one could spend three or four nights and relax a bit by reading, writing, visit the Karoo national park etc. The game you can see during the drive by the lodge is not spectular and is not so special to stay extra. The food you get is fine and wholesome, nothing spectacular either. However there is a good selection of wines and beers. The reasons to stay some extra nights however are the beatiful surroundings, the friendly staff (from the owners to the garden man); the excellent accommodation and the beautiful Karoo nights. We stayed in room 10 and enjoyed the dip pool just 5 meters outside our room. It must not be easy to maintain a property like that and by my staying I feel I have also contributed to the possibility that it still will be there next time we will be in Beaufort West.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rijswijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This establishment is very well managed and although they predominantly cater for a difficult market, i.e. short stop over travellers, that is actually a pity as it would be a real treat to stay for a few days to really recharge ones batteries. The room was superb, large and comfortable, and with quality linen. The food was good, see pic of Dinner, and even though it is a bit pricier than many places in Beaufort West we felt it was still very good value for the quality they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We always wanted to experience a Karoo farm stop-over and our recent trip to Cape Town afforded us to experience the great hospitality and warmth of Lemoenfontein.

The rooms were spacious, well laid out and the fireplace was just a nice touch but not necessary as the rooms were warm enough for the cold winter night.

Dinner was on time and the Karoo lamb was the best ever tasted, the staff are very attentive and accommodating.

There are a number of passes in the area and the owner told us to take a drive over the molteno pass and the views were spectacular.

This lodge deserves a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I recently stayed at Lemoenfontein and found it to be a gem of a place. The staff were friendly , the farm atmosphere great , the food was excellent and the accomodation good value for money.
If you enjoy nature and good farm style hospitality then this is the place to stay in Beaufort West.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Raley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We absolutely loved our night at the Game Lodge. What a joy to leave the motorway and climb the winding drive this white-washed farm, surrounded by beautiful gardens.

I have rarely experienced such a warm welcome - even the little dogs who trotted around outside were friendly and our two-year-old still talks about the parrot. The rooms are large and peaceful housed in traditional colonial-style buildings and enhanced with comfortable bedding and many thoughtful touches. Drinks in the gracious drawing room and the delicious home-cooked dinner by candlelight on the open terrace were delightful.

Excellent walking nearby so take your boots. Ask in advance if you would like to be taken on a game drive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsC_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We loved this place with its lovely gardens and views to the mountains at the back and the Karoo plain from the verandah at the front.
The food was really tasty and plentiful, the pool area delightful and the walk up the mountain accompanied by one of the staff a real treat. The game drive was fun too and we had coffee with a herd of giraffes ! We couldn't fault this place. It felt truly African, was extremely comfortable and great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
3.9 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
380 reviews
4.9 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
95 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ko-Ka Tsara Bush Camp
Ko-Ka Tsara Bush Camp
#2 of 23 in Beaufort West
258 reviews
4.8 mi away
Die Herehuis
Die Herehuis
#1 of 23 in Beaufort West
337 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#10 of 22 in Beaufort West
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemoenfontein Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemoenfontein Game Lodge

Address: De Jager's Pass Road, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range: $74 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemoenfontein Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lemoenfontein Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing